We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love Old Puket Hotel!”
Review of The Old Phuket

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Old Phuket
Ranked #34 of 136 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 December 2011

Stayed there twice this year,going back next year!Stayed in both wings,pool acess our favourit!Very friendly staff,especialy Maria,Paveena and Tat in the restaurant!Can and will recommend to anybody for a holiday that you will never forget!Got some lovely flowers in my room for my bithday-thank you again!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ria Boshoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,907)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,340 - 1,344 of 1,908 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2011

Checked in to what they call a Private Jacuzzi room, checked out the next day due to a very noisy old aircon that kept me awake all night, even when turned it off the neighbors aircon unit outside kept me awake.

Rented a motorbike from the tourist service shop, and that was a very pleasant experience ! Good service, and NO problems at all.

Since I had to the motorbike back at The Old Phuket I ordered a taxi to pick me up there, but that gave so much confusion to the staff that I was actually denied to leave by the security until they had checked and the manager had double checked that I was not running away from a bill, very annoying and it actually made me miss my flight back to Bangkok

My advice is stay away from this place !

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pccpcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Breakfast fit for a king.Staff are very helpful.Close to the main part of town but not to close.Very short walk to the beach and close to a variety of beautiful restaurants.Stayed in the sino wing but will definitely be getting a pool access room in the serene wing next time.
What out for the hungry birds at breakfast time,and the bed bugs.

Room Tip: All rooms are good but serene wing is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkPrescott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Stayed here on our first week of a 10 week trip through Thailand. We stayed in the Sino wing. The rooms were nice but the television didn't work which I didn't really mind but might annoy others. The aircon was hard to control, it felt as if it was freezing or not working at all! the breakfast was pretty standard. The staff were friendly and the pool in the sino wing was really nice. Overall it was a good place to start the trip but if you go to Thailand you can get much better value for money at BnBs. The beach across the road is quite dirty and has a lot of rubbish. Kata Noi is 15 minutes down the road and much more spectacular. It is ok but there are a lot nicer places in Phuket and Thailand.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ollie876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

My husband and I very much enjoyed our 6 night stay here in November 2011. Initially I had requested a room with an outdoor jacuzzi but when I arrived I felt a bit shut in with the style of the room. Each of these rooms has a small courtyard out front with wooden doors that completely close for privacy. Even with these doors open you are only able to see a small portion of the resort so I felt a bit secluded. After walking around to the pool area I saw that this area was newer and the rooms appeared to be more of an open concept. When I asked if it was possible to move to one of these rooms Puy, at the front desk, was so very helpful and within a few hours we were moved. The room was wonderful with a huge balcony with two oversized chairs and an overhead fan. Very modern decor with a spa like feel.

The breakfast buffet was excellent and the service outstanding. The hotel offers a tour desk which is very convenient and we certainly took advantage of that service. While there is no proper restaurant (only the one that offers breakfast) the moment you step off the property there is a multitude of choice. You will never go hungry there!

Also of great help to us was a fellow named Chai. He was a bellman (I believe) and he was always so attentive to us when we were in the lobby. He made sure he knew what tour we were waiting for and made sure we were looked after. He made sure I got an important email sent to me, which he personally delivered to our room and then advised me of it to make sure I knew it was there for me. He was really wonderful.

I can't forget to mention that the resort has it's own massage tent on the premises and that my husband took advantage of the service and really enjoyed it (it is very reasonable). The beds are a bit hard (something we found the norm in SE Asia) hence the massage! A great shout out to all the staff there who went above and beyond to make our stay really wonderful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool, they are newer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wenlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.2 km away
Baan Karonburi Resort
Baan Karonburi Resort
#64 of 136 in Karon
349 reviews
1.2 km away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
1.3 km away
Andaman Seaview Hotel
Andaman Seaview Hotel
#21 of 136 in Karon
1,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hotel IKON Phuket
Hotel IKON Phuket
#12 of 136 in Karon
489 reviews
0.9 km away
Best Western Phuket Ocean Resort
1.4 km away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 11 in Karon Beach
2,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Phuket

Address: 192/36, Karon Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Karon
#22 Romantic Hotel in Karon
#31 Luxury Hotel in Karon
Price Range: €62 - €248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Phuket - Karon Beach Resort is located in the central tranquil of Karon Beach, charming and beautiful with its spectacular view of swimming pool and hilly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Old Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Phuket Hotel Karon
Old Phuket Karon
Old Phuket Hotel Karon
The Old Phuket Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing