We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Phuket

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Old Phuket
Ranked #28 of 132 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fantastic value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

We stayed as a group in 8 pool access rooms in June 2011. We loved this hotel. The rooms were beautiful with polished concrete floors, modern decor, and large bathrooms with enormous showers. The pool access was brilliant as our party included 10 kids and they were able to swim between rooms, and were always within sight. Breakfast was fine with plenty of choices. The location of the hotel was very central in Karon and we were able to walk everywhere. We managed to get an amazing deal with agoda, which made this a very cheap stay for our group. I would definitely return to the Old Phuket.

Room Tip: Choose pool access room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ScoutGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,695 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    729
    684
    183
    58
    41
See reviews for
316
894
73
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (523)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

It was our first time to Phuket, and we chose The Old Phuket hotel because of the location of the hotel, and secondly the reviews from Tripadvisor and other hotel websites. We certainly weren't disappointed by our stay in the hotel/resort. The room was nice and spotlessly clean on arrival, with the housekeeping staff keeping it that way throughout our stay. Breakfast was always consistently good, with small changes to the menu every day. As some of the reviewers have stated, the bed and pillows were a little firm. However we always had a great nights sleep and woke up refreshed for another day at the beach. We highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a quiet hotel stay, that is close to restaurants, shops, massage parlours and the beach. We'll be returning.

Room Tip: Sino wing was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Ruban D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

I stayed in a family room, Serene Wing (new block). Nice hotel, outside is beautiful, not one of the greatest I stayed in, but it was okay. Doesn’t compare to our stay in Bangkok, outstanding. I was not keen on the bathroom facilities, very rusty taps, blocked drains and dirty white floors at the Old Phuket. The location was good, close to the beach. Reception staff not soooooooooo good. I must admit we considered changing hotels. Overall I enjoyed my stay in Phuket.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZeeCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

Going back to Old Phuket in April for the third time and just love it!!!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ria Boshoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

Spend 10 days at The Old Phuket in January 2012 and stayed in a Jacuzzi Room. We loved the courtyard entrance and although we didn't use the Jacuzzi, it was a unique feature. The room itself looked sparse with its concrete floors and walls but was very clean and tidy and was very quiet. The internal bathroom was large and had a huge bath with a hand shower and there was an external shower in the back courtyard. I opted not to use the outside shower as I could easily see up to the balcony of the next building, so figured they would be able to see me as well, but hubby used it and loved it. The only complaint I have is the bed was very hard and although we requested and promptly received extra pillows and a mattress topper, the nights were very uncomfortable. The breakfast was good with a wide selection and the staff were pleasant and helpful. The location is fantastic with a lot of great restaurants (The Gastigargarden was our favourite) and massage places just outside the Hotel and the beach a short walk away. It was a great place to stay and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sugra25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karon hotels
1.2 km away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
0.1 km away
Baan Karonburi Resort
Baan Karonburi Resort
#65 of 132 in Karon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.1 km away
Grand Sunset Hotel
Grand Sunset Hotel
#81 of 132 in Karon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Andaman Seaview Hotel
Andaman Seaview Hotel
#19 of 132 in Karon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,158 reviews
0.1 km away
Karon Princess Hotel
Karon Princess Hotel
#87 of 132 in Karon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.5 km away
Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Phuket

Property: The Old Phuket
Address: 192/36 Karon Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Karon
#24 Family Hotel in Karon
#25 Luxury Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Phuket - Karon Beach Resort is located in the central tranquil of Karon Beach, charming and beautiful with its spectacular view of swimming pool and hilly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia and TravelUp so you can book your The Old Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Phuket Hotel Karon
Old Phuket Karon
Old Phuket Hotel Karon
The Old Phuket Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing