We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,746)
Filter reviews
4,746 results
Traveller rating
2,528
1,545
459
139
75
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,528
1,545
459
139
75
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lagoon pool lotus restaurant carpe diem team baht bonanza cabana room mix bar tropicale rooms red onion beer garden pool party irish pub kids club two chefs water slides happy hour entertainment team family holiday
Filter
Updating list...
3,566 - 3,571 of 4,746 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Stayed here for 8 nights..We were originally booked into the terrace rooms, we did decide to upgrade as they were a little tired but I understand renovations are taking place. We had a tropicale room which was very good especially the benefits of the tropic lounge,snacks etc and cocktails included, we then had a cabana room for 5 nights, which was also very private which came with extra benefits, cocktails and room service. The only downside was the bed extremely hard. The cash bonanza was excellent do take advantage of this offer,we used ours in the spa. Now to the spa, amazing staff were brilliant, we had four excellent massages the best I've ever had (and I have treatments on a regular basis) would highly recommend.
Ate in te Azures restaurant once, even though the food was good, we walked in at 10pm understanding that last orders were10.30 the staff were obviously cleaning up, tables were clear felt they wanted to clear up and go home, didn't feel welcome.
Do try the red onion excellent ate there 3 times so cheap,two chefs we tried excellent food but pricey for Thailand, and papa grill also very good.
The hotel was in a good location near to restaurants and beach,would definitely go back.
I would just like to say. The staff mostly were were very good,polite and nothing is too much trouble.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank annie21220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management77, General Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2012

Sawasdee Annie21220,
Thanks for taking the time to provide a review. Some great and constructive feedback, is appreciated. Look forward to your return.
Safe Travels
Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We used this hotel last year, and made sure we used it again this year. Both times we had superior service from the excellent staff. All aspects of our stay here where really memorable, and we have no desire to use any other hotel on our return.

Room Tip: You can get a local insect repellant from any of the many chemists here. Check out the roof top cocktail lounge on the 9th floor. The views are excellent. Dental work is very cheap in Thailand. As are spectacles. Don't forget to check out the market. Turn left by the roundabout and head down the beach road. About 5 minutes walk.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ScouseJohnB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management77, General Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2012

Sawsdee Scousejohnb,
Thanks for taking the time to provide a review. Great to read such nice comments and that you have already returned and loved it both times!
See you next time,
cheers
Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Pro's: Clean and fun pools, Nice expansive breakfasts, great quality food in Azure Restuarant, off the main street, easy walking to beach and markets, nice gym, kids centre open long hours and good activities.

Con's: Hard bed, Lagoon rooms need renovation, tired bathrooms, no hot water, annoying air conditioner noise, lumpy pillows, can hear other rooms stomping around and closing doors.

Two adults and two kids spent 6 nights and eat there most afternoons and several dinners. Total cost was AUD $1100 for total bill (Including rooms, food and kids centre extras).

Manager responded ASAP to my check out complaint card, so I am positive they will follow up on the issues and they have a renovation coming up in Lagoon wing.

Room Tip: Avoid the Lagoon rooms until they have completed their Renovation which starts in August. Eat at the main restuarant - great food and good price. Ensure you dont get the high rise towers.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jabbruzzese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management77, General Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2012

Sawasdee Jabbruzzese,
Thanks again for your feedback. As we have already corresponded, I will share comments with readers. Your headline is misleading as the resort is in very good condition however, as I shared with you, we will update our Lagoon Rooms later this year, last year we did so with Tropicale Rooms and the year prior with Cabana's.
Also for readers, if you are unhappy with any aspect of your stay, do contact our Front Desk Manager, if the issue is not rectified to your satification then request myself or our Resident Manager to assist. Do not check out dis-satisfied without trying twice to rectify. As holiday's usually come once a year!
Thanks Jabbruzzese for your comments again. Feedback is important so we can praise our team and also improve any shortcomings.
Safe Travels
Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Last week, stayed at this property for few days along with my family [teenaged-sons] and overall it was a great experience. Staff is extremely friendly and the food is excellent. The tropicale rooms are great; but the "superior terrace rooms" are not much to write about. Avoid the "superior rooms" if you can. [In one of our rooms, the air conditioner water kept flooding the room. This was indeed annoying.]

Tropicale rooms were a different world; they made us relax and enjoy the vacation. However: be ready to take the stairs as there are no lifts.
Visitors from India: make sure you carry the right mobile phone chargers. The Indian round pins do not work. [We were lucky to carry an adaptor.]
The highlight of our trip was the spa: an amazing experience. Clean. Hygienic. Professional. Strongly recommended.
Location-wise, the resort is away from the island's action center - which is more towards Patong. The tuk-tuks are not value for money. As there is no other public transport, tuk-tuks appear to be exploiting the situation. Would recommend visitors to plan an international driving license and then hire a two-wheeler or a four wheeler. [The traffic moves on the left side of the road - like UK and India.]
Getting the laundry done is inexpensive. Its 40 to 50 B per kg. [Of course outside the resort!]

On the issue of facilities included as part of our package deal, we had a misunderstanding with the local staff. On dialoging, it emerged it was due to a communication error between the local property staff and the resort's sales dept. The issue was nicely resolved by the resort's local management. Tip: be sure to carry the package deal's originals with you!

In short: likely to visit again for getting pampered and the spa experience. May not visit if not able to get international driving licence [as moving around the island is not convenient on public transport].

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charanjiv S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management77, General Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2012

Sawasdee Charanjiv S,
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review. Great to read you found our "Staff extremely friendly and the food excellent. The tropicale rooms are great". Pleasing your comments on Spa Cenvaree as "the highlight of our trip was the spa: an amazing experience. Clean. Hygienic. Professional. Strongly recommended." Again thank you. Your other comments that the "Superior" rooms were of a lesser standard is correct. The Tropicale rooms are sold as "Premium Deluxe". An aspect of your all inclusive (exclusive to TUI India) needed one aspect clarified and once determined was immediately rectified by the Executive Assistant Manager. Im pleased you enjoyed your stay and I hope to welcome you back again.
Safe Travels
Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

I stayed here from 25 May 12 to 29 May. Many of you guys were pretty lucky. I must say that I was pretty disappointed with my stay at the Lagoon Deluxe. My husband and I literally come back to the hotel room only to find "power failures" everyday and had to call the reception for help everday. On the 27th, only to realize that the little "power failures" was due to the housekeeping turning off the room's power after we called for the technician to check on the problem. The turning off and on of the power supply to the room finally led to the air con compressor breakdown. We appreciate and are grateful for your staff's effort to swop our room to a much bigger and better room, but the swopping of the room at like at 10 to 11pm at night made us very unhappy as we had to wake early to catch a boat the next day. Also in the middle of the night about 4am while sleeping in our new room, the room directly under ours were like slamming doors non-stop and women screaming and laughing till daylight. Till the last day of our trip, a tree fell on the power cable and snap the power supply at 4 or 5am again. While this is due to a natural cause and something that we can't blame, we were already very upset and disgruntled with our stay.

As to service I would say all your staff have been very friendly and nice. Breakfast was good and had a very generous spread and coffee was super duper fragrant. Great coffee.

Overall, I still like the quiet and peaceful environment and wilI definitely will come back again.

Maybe, Darren, just advise your housekeepers not to turn off the power supply because it doesn't makes sense for the occupants to come back to a hot and stuffy room when what they probably need is air-con and hot bath after a long day out. The thing is - while we kept thinking it was a power failure and only to hear the conversation between the engineer and housekeeper, power supply was shut by the housekeeping, it frustrated us even more, especially into our 3rd day there.

I hope you take this as a constructive feedback and when I come back again next year, things would have improved.Cheers!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stella C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management77, General Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2012

Sawasdee Stella C,
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry to read you felt disappointed. On a positive note Im pleased to read your comments "As to service I would say all your staff have been very friendly and nice. Breakfast was good and had a very generous spread and coffee was super duper fragrant. Great coffee." On your negative comments, Im surprised at your claim that your "room had power outages each day" was strange as no other room in the building had this expereince and we could not find a fault. It appears you are referring to the power socket at the door. Once you place your room key in, the power comes on. This is an environmental saving that most hotels have in place. Your other issue of noise from guests will happen from to time. We are 335 rooms and, unless you book a cabana, noise from surrounding families will occur. If you find any excessive noise then do call reception for security to assist.
Im sorry your stay fell short of your expectation but Im pleased you will return.
Safe Travels
Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews