We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic value”
Review of The Old Phuket

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Old Phuket
Ranked #33 of 136 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We stayed as a group in 8 pool access rooms in June 2011. We loved this hotel. The rooms were beautiful with polished concrete floors, modern decor, and large bathrooms with enormous showers. The pool access was brilliant as our party included 10 kids and they were able to swim between rooms, and were always within sight. Breakfast was fine with plenty of choices. The location of the hotel was very central in Karon and we were able to walk everywhere. We managed to get an amazing deal with agoda, which made this a very cheap stay for our group. I would definitely return to the Old Phuket.

Room Tip: Choose pool access room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ScoutGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,905)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,319 - 1,323 of 1,905 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2012

It was our first time to Phuket, and we chose The Old Phuket hotel because of the location of the hotel, and secondly the reviews from Tripadvisor and other hotel websites. We certainly weren't disappointed by our stay in the hotel/resort. The room was nice and spotlessly clean on arrival, with the housekeeping staff keeping it that way throughout our stay. Breakfast was always consistently good, with small changes to the menu every day. As some of the reviewers have stated, the bed and pillows were a little firm. However we always had a great nights sleep and woke up refreshed for another day at the beach. We highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a quiet hotel stay, that is close to restaurants, shops, massage parlours and the beach. We'll be returning.

Room Tip: Sino wing was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Ruban D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

I stayed in a family room, Serene Wing (new block). Nice hotel, outside is beautiful, not one of the greatest I stayed in, but it was okay. Doesn’t compare to our stay in Bangkok, outstanding. I was not keen on the bathroom facilities, very rusty taps, blocked drains and dirty white floors at the Old Phuket. The location was good, close to the beach. Reception staff not soooooooooo good. I must admit we considered changing hotels. Overall I enjoyed my stay in Phuket.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ZeeCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Going back to Old Phuket in April for the third time and just love it!!!

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ria Boshoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Spend 10 days at The Old Phuket in January 2012 and stayed in a Jacuzzi Room. We loved the courtyard entrance and although we didn't use the Jacuzzi, it was a unique feature. The room itself looked sparse with its concrete floors and walls but was very clean and tidy and was very quiet. The internal bathroom was large and had a huge bath with a hand shower and there was an external shower in the back courtyard. I opted not to use the outside shower as I could easily see up to the balcony of the next building, so figured they would be able to see me as well, but hubby used it and loved it. The only complaint I have is the bed was very hard and although we requested and promptly received extra pillows and a mattress topper, the nights were very uncomfortable. The breakfast was good with a wide selection and the staff were pleasant and helpful. The location is fantastic with a lot of great restaurants (The Gastigargarden was our favourite) and massage places just outside the Hotel and the beach a short walk away. It was a great place to stay and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sugra25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.2 km away
Baan Karonburi Resort
Baan Karonburi Resort
#61 of 136 in Karon
348 reviews
1.2 km away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
0.7 km away
Hotel IKON Phuket
Hotel IKON Phuket
#12 of 136 in Karon
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Best Western Phuket Ocean Resort
1.3 km away
Andaman Seaview Hotel
Andaman Seaview Hotel
#22 of 136 in Karon
1,286 reviews
0.1 km away
Woraburi Phuket Resort & Spa
Woraburi Phuket Resort & Spa
#7 of 11 in Karon Beach
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Phuket

Address: 192/36, Karon Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Karon
#24 Family Hotel in Karon
#30 Luxury Hotel in Karon
Price Range: €64 - €254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Phuket - Karon Beach Resort is located in the central tranquil of Karon Beach, charming and beautiful with its spectacular view of swimming pool and hilly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Old Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Phuket Hotel Karon
Old Phuket Karon
Old Phuket Hotel Karon
The Old Phuket Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing