We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Centara Karon Resort Phuket
Ranked #20 of 137 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Just got back from our 8 day stay here. I must admit I was worried about staying here after some of the reviews I read. However I thought the resort was absolutely fabulous !! Could not fault it. Great pools, rooms, staff.. Breakfast was great every morning. Found 8 am was best to go as its very busy around 9am although they did open the azure for buffet breaks as well while we were there. Bell boys were very funny and are always offering you a lift to your room!! The grounds of resort just beautiful, great for families and couples. Just around the corner near two chefs there is "apple massage" went there every day, girls were amazing and look after you. Las margaritas across from two chefs is great, cheap and great mexican. Two chefs house band were best band I have ever seen!! We were just walking past and ended up staying for hours just to watch them ! When I come back to Phuket will definitely stay at centara again, perfect location !!!

Room Tip: Couples- terraces, families - lagoon and tropix, bit more $$$ to spend cabana
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Aleesha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management77, General Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2012

Sawasdee Aleesha B,
Thanks for taking the time to provide a review. Im pleased you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.
regards
Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,044)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,977 - 2,981 of 4,044 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2012

Stayed here for 8 nights..We were originally booked into the terrace rooms, we did decide to upgrade as they were a little tired but I understand renovations are taking place. We had a tropicale room which was very good especially the benefits of the tropic lounge,snacks etc and cocktails included, we then had a cabana room for 5 nights, which was also very private which came with extra benefits, cocktails and room service. The only downside was the bed extremely hard. The cash bonanza was excellent do take advantage of this offer,we used ours in the spa. Now to the spa, amazing staff were brilliant, we had four excellent massages the best I've ever had (and I have treatments on a regular basis) would highly recommend.
Ate in te Azures restaurant once, even though the food was good, we walked in at 10pm understanding that last orders were10.30 the staff were obviously cleaning up, tables were clear felt they wanted to clear up and go home, didn't feel welcome.
Do try the red onion excellent ate there 3 times so cheap,two chefs we tried excellent food but pricey for Thailand, and papa grill also very good.
The hotel was in a good location near to restaurants and beach,would definitely go back.
I would just like to say. The staff mostly were were very good,polite and nothing is too much trouble.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank annie21220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management77, General Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2012

Sawasdee Annie21220,
Thanks for taking the time to provide a review. Some great and constructive feedback, is appreciated. Look forward to your return.
Safe Travels
Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We used this hotel last year, and made sure we used it again this year. Both times we had superior service from the excellent staff. All aspects of our stay here where really memorable, and we have no desire to use any other hotel on our return.

Room Tip: You can get a local insect repellant from any of the many chemists here. Check out the roof top cock...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ScouseJohnB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management77, General Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2012

Sawsdee Scousejohnb,
Thanks for taking the time to provide a review. Great to read such nice comments and that you have already returned and loved it both times!
See you next time,
cheers
Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Pro's: Clean and fun pools, Nice expansive breakfasts, great quality food in Azure Restuarant, off the main street, easy walking to beach and markets, nice gym, kids centre open long hours and good activities.

Con's: Hard bed, Lagoon rooms need renovation, tired bathrooms, no hot water, annoying air conditioner noise, lumpy pillows, can hear other rooms stomping around and closing doors.

Two adults and two kids spent 6 nights and eat there most afternoons and several dinners. Total cost was AUD $1100 for total bill (Including rooms, food and kids centre extras).

Manager responded ASAP to my check out complaint card, so I am positive they will follow up on the issues and they have a renovation coming up in Lagoon wing.

Room Tip: Avoid the Lagoon rooms until they have completed their Renovation which starts in August. Eat at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jabbruzzese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management77, General Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2012

Sawasdee Jabbruzzese,
Thanks again for your feedback. As we have already corresponded, I will share comments with readers. Your headline is misleading as the resort is in very good condition however, as I shared with you, we will update our Lagoon Rooms later this year, last year we did so with Tropicale Rooms and the year prior with Cabana's.
Also for readers, if you are unhappy with any aspect of your stay, do contact our Front Desk Manager, if the issue is not rectified to your satification then request myself or our Resident Manager to assist. Do not check out dis-satisfied without trying twice to rectify. As holiday's usually come once a year!
Thanks Jabbruzzese for your comments again. Feedback is important so we can praise our team and also improve any shortcomings.
Safe Travels
Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Last week, stayed at this property for few days along with my family [teenaged-sons] and overall it was a great experience. Staff is extremely friendly and the food is excellent. The tropicale rooms are great; but the "superior terrace rooms" are not much to write about. Avoid the "superior rooms" if you can. [In one of our rooms, the air conditioner water kept flooding the room. This was indeed annoying.]

Tropicale rooms were a different world; they made us relax and enjoy the vacation. However: be ready to take the stairs as there are no lifts.
Visitors from India: make sure you carry the right mobile phone chargers. The Indian round pins do not work. [We were lucky to carry an adaptor.]
The highlight of our trip was the spa: an amazing experience. Clean. Hygienic. Professional. Strongly recommended.
Location-wise, the resort is away from the island's action center - which is more towards Patong. The tuk-tuks are not value for money. As there is no other public transport, tuk-tuks appear to be exploiting the situation. Would recommend visitors to plan an international driving license and then hire a two-wheeler or a four wheeler. [The traffic moves on the left side of the road - like UK and India.]
Getting the laundry done is inexpensive. Its 40 to 50 B per kg. [Of course outside the resort!]

On the issue of facilities included as part of our package deal, we had a misunderstanding with the local staff. On dialoging, it emerged it was due to a communication error between the local property staff and the resort's sales dept. The issue was nicely resolved by the resort's local management. Tip: be sure to carry the package deal's originals with you!

In short: likely to visit again for getting pampered and the spa experience. May not visit if not able to get international driving licence [as moving around the island is not convenient on public transport].

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charanjiv S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management77, General Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2012

Sawasdee Charanjiv S,
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review. Great to read you found our "Staff extremely friendly and the food excellent. The tropicale rooms are great". Pleasing your comments on Spa Cenvaree as "the highlight of our trip was the spa: an amazing experience. Clean. Hygienic. Professional. Strongly recommended." Again thank you. Your other comments that the "Superior" rooms were of a lesser standard is correct. The Tropicale rooms are sold as "Premium Deluxe". An aspect of your all inclusive (exclusive to TUI India) needed one aspect clarified and once determined was immediately rectified by the Executive Assistant Manager. Im pleased you enjoyed your stay and I hope to welcome you back again.
Safe Travels
Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karon hotels
1.1 km away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
0.7 km away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 11 in Karon Beach
2,206 reviews
0.6 km away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 km away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#9 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,253 reviews
1.2 km away
Hilton Phuket Arcadia Resort & Spa
0.4 km away
Movenpick Resort & Spa Karon Beach Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Karon Resort Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Karon Resort Phuket

Address: 502/3 Patak Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Central Karon Beach Resort)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Karon
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#11 Spa Hotel in Karon
#12 Family Hotel in Karon
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#18 Romantic Hotel in Karon
#19 Luxury Hotel in Karon
Price Range: €38 - €172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Centara Karon Resort Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Karon Town, with an abundance of eateries and entertainment options at its doorstep and Karon Beach a short stroll away, the resort is perfectly located to experience the many facets of Phuket. As a destination in its own right, Centara Karon Resort Phuket fulfils every holiday aspiration, from pure bliss at Spa Cenvaree to active holidays and family fun with activities galore, yoga sessions, three swimming pools, waterslides and a kids’ club. This four-star resort, laid out within beautiful gardens backed by green hills, is comprised of four very distinctive residential zones. Couples and small families will find the rooms and Honeymoon Suites at the Terraces a comfortable retreat, and enjoy the option of ocean view or a private outdoor Jacuzzi; while families and groups of friends are spoilt for choice with spacious guestrooms set moments away from the waterslide and games of the Lagoon pool. The generously-sized one- and two-bedroom Cabanas feature a private terrace with a plunge Jacuzzi. As a fun place for families, the resort has a kids’ club with daily activities and three expansive swimming pool areas complete with three children’s pools for the younger ones to splash in, two waterslides and pool games. Pool parties are held regularly, and other activities include tennis and football. The resort also has two restaurants, a sports bar, and three swim-up pool bars A scheduled shuttle service takes guests from the resort to Patong, and Phuket International Airport is reached in less than one hour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Centara Karon Resort Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Karon Resort Phuket Hotel Karon
Centara Karon Hotel Phuket
Centara Hotel Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing