We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5star at 4star price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Centara Karon Resort Phuket
Ranked #20 of 137 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Recently stayed with the family at Centara resort Karon, great stay. Kids pool was excellent, meals were good quality and value, also great position with easy access to the beach. Would happily return, great resort holiday at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SarSar_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management77, General Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2012

Dear 5star at a 4star price!
Sawsdee from the land of smiles!
Thank you for providing such a kind review. I look forward to sharing with the team.
I hope we can welcome you back soon!
Safe Travels
Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,038)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,052 - 3,056 of 4,038 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2012

Ok let me start by saying that this is my first review. The purpose is not to bag out Centara but to just let people know of our experience so they can make there own decision. Ok so my partner and I stayed at the Centara Karon resort for 6 nights in March. We were disappointed from check in to departure. We arrived and were told that our ocean view room in the main terrace was not available due to the hotel double booking it. We were offered a suite overlooking the lagoon which they said was an upgrade to what we originally booked. Of course we weren't concerned taking there word it was better. We were shown to our replacement room and were straight away shocked as to the condition of it. The wooden floors were extremely dirty and I mean dirty. The room had two double beds and the sheets had big yellow stains on them. Looked like massive sweat patches. We immediately contacted house keeping and they came an mopped the floors and changed the sheets. They told us that it was a chemical problem. They left and it wasn't long after we realized that there were no bath towels our water bottles in our dirty bathroom. We contacted management and complained about the room and lack of care. We enquired about an upgrade
or a change but were told no other rooms were available. The management didnt seem to care to much. It was like or room was the stand by one that no body normally used. The next day we were changed back to our sea view room and it was a great improvement. Good views but no LCD tv, DVD player or free wifi. We hired a DVD player for the stay for 500thb aswell as wifi for 500thb. We complained again to management about the way we were shoved into a rundown room the first day but still no real sympathy. We were hoping to receive something to make up for the lack of care but nothing ever came. We ate the buffet breakfast a few times which was ok not great. I know the general manager will read this and no doubt offer his apologies for the lack of service but you can never get your time back. Looking on tripadvisor there are many positive reviews but on this occasion we were disappointed. Not a 4 star experience.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom_and_Jac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management77, General Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2012

Dear Tom_and_Lou,
Thanks for taking the time to provide a review.
I am sorry for the issues you encountered and furthermore that our Managers were not able to resolve these issues to your complete satisfaction. I am sorry I did not have the opportunity personally assist whilst you were here. Our managers do care and we have already discussed your feedback and how we could have managed this situation better. Your feedback is important and I assure you we do take on board your constructive feedback and utilize it as a means to improvement. I have a good team of staff who work hard toward providing a quality guest experience however we have occasional inconsistencies we are working to improve upon. If I can assist with a future booking, do let me know.
Best Wishes
Darren Shaw

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

we stayed here for 2 nights only, it is tired and in need of updating. The staff were stand offish and appeared unhappy. The pool area was nice and clean but is let down by the hotel rooms. The walls are thin, we colud hear the couple next door rowing. Phuket lets other areas in Thailand down, the service is poor and the place smells of drains and is dirty. Never again!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wendyandmick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management77, General Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2012

Dear wendyandmick,
Thank you for your review. I am sorry you didnt enjoy your stay. As mentioned to your travel companions (reviewer below), I am more than happy to discuss directly.
kind regards
Darren Shaw

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We have just returned from a week at the Centara Karon Resort. Unless you don't mind cheap and cheerful then don't bother. If you are expecting a traditional Thai welcome and service then don't bother. KIf you think you will not get ill, then don't bother.
Our room was large but tatty and compared to 4 stars in Bangkok, definately a 2. The Lotus restaurant is open and there are birds that take great pleasure in contaminating the food that is left open to the elements, so only eat fresh cooked and covered food and do not leave anything for the flies to land on whilst you leave your table. And the reaon for this warning is that Phuket has open sewers and open cespits and where do you think all these birds and flies have been before breakfast ??? Take a look around the childrens pool and you will not only smell the waste but you will see it through the open grills. We read headlines in the Karon local asking the locals to stop emptying their toilet buckets in the sea overnight - I jest you not!!! The staff are unfriendly, lazy and bordering on rude but then I understand there is no unemployment in southern Thailand but is that an excuse. Will we be back to Phuket NO, will we book any of the Centara Hotels again - NO. If you do decide to consider Phuket, then do some serious research beforehand.

Room Tip: Do not think you will get better finish with a more expensive room - you will not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank spye62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management77, General Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2012

Dear bennie10,
Thank you for your review. From the resort we can respond to any feedback (positive and negative) however your comments are unfair and misleading. If you wish to discuss your stay contact me directly on gmckr@chr.co.th.
Regards
Darren Shaw

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We have just returned from 15 wonderful days at the Centara Karon Resort. We went on a family holiday (4 rooms booked in the lagoon wing) and also had some friends meet us there.We have been to phuket before and stayedd at the Merlin (tritrang beach) so had high expectations.What a wonderful place full of smiling happy wonderful staff!By the end of our trip the staff all knew our 4yr old twin boys by name(mind u they are identical and they still never got it wrong!)Our wonderful cleaning lady was the most exceptional housekeeping staff we have ever come across, on a daily basis we had something different arranged on our beds,she even made little dogs out of face washes for my children and we looked forward every day to coming back to our rooms to see what she had left us.She made us feel very special.The bar staff at the lagoon pool especially Tor were the very best.We left feeling sad that we may not meet them again.I cannot tell you what a wonderful place this is.I could go on forever about the amazing gym staff,the wonderful ladies at the kids club,the bell boys who always called my children by name and gave them a high five,the wonderful food(we did not have a bad meal in 15 days and mostly ate at the resort as we used the baht bonanzer).We looooved the buffet nights and the shows, extremely good value and excellent food.We used the vans from the front many times as we found the tuk tuk mafia to be not so nice.Seriously, we got an airconditioned newish van cheaper than it would of cost us for 2 tuk tuks and back.He even came back and picked us up from Kata beach when we were finished and came down when he spotted me to carry my bags!This resort to us had no faults and all up there were 15 of us that would say the same thing.We didnt want to come home.Who ever is in charge of this place needs a big pat on the back for his excellent job at having such an amazing team of people who make this place so wonderful.We would never stay anywhere else again.Also for those on a budget we are still gobsmacked at how cheap drinks and food at this place was.For example you could get an icebucket with 3 smirnoff black vodka bottles for 159 baht!! Thats $1.65 a bottle..We drank many of those!!!Even in the resturants you could eat a fantastic meal in clean comfort for the same as what places like the red onion were charging.Why eat out?So as you can see we loved loved loved it.Now to grow that money tree so we can get back! Ness

Room Tip: Excellent views from the third floor of the lagoon building,the stairs were no problem for two 4yr o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mvhowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management77, General Manager at Centara Karon Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2012

Sawasdee mvhowell (Ness)
Thanks for taking the time to review our property. Whilst your review fell into the middle of some harsh reviews, it was refreshing and timely! We do care for feedback and whilst the vast majority is fantastic like yours, we do get some that tough reviews too. This is a reflection of guest expectations and of course our own short comings. When we get a great review like yours (to quote you) its all ‘high fives’!! Thanks Ness and friends for sharing your stay and your follow up email was received!
Look forward to you growing that money tree and returning soon!
Regards
Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karon hotels
1.1 km away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
0.7 km away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 11 in Karon Beach
2,194 reviews
0.6 km away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 km away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#9 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,249 reviews
1.2 km away
Hilton Phuket Arcadia Resort & Spa
0.4 km away
Movenpick Resort & Spa Karon Beach Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Karon Resort Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Karon Resort Phuket

Address: 502/3 Patak Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Central Karon Beach Resort)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Karon
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#11 Spa Hotel in Karon
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#12 Family Hotel in Karon
#18 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#18 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range: €42 - €171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Centara Karon Resort Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Karon Town, with an abundance of eateries and entertainment options at its doorstep and Karon Beach a short stroll away, the resort is perfectly located to experience the many facets of Phuket. As a destination in its own right, Centara Karon Resort Phuket fulfils every holiday aspiration, from pure bliss at Spa Cenvaree to active holidays and family fun with activities galore, yoga sessions, three swimming pools, waterslides and a kids’ club. This four-star resort, laid out within beautiful gardens backed by green hills, is comprised of four very distinctive residential zones. Couples and small families will find the rooms and Honeymoon Suites at the Terraces a comfortable retreat, and enjoy the option of ocean view or a private outdoor Jacuzzi; while families and groups of friends are spoilt for choice with spacious guestrooms set moments away from the waterslide and games of the Lagoon pool. The generously-sized one- and two-bedroom Cabanas feature a private terrace with a plunge Jacuzzi. As a fun place for families, the resort has a kids’ club with daily activities and three expansive swimming pool areas complete with three children’s pools for the younger ones to splash in, two waterslides and pool games. Pool parties are held regularly, and other activities include tennis and football. The resort also has two restaurants, a sports bar, and three swim-up pool bars A scheduled shuttle service takes guests from the resort to Patong, and Phuket International Airport is reached in less than one hour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Centara Karon Resort Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Karon Resort Phuket Hotel Karon
Centara Karon Hotel Phuket
Centara Hotel Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing