We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic services do not live to expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Phuket Arcadia Resort & Spa
Ranked #34 of 136 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 January 2011

My stay: Jan 6 until Jan 10th 2011 (I am writing this on my last day on the property):

Let's start with the good things about the hotel:
1. Beautifully landscaped property....vast property and feels vast, does not have the claustrophobic feel of the Movenpick...another similarly large property that has been segmented in such a way to feel small...prefer the Hilton's use of the space
2. Great breakfast and Sunday brunch in the breakfast area (ordering breakfast in the room is altogether a different matter)
3. Housekeeping efficient, friendly and do a good job in cleaning the rooms
4. Andaman Lounge and lobby lounge great
5. Check-in was relatively quick
6. Quiet location in Karon, away from the hustle and bustle of Patong...if that is what you prefer....but in defense of Patong, the hustle and bustle is not nearly even half as bad as Bangkok...
7. Transport to and from the hotel is relatively straightforward, with good availability of taxis and tuk tuks on the beach road side of the hotel.
8. Great

Now the negative things about the hotel, and many of these relate to basic services:
1. Ordering breakfast in your room is a disaster...ordered tea and two days in a row they did not bring me tea bags, and the hot water was rather cold...not a great recipe for making tea...extremely stingy on the sugar as well, i guess they figure it is not good for me, or could be part of some cost saving measure...croissants were rather cold and crusty
2. In-room pay tv, was not working for the 5 days i was there, although I made numerous attempts to have this resolved...i was informed this was a problem hotel-wide, and that the outside company that they use could not resolve the problem
3. One of the only hotels in the world that I have stayed at where guests get charged for wi-fi in the lobby....with most hotels, this is a basic service, and guests only have to be worried about whether there is free internet/wifi in the rooms, but one often does not have to think about whether wi-fi/internet will be available for guest use free of charge in the lobby...think again, here u get charged for wifi in the lobby and internet use in the lobby (the rooms do not have wi-fi only internet cable). And the charges are quite expensive. And the chargeable wifi is slow.
4. The deluxe rooms in the best wing in the hotel, the Lotus wing look rather dated....I had a seaview deluxe room and it was much smaller than the internet pictures imply and rather dated.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ali2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,332)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,909 - 1,913 of 3,332 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2011

I stayed here for Christmas Break and I was initially excited as it was in a different location to where I stayed in Phuket previously. I like the fact the Hilton is away from all the bustle and hustle of Patong and across the road from Karon Beach and minutes away from Kata Beach.

Being a Hilton Hotel I had expectations of the place. I felt that the staff on hand when i checked in where slow and rude - there was about 20 staff members standing around doing nothing. We had no assistance from the bell hop we had to drag our luggage to the check in desk.

Our room was not ready and to add insult to injury, we did not get the room we paid for in advance and requested. This was very disappointing as it was not a good start to the holiday especially after a long haul flight. We were advised the Hilton was at capacity. This in my opinion is not sufficient. If it was booked and confirmed prior arrival then the Hilton has an obligation to honour their promise to their customer.

One of the pools were under construction therefore disappointing, but nevertheless life continues. There are 3 pools in total, one with a slide for children, another wading type pool for Kids and the under construction pool was opened and completed a few days later was opened and full of kids, doesn't make sense at it has a bar near the pool - why not make one of the pools "adults only"? to cater for the mature clientele and people who want to have a drink?

The rooms were OK but compared to other Hiltons around the world it is very dated and the beds uncomfortable.

The breakfast was chaotic, there was no order and people everywhere, the hot food wasn't hot but warm and bland. There was a line up to get a table. In my opinion since the Hilton has a few restaurants they should have served breakfast in 2 different restaurants.

The whole experience was too much in terms of bad service and bad quality, I ended up changing hotels.

I wouldn't recommend this hotel for couples, or business travels or hilton honours members. Families yes because it caters for that low - middle range customer who are easy to please.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank POLARBEAR81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2011

Set amongst 75 acres of beautifully landscaped grounds, and across the street from Karon Beach, this resort is the perfect place to chill out. Being diamond members, we were upgraded so perhaps our experience was different from those who have complained, but our room was very large, clean,and super-comfortable, and we loved the daily orchids that came with cleaning and turn-down service. The staff we encountered everywhere were very friendly, helpful, and respectful (like most Thais we have met). We enjoyed each of the restaurants, but especially Thai Thai. We never had problems getting a lounge at the pool (there are three pools, one of which is on two levels, so effectively there are four), and the beach is one of the best we have seen anywhere.
My only complaint would be about some of the guests there - you know those who let their children scream and run around in the executive lounge, or persist in having their cell phone loundly ringing - or whatever ghastly music announces their self-perceived importance every two minutes, while others are trying to relax over breakfast or an evening drink. Fortunately not too many. If one could only get rid of such boors, the place would be perfect.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank novascotiakate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2011

Edwin&Jessica, Jakarta

although the resort is impressive, the rooms dont meet up with the expectations one has of the Hilton chain. The rooms are dated and the balcony s leave you in the dark at night. The breakfast area near the lobby reminds you of a cheap overcrowded average buffet. The breakfast area in the front however offers a beautiful view. Young kids will enjoy the hotel due to the kiddiesclub and the pools with slide. The hotel doesnt offer a private beach. The beachfront is separated from the hotel by a busy road.
We stayed at high season so rates went up. I would recommend the hotel if rates were more attractive.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica_Edwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2011

Although this hotel has a great location, across the street from Karon Beach, it is a shame that the hotel is under renovation, every day - on saturday and sunday there is construction noise regardless of Christmas and New Year holidays - and the hotel has chosen to NOT disclose this to guests! I am quite surprised that the Hilton Hotel Group allows this to happen. The ethics and values of the Hilton Hotel group are obviously just statements that are not taken not seriously and certainly are not applied.
The renovated rooms are really noisy, I can hear the people next door, on both sides, I can hear people walking in the room on the floor above (both shoes and chair movements), and constant noise of the luggage and housekeeping trolleys moving through the corridor during the day and at night.
Why is the Hilton Hotel Phuket NOT transparent and honest about the fact that the hotel is going through construction? and why not be honest and advise guests about the construction noise before or even during the reservation process? Other hotel chains are honest and they would even have a statement on their website advising of conditions such as construction noise. If I had known about the construction noise I would have not booked to stay at this property and paid PEAK period prices.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank QualityHunter8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karon
2.8 km away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 55 in Kata Beach
1,203 reviews
35.3 km away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
1.9 km away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 11 in Karon Beach
2,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Movenpick Resort & Spa Karon Beach Phuket
18.6 km away
Angsana Laguna Phuket
Angsana Laguna Phuket
#9 of 36 in Choeng Thale
2,111 reviews
5.5 km away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 331 in Patong
6,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Phuket Arcadia Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Phuket Arcadia Resort & Spa

Address: 333 Patak Road, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Karon
#15 Family Hotel in Karon
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#21 Spa Hotel in Karon
#25 Romantic Hotel in Karon
#31 Luxury Hotel in Karon
Price Range: €111 - €420 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Phuket Arcadia Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 665
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is located on the island’s west coast and offers a range of fun and relaxation options for parents and children alike. The resort sprawls over 75-acres landscaped gardens, right on the golden sands of Karon Beach. The resort is conveniently located to four world-class golf courses, elephant riding, scuba diving, ancient golden temples and an abundance of shopping areas. It is the place that you’d rather be with your family for next holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Agoda, Ebookers, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Phuket Arcadia Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Phuket Arcadia Hotel Karon
Hilton Phuket Arcadia Resort And Spa
Phuket Hilton
Hilton Phuket Arcadia Resort & Spa Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing