We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,710)
Filter reviews
3,710 results
Traveller rating
1,716
1,209
488
180
117
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,716
1,209
488
180
117
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lotus wing the executive lounge sails restaurant thai thai restaurant diamond member karon beach sea view main lobby huge property tennis courts junior suite tuk tuk andaman sea bit dated shuttle bus public beach happy hour
Filter
Updating list...
2,030 - 2,035 of 3,710 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2012

I stayed here for a week for a work conference and really enjoyed the resort.

My room was excellent, new, fantastic bathroom, very comfortable bed and lovely beach views.

I found the service reasonable, disappointed that they charge extra for WiFi when most hotels in Thailand offer this for free.

Check was a nightmare! Very slow! Be prepared to be patient, nothing gets done in a hurry.

The pools are all really nice, need to get there early to get a sun lounge though.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kylie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We were upgraded on arrival to a deluxe plus room with garden view. It had a more or less unobstructive seaview, which was a pleasant surprise. It must have been one of the nice new refurbished rooms, since it was very new, spacious, light flooded and with a very nice bathroom (rainshower, bathtub) with milked glas walls, e.g. letting light in.
In terms of the room, there is really nothing I can complain about.
So far so good, why still only 3 stars? Honestly, for a hotel this price range (meaning you hardly find any price below 200 USD on the net (beware, most prices are subject to taxes and charges) i expected more. The food was average in quality and 7 star in price (meaning totally overpriced). I do not expect "local" thai prices in a 5* Hotel, but the prices were insane. First point in the agenda was heading down to 7/11 and stocking up on supplies. Dinner and Lunch were nearly exclusively out of the hotel.
Internet is an outrages 600 TBH (20 USD) per day and gives you a speed that you were used to from times of 56K modem connections (actually it might get faster at night, if you fancy checking your mails at 2 am). Even the business center charges for internet usage (150 TB / 5 USD for one hour) and printing (50 TB / 1.5 USD per page). Hope I got the prices correct.
The Beach is across a very busy and noisy road, and though they have some people there to help you across, its a bit of a turnoff.
There are 3 pools, but all are shallow (I guess 1.2 m) and only partially useful for swimming. Plus, the obvious amounts of kids running around.
They do cater for conferences and business quite and we got the feeling that was there new core clientele.
All in all a business hotel with a nice view and not really vacation atmosphere.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlexK01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonPhuketArcadia, General Manager at Hilton Phuket Arcadia Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your feedback on this website.

It is a pleasure to hear that you appreciated the Deluxe Plus room that you were upgraded into. Further, I am delighted to see that you noted that some of our rooms had been renovated where you found them appealing.
We appreciate your comment on our Food & Beverage pricing and, although they are in-line with our neighbouring hotels, we have noted your comments on our food prices as part of our next menu review process. Your comments on our internet is also noted. This service is provided by a third party, though it is important to note that with the ever increasing demand and improvements of the IT world, we are now working towards providing our guests better connectivity.

As you have outlined, Karon Beach is easily accessible from the hotel by crossing the beachfront road and our security guard is always on standby to assist our guests to cross the road 24 hours a day. The hotel has 3 pools which include the Ocean Beach Club which overlooks the ocean as you mentioned and the Garden Pool, which is a family friendly pool with plenty of shade and equipped with a waterslide. If you enjoy sunbathing, we would highly recommend our Seafarer Pool where there is also a tranquillity pool for people to relax.
Your observations and opinions are appreciated, as they enable us to assess the standard of our facilities and services and monitor if we are meeting guests needs and expectations.

We thank you again for your feedback.

Best regards,

Andre A Gomez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

My husband and I recently visited this hotel for our second honeymoon. We were sorely disappointed. We did not receive the much spoken about Thai-hospitality. The staff's command of the English language was very poor and they were very unhelpful. Breakfast that was advertised with boards of fresh orange juice was very disappointing. No fresh juice was served and breakfast was just like a big canteen breakfast. The quality of the food was very poor. Also, no provisions is made at all if you are halaal or vegetarian. The room was very well-worn out and seemed very dull in comparison to other hotels we visited in the far east. The stairs to our room housed the used gas stove grills from the restaurant (uncleaned) as well as soft drink machines. It appears that the hotel does not adhere to any professional standards and is one hotel please give it a miss!

Room Tip: Sea facing
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank LoveToTravelSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

The Hilton Arcadia is perfectly located on Karon Beach. Close enough from Patong Beach but not too close to be affected by the overcrowding of the Patong area. The hotel has several types of room accommodation and it would be great if you could request a room on one of the higher floors of the Lotus Wing (it has 12 floors in all). If you book a club room, access to the Panaroma Lounge on the 12th floor is included for breakfast and happy hours. (5-6.30 pm). The lounge has fantastic views of the Andaman Sea and is surely worth a visit. The rooms are large and well appointed and for an old hotel, the property is immaculately maintained. Front desk, Business Center and Fitness Center staff is cheerful and helpful.

The only point that i found odd was the absence of any reading material in the hotel rooms. No Newspapers or magazines.

Overall, i was very happy and would love to go back there!

Room Tip: Ask specifically for a sea facing room on a high floor
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saber13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonPhuketArcadia, General Manager at Hilton Phuket Arcadia Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2012

Dear Guest,

We are pleased to know through this channel that you again enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Your feedback on our services and facilities are much appreciated. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the view of Panorama Lounge and its offerings. We are also thrilled to read that you recognised our team efforts to deliver warm hospitality and exceptional services. Your feedback will only be of great motivation for the team.

We are glad to read that you would like to come back to stay with us again. We thank you for your feedback and we are particularly pleased of your ongoing support to our property.

Our team was happy to have had the opportunity to look after you again on your recent stay and we all look forward to delighting you on your next visit to Phuket here at the Hilton Phuket Arcadia Resort & Spa.

Warm regards,
Andre A Gomez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We stayed at the Hilton Phuket at Karon Beach for 8 nights in February 2012. The hotel and grounds are beautiful, and it is about a 1 hour drive from the Phuket airport. We got a taxi at the desk at the airport for 750 BHT. My husband is an HHonors diamond member, and we used award points for our stay. At check in, we had a warm greeting, cold fruit juices, a cold towel, I got a bouquet of orchids, and my husband a garland of jasmine and orchids. However, we were told that they were giving us a standard King room, as opposed to our reservation, which was for a “King Deluxe Seaview”. Luckily I had our reservation printed out. They were able to get us a king deluxe in the renovated Andaman wing near the beach if we waited 20 minutes for the room to be ready (which we did). They also gave us a voucher for the dinner buffet, and promised to keep searching for a sea view room in the next few days. True to their word, 2 nights later we were able to move to an identical room with a beautiful sea view. The rooms came with 2 bottled waters per day, which was nice since you can’t drink the tap water. Water and snacks in local convenience stores and 7-11 stores are also inexpensive.
When we had a problem with the shower drain, maintenance came immediately to fix the problem. Also, when we moved rooms, the bellman appeared in minutes to help us pack up and move everything. We found all of the staff hard working and friendly.
As a diamond member, we had breakfast included. We could eat in the Executive Lounge or at the Sails restaurant buffet. We chose Sails, as it was much larger with more selection. The buffet was delicious, with a variety of foods including pancakes, egg station, bacon, fried rice, Indian dishes, fresh fruits and juices, cereal, oatmeal, pastries, etc. It also goes until 11am, which was great when we wanted to sleep in and have a long, lazy breakfast.
We used our dinner voucher one night for the buffet at the hotel. Drinks were not included, and with my one shake and my husband’s beer, the bill ended up costing as much as any of our other meals around Karon. If you walk along the sidewalk by the beach for 10 minutes in either direction, you will find great Thai food for much less than the hotel. We went back twice to Bai Joey restaurant and Mama Restaurant. Most of our dinners were $25 with drinks, appetizer, and 2 entrees. All of the wait staff understood English and warned us if dishes would be too spicy for us! Not as impressed with the Hungry Corner restaurant or Chillis.

We did 2 day tours during our stay: Elephant Trekking and Phi Phi Islands tour. We booked the Elephant trek through the hotel leisure desk. We booked Phi Phi islands (and our return airport taxi) through one of the tour desks on the side streets near the hotel. The lady we used was named Phen, and to get to her tour desk we went left on the sidewalk by the beach, and about 2 minute walk up the first street on the left. There are not that many streets, it is easy to find. Both the islands tour (with V-Marine, http://v-marine-tour.com/phiphi.htm) and our return taxi were less than half of what the hotel leisure desk charged, and were great. We could also pay by credit card, which was nice.
We have stayed at Hiltons all over the world, and different hotels have different types of Executive Lounges. The one here had soft drinks all day, but that was about it (and they weren’t cold!). The only complimentary alcohol was during an early happy hour. We like to stay on the beach until sunset (6:30pm), so we never made it for that. They did have 2 computers with internet access, which was nice, but the lounge closed pretty early (9pm). Compared to other lounges, which offer snacks all day, alcohol after 5:30pm, and stayed open later, it was a bit of a disappointment. For instance, in Paris, we were able to have an after dinner drink, some dessert, and use the internet until 11pm. So it wasn’t much of a benefit in Phuket.

Karon Beach was right across the street from the hotel, and there was a crossing guard to help you across the busy road day and night. A chair and umbrella set on the beach costs 200 BHT per day. Make sure you hold on to your receipt in case you want to leave and come back. Also, you have to sit in the same area you pay for, as different locals own different areas, and the boundaries are not that clear. The local snack bars on the beach are great, we had cold coconuts every day. Don’t be afraid to ask them to split open the coconut or for a spoon so you can eat the meat inside. We also got 1 hour Thai massages right on the beach for 300 BHT. So wonderful!

We did experience some “sea lice” (as we heard it called by others) in the ocean water, which stung and left red welts. I think they may be jellyfish larvae? From what I’ve read online, they are only there at certain times, and on our last day, we did not get bites. It did take away from our enjoyment of the water on those days. We headed to the hotel pools, which are very nice. We especially liked the Tranquility area (no children, radios, etc). I would suggest to Hilton to either make the area larger, or put more chairs there, as it was really our favorite spot. I am not sure about how clean the pools are, at least compared to the USA. I don’t think they are chlorinated and we often saw bugs, leaves, hair, etc floating around. They may want to step up their filtration/skimming a bit.

Be careful of sun exposure even while under an umbrella. You can get a dark burn pretty quickly. We did carry-on luggage, so we weren’t able to bring sun block over 3 oz. We bought some at 7-11, but be aware that it is the one item that seems very expensive in Phuket!

I hope some of the tips are helpful to other travelers to the Hilton Phuket. We really did have a nice, relaxing stay there, and would recommend it to other travelers!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank chernd00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonPhuketArcadia, General Manager at Hilton Phuket Arcadia Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable feedback and for taking the time to post your comprehensive and detailed comments of your experience with us on TripAdvisor.com

Feedback is always important as it is integral in our continuous evaluation and review of our services and facilities that we provide our guests in order to refine our offerings. We have noted all your comments and will be reviewing each of these with our respective Department Heads.

Most importantly, I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay at our hotel. We thank you for your truly valuable comments and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Phuket.

Best regards,
Andre A Gomez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews