We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room, not much of a resort at these prices though!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Phuket Arcadia Resort & Spa
Ranked #35 of 137 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We got a room overlooking the garden with a partial sea view. The room was newly renovated, so was very nice indeed. We were surprised that the double bed was two single's pushed together. Otherwise apart from a 9am knock to check the minibar!!!! Our experience was good, I thought the quality of the breakfast was good every morning and enjoyed stocking up for a hard day in the sun!

However the reason I would give this place 3* is because quite frankly the price of the resort lounge's and bar's was just extortianate. We only had a plate of chips from the bar, knowing that the price was expensive, however once you added the VAT & Service it worked out at around £3.20 for a plate of chips! I wouldn't even expect to pay that in a 5* in England, let alone Thailand. This sort of inflation was placed accordingly on all meals and restaurants in the resort, therefore for me I just felt like I was being completely and utterly exploited by the brand Hilton. Thus meaning I will probably never stay in another one, as I just felt it was still a take take take atmosphere when I arrived. They also wanted to charge me and my girlfriend to play tennis after 6pm, whilst it was not alot with the racket hirer they also wanted to charge, it just came down to the principle after what we had paid. Honestly how much does it cost to have a few spare tennis balls and rackets around? Claiming that the extra money they wanted for the tennis caught was to cover the flood lights!

The 3 swimming pools were great and Karon Beach was a nice area, tucked away from the very over crowded Patong. However my experience of Phuket wasn't great on my holiday and the whole place was on average about 50% more expensive than the rest of Thailand.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jason D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonPhuketArcadia, General Manager at Hilton Phuket Arcadia Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for for taking the time to post this review on TripAdvisor.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed our room that you stayed in, our Hilton Breakfast and our swimming pools including Karon Beach itself. We are also pleased to read that you noted our brand new room in our Andaman Wings which have been well received by our guests.
As you have outlined, we indeed apply 10% service charge and 7% VAT onto every bill, which is a requirement in Thailand. With regards to your comments on our overall pricing in the outlets, we have done a thorough investigation into the pricing levels amongst our colleague hotels on Phuket to ensure we are in-line. We will continue to monitor this and take your comments into consideration during our upcoming menu reviews.

Our tennis courts are operated daily from 7.00 am to 9.00 pm and this service is free of charge, unless you would like to play after 6 pm when a 250THB per hour charge will be applied to contribute to the energy cost of lighting and encourage people to play in daylight to save energy. We highly recommend advance booking to avoid disappointment. The hotel provides racket rental service at a minimal charge of 100 THB per racket and balls to ensure each and every guest can play with good quality equipment.

We sincerely hope that you still have enjoyed your stay with us. Once again, thank you for taking the time to post your constructive feedback on this website.

Best regards.

Andre A Gomez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,408)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,801 - 1,805 of 3,408 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2012

I stayed here for a week for a work conference and really enjoyed the resort.

My room was excellent, new, fantastic bathroom, very comfortable bed and lovely beach views.

I found the service reasonable, disappointed that they charge extra for WiFi when most hotels in Thailand offer this for free.

Check was a nightmare! Very slow! Be prepared to be patient, nothing gets done in a hurry.

The pools are all really nice, need to get there early to get a sun lounge though.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kylie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We were upgraded on arrival to a deluxe plus room with garden view. It had a more or less unobstructive seaview, which was a pleasant surprise. It must have been one of the nice new refurbished rooms, since it was very new, spacious, light flooded and with a very nice bathroom (rainshower, bathtub) with milked glas walls, e.g. letting light in.
In terms of the room, there is really nothing I can complain about.
So far so good, why still only 3 stars? Honestly, for a hotel this price range (meaning you hardly find any price below 200 USD on the net (beware, most prices are subject to taxes and charges) i expected more. The food was average in quality and 7 star in price (meaning totally overpriced). I do not expect "local" thai prices in a 5* Hotel, but the prices were insane. First point in the agenda was heading down to 7/11 and stocking up on supplies. Dinner and Lunch were nearly exclusively out of the hotel.
Internet is an outrages 600 TBH (20 USD) per day and gives you a speed that you were used to from times of 56K modem connections (actually it might get faster at night, if you fancy checking your mails at 2 am). Even the business center charges for internet usage (150 TB / 5 USD for one hour) and printing (50 TB / 1.5 USD per page). Hope I got the prices correct.
The Beach is across a very busy and noisy road, and though they have some people there to help you across, its a bit of a turnoff.
There are 3 pools, but all are shallow (I guess 1.2 m) and only partially useful for swimming. Plus, the obvious amounts of kids running around.
They do cater for conferences and business quite and we got the feeling that was there new core clientele.
All in all a business hotel with a nice view and not really vacation atmosphere.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlexK01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonPhuketArcadia, General Manager at Hilton Phuket Arcadia Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your feedback on this website.

It is a pleasure to hear that you appreciated the Deluxe Plus room that you were upgraded into. Further, I am delighted to see that you noted that some of our rooms had been renovated where you found them appealing.
We appreciate your comment on our Food & Beverage pricing and, although they are in-line with our neighbouring hotels, we have noted your comments on our food prices as part of our next menu review process. Your comments on our internet is also noted. This service is provided by a third party, though it is important to note that with the ever increasing demand and improvements of the IT world, we are now working towards providing our guests better connectivity.

As you have outlined, Karon Beach is easily accessible from the hotel by crossing the beachfront road and our security guard is always on standby to assist our guests to cross the road 24 hours a day. The hotel has 3 pools which include the Ocean Beach Club which overlooks the ocean as you mentioned and the Garden Pool, which is a family friendly pool with plenty of shade and equipped with a waterslide. If you enjoy sunbathing, we would highly recommend our Seafarer Pool where there is also a tranquillity pool for people to relax.
Your observations and opinions are appreciated, as they enable us to assess the standard of our facilities and services and monitor if we are meeting guests needs and expectations.

We thank you again for your feedback.

Best regards,

Andre A Gomez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

My husband and I recently visited this hotel for our second honeymoon. We were sorely disappointed. We did not receive the much spoken about Thai-hospitality. The staff's command of the English language was very poor and they were very unhelpful. Breakfast that was advertised with boards of fresh orange juice was very disappointing. No fresh juice was served and breakfast was just like a big canteen breakfast. The quality of the food was very poor. Also, no provisions is made at all if you are halaal or vegetarian. The room was very well-worn out and seemed very dull in comparison to other hotels we visited in the far east. The stairs to our room housed the used gas stove grills from the restaurant (uncleaned) as well as soft drink machines. It appears that the hotel does not adhere to any professional standards and is one hotel please give it a miss!

Room Tip: Sea facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank LoveToTravelSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

The Hilton Arcadia is perfectly located on Karon Beach. Close enough from Patong Beach but not too close to be affected by the overcrowding of the Patong area. The hotel has several types of room accommodation and it would be great if you could request a room on one of the higher floors of the Lotus Wing (it has 12 floors in all). If you book a club room, access to the Panaroma Lounge on the 12th floor is included for breakfast and happy hours. (5-6.30 pm). The lounge has fantastic views of the Andaman Sea and is surely worth a visit. The rooms are large and well appointed and for an old hotel, the property is immaculately maintained. Front desk, Business Center and Fitness Center staff is cheerful and helpful.

The only point that i found odd was the absence of any reading material in the hotel rooms. No Newspapers or magazines.

Overall, i was very happy and would love to go back there!

Room Tip: Ask specifically for a sea facing room on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saber13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonPhuketArcadia, General Manager at Hilton Phuket Arcadia Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2012

Dear Guest,

We are pleased to know through this channel that you again enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Your feedback on our services and facilities are much appreciated. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the view of Panorama Lounge and its offerings. We are also thrilled to read that you recognised our team efforts to deliver warm hospitality and exceptional services. Your feedback will only be of great motivation for the team.

We are glad to read that you would like to come back to stay with us again. We thank you for your feedback and we are particularly pleased of your ongoing support to our property.

Our team was happy to have had the opportunity to look after you again on your recent stay and we all look forward to delighting you on your next visit to Phuket here at the Hilton Phuket Arcadia Resort & Spa.

Warm regards,
Andre A Gomez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karon
35.3 km away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
2.8 km away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#9 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,256 reviews
1.9 km away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 11 in Karon Beach
2,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.1 km away
Pullman Phuket Arcadia Naithon Beach
2.2 km away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
0.8 km away
Movenpick Resort & Spa Karon Beach Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Phuket Arcadia Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Phuket Arcadia Resort & Spa

Address: 333 Patak Road, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Karon
#15 Family Hotel in Karon
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#21 Spa Hotel in Karon
#25 Romantic Hotel in Karon
#33 Luxury Hotel in Karon
Price Range: €63 - €277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Phuket Arcadia Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 665
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is located on the island’s west coast and offers a range of fun and relaxation options for parents and children alike. The resort sprawls over 75-acres landscaped gardens, right on the golden sands of Karon Beach. The resort is conveniently located to four world-class golf courses, elephant riding, scuba diving, ancient golden temples and an abundance of shopping areas. It is the place that you’d rather be with your family for next holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Phuket Arcadia Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Phuket Arcadia Hotel Karon
Hilton Phuket Arcadia Resort And Spa
Phuket Hilton
Hilton Phuket Arcadia Resort & Spa Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing