We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Third Stay and It Never Disappoints”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Phuket Arcadia Resort & Spa
Ranked #32 of 137 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 March 2012

The Hilton Arcadia is perfectly located on Karon Beach. Close enough from Patong Beach but not too close to be affected by the overcrowding of the Patong area. The hotel has several types of room accommodation and it would be great if you could request a room on one of the higher floors of the Lotus Wing (it has 12 floors in all). If you book a club room, access to the Panaroma Lounge on the 12th floor is included for breakfast and happy hours. (5-6.30 pm). The lounge has fantastic views of the Andaman Sea and is surely worth a visit. The rooms are large and well appointed and for an old hotel, the property is immaculately maintained. Front desk, Business Center and Fitness Center staff is cheerful and helpful.

The only point that i found odd was the absence of any reading material in the hotel rooms. No Newspapers or magazines.

Overall, i was very happy and would love to go back there!

Room Tip: Ask specifically for a sea facing room on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saber13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonPhuketArcadia, General Manager at Hilton Phuket Arcadia Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2012

Dear Guest,

We are pleased to know through this channel that you again enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Your feedback on our services and facilities are much appreciated. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the view of Panorama Lounge and its offerings. We are also thrilled to read that you recognised our team efforts to deliver warm hospitality and exceptional services. Your feedback will only be of great motivation for the team.

We are glad to read that you would like to come back to stay with us again. We thank you for your feedback and we are particularly pleased of your ongoing support to our property.

Our team was happy to have had the opportunity to look after you again on your recent stay and we all look forward to delighting you on your next visit to Phuket here at the Hilton Phuket Arcadia Resort & Spa.

Warm regards,
Andre A Gomez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,428)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,820 - 1,824 of 3,428 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2012

We stayed at the Hilton Phuket at Karon Beach for 8 nights in February 2012. The hotel and grounds are beautiful, and it is about a 1 hour drive from the Phuket airport. We got a taxi at the desk at the airport for 750 BHT. My husband is an HHonors diamond member, and we used award points for our stay. At check in, we had a warm greeting, cold fruit juices, a cold towel, I got a bouquet of orchids, and my husband a garland of jasmine and orchids. However, we were told that they were giving us a standard King room, as opposed to our reservation, which was for a “King Deluxe Seaview”. Luckily I had our reservation printed out. They were able to get us a king deluxe in the renovated Andaman wing near the beach if we waited 20 minutes for the room to be ready (which we did). They also gave us a voucher for the dinner buffet, and promised to keep searching for a sea view room in the next few days. True to their word, 2 nights later we were able to move to an identical room with a beautiful sea view. The rooms came with 2 bottled waters per day, which was nice since you can’t drink the tap water. Water and snacks in local convenience stores and 7-11 stores are also inexpensive.
When we had a problem with the shower drain, maintenance came immediately to fix the problem. Also, when we moved rooms, the bellman appeared in minutes to help us pack up and move everything. We found all of the staff hard working and friendly.
As a diamond member, we had breakfast included. We could eat in the Executive Lounge or at the Sails restaurant buffet. We chose Sails, as it was much larger with more selection. The buffet was delicious, with a variety of foods including pancakes, egg station, bacon, fried rice, Indian dishes, fresh fruits and juices, cereal, oatmeal, pastries, etc. It also goes until 11am, which was great when we wanted to sleep in and have a long, lazy breakfast.
We used our dinner voucher one night for the buffet at the hotel. Drinks were not included, and with my one shake and my husband’s beer, the bill ended up costing as much as any of our other meals around Karon. If you walk along the sidewalk by the beach for 10 minutes in either direction, you will find great Thai food for much less than the hotel. We went back twice to Bai Joey restaurant and Mama Restaurant. Most of our dinners were $25 with drinks, appetizer, and 2 entrees. All of the wait staff understood English and warned us if dishes would be too spicy for us! Not as impressed with the Hungry Corner restaurant or Chillis.

We did 2 day tours during our stay: Elephant Trekking and Phi Phi Islands tour. We booked the Elephant trek through the hotel leisure desk. We booked Phi Phi islands (and our return airport taxi) through one of the tour desks on the side streets near the hotel. The lady we used was named Phen, and to get to her tour desk we went left on the sidewalk by the beach, and about 2 minute walk up the first street on the left. There are not that many streets, it is easy to find. Both the islands tour (with V-Marine, http://v-marine-tour.com/phiphi.htm) and our return taxi were less than half of what the hotel leisure desk charged, and were great. We could also pay by credit card, which was nice.
We have stayed at Hiltons all over the world, and different hotels have different types of Executive Lounges. The one here had soft drinks all day, but that was about it (and they weren’t cold!). The only complimentary alcohol was during an early happy hour. We like to stay on the beach until sunset (6:30pm), so we never made it for that. They did have 2 computers with internet access, which was nice, but the lounge closed pretty early (9pm). Compared to other lounges, which offer snacks all day, alcohol after 5:30pm, and stayed open later, it was a bit of a disappointment. For instance, in Paris, we were able to have an after dinner drink, some dessert, and use the internet until 11pm. So it wasn’t much of a benefit in Phuket.

Karon Beach was right across the street from the hotel, and there was a crossing guard to help you across the busy road day and night. A chair and umbrella set on the beach costs 200 BHT per day. Make sure you hold on to your receipt in case you want to leave and come back. Also, you have to sit in the same area you pay for, as different locals own different areas, and the boundaries are not that clear. The local snack bars on the beach are great, we had cold coconuts every day. Don’t be afraid to ask them to split open the coconut or for a spoon so you can eat the meat inside. We also got 1 hour Thai massages right on the beach for 300 BHT. So wonderful!

We did experience some “sea lice” (as we heard it called by others) in the ocean water, which stung and left red welts. I think they may be jellyfish larvae? From what I’ve read online, they are only there at certain times, and on our last day, we did not get bites. It did take away from our enjoyment of the water on those days. We headed to the hotel pools, which are very nice. We especially liked the Tranquility area (no children, radios, etc). I would suggest to Hilton to either make the area larger, or put more chairs there, as it was really our favorite spot. I am not sure about how clean the pools are, at least compared to the USA. I don’t think they are chlorinated and we often saw bugs, leaves, hair, etc floating around. They may want to step up their filtration/skimming a bit.

Be careful of sun exposure even while under an umbrella. You can get a dark burn pretty quickly. We did carry-on luggage, so we weren’t able to bring sun block over 3 oz. We bought some at 7-11, but be aware that it is the one item that seems very expensive in Phuket!

I hope some of the tips are helpful to other travelers to the Hilton Phuket. We really did have a nice, relaxing stay there, and would recommend it to other travelers!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank chernd00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonPhuketArcadia, General Manager at Hilton Phuket Arcadia Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable feedback and for taking the time to post your comprehensive and detailed comments of your experience with us on TripAdvisor.com

Feedback is always important as it is integral in our continuous evaluation and review of our services and facilities that we provide our guests in order to refine our offerings. We have noted all your comments and will be reviewing each of these with our respective Department Heads.

Most importantly, I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay at our hotel. We thank you for your truly valuable comments and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Phuket.

Best regards,
Andre A Gomez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We spent a week here with our two boys, 8 and 12 years old.
The hotel is very big with a nice green area. However, we were not very happy.
The rooms were worn down and it seemed clear that maintanance had been halted quite a while ago. This was far from the 5-star standard I had expected. The view was nice though.

This is a multi-purpose hotel which also caters to business people and conferences. We never got that intimate, friendly feeling you so often get at other good hotels in Thailand, I felt rather like I was living in a machine.

Prices at the hotel for food and drinks was very high. Juice or coke was double what we paid at an other 5-star hotel in Kaho Lak. Eating lunch and dinner there was out of the question.

In order to get to the (very) public beach, you need to cross a fairly traficated road and a littered pathway. We ended up hardly ever using this beach.

I will not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank svein s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonPhuketArcadia, General Manager at Hilton Phuket Arcadia Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback of your experience with us on TripAdvisor.
We are of course disappointed to hear that some aspects of your stay was not up to your expectations.

You will be pleased to know that we have in the last 6 months initiated a refurbishment program to our rooms where one third of our rooms have been completed. This is very much part of our improvement plan as part of our goal of enhancing our guest experience. In addition, our maintenance team has planned an extensive maintenance in the rest of the rooms after this Peak Season in order to ensure that our room condition is always at its best.
Our hotel provides services and facilities to support both business travellers and holiday makers continually and we look to enhance these offerings accordingly. We thank you for your comments which only reinforces the work that we are now doing to reassure our guests that they will always receive warm Thai hospitality during their stay.
As you have outlined, Karon Beach is indeed a public beach where it is easily accessible from the hotel by crossing the beachfront road and our security guard is always on standby to assist our guests to cross the road 24 hours a day. As an alternative for our hotel guests, we have 3 pools where one of them overlooks the ocean and they are fully equipped with umbrellas and sun loungers where our guests can enjoy swimming in different environments. This includes a sand court that provides a semi beach feel to your afternoon.
We appreciate your comment on our Food & Beverage pricing and we have noted your comments on our food prices as part of our next menu review process.
In spite of your disappointments, we are pleased to hear that you liked our gardens and our views and we trust that you also enjoyed the other facilities & service offered here during your stay.

We thank you again for your feedback.

Best regards,
Andre A Gomez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

The bathroom was amazing! There was a huge shower with an ordinary and a rain shower. It was light-flooded as two of the walls were made of glass. Actually, the whole room was great!
The staff was really friendly and the service perfect.
The hotel has a huge park with lots of palm trees and water. To go to the beach, you have to cross the main street, but there's someone who stops the cars for you.
If you want to take the tuk tuk or taxi, there is a station right next to the hotel on the street.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YaJu0906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonPhuketArcadia, General Manager at Hilton Phuket Arcadia Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying at Hilton Phuket Arcadia Resort & Spa and taking time in commenting on our property through TripAdvisor.

Most importantly, we are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you liked our shower and our hotel grounds. It gives us great pleasure to know that you felt well taken care of by our friendly and attentive team members during your trip to Phuket.

Thank you again for this review and we look forward to welcoming you back to our resort on your next visit.

Best regards,
Andre A Gomez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We stayed at this hotel in a ocean view delux for 13 nights with a 3 year old. Overall very satisfied with the hotel, the Maid was the sweetest making rabbits and elephants of the towels for our son, and kissing swans for us:-) the pool guys at the pool were also great- always smiling and playing with our son. Breakfast superb, best we have ever tried! As for the grounds- a bit old and huge- lacking personality , But we enjoyed it- it is close to the beach, restaurants and shopping, it also feels very safe with good security. The spa is very idyllic, but try body&mind dayspa at Karon instead- so much more for your money! The beach is not the best option for kids- big waves and rip currents. But only a 200 baht drive to kata and nai harn beach witch Are superb. Karon is a quiet place comparred to patong, great og you travel with family. Would surely recommend this resort!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank imiNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonPhuketArcadia, General Manager at Hilton Phuket Arcadia Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Hilton Phuket Arcadia Resort & Spa and for taking the time to post this special review on TripAdvisor.

It is such a pleasure to read that you and your family enjoyed your overall stay at our hotel. We are glad that you liked our Hilton Breakfast and our hotel location with easy access to Karon Beach, restaurants and shopping areas. We are delighted to hear that you feel safe staying here and you trust our hotel security.

We are thrilled to read that you recognised the attentiveness of our team members and their efforts to deliver warm hospitality and exceptional services. It is great to know that you appreciated the efforts of our housekeeper and that your son was well taken care of by our pool team. Your feedback will only be of great motivation to the team.

Thank you again for this review and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back to our resort on your next trip to Phuket.


Kind regards,
Andre A Gomez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karon
35.3 km away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
1.9 km away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 11 in Karon Beach
2,261 reviews
25.1 km away
Pullman Phuket Arcadia Naithon Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
0.8 km away
Movenpick Resort & Spa Karon Beach Phuket
5.5 km away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 337 in Patong
6,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Phuket Arcadia Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Phuket Arcadia Resort & Spa

Address: 333 Patak Road, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Karon
#15 Family Hotel in Karon
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#19 Spa Hotel in Karon
#25 Romantic Hotel in Karon
#30 Luxury Hotel in Karon
Price Range: €69 - €304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Phuket Arcadia Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 665
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is located on the island’s west coast and offers a range of fun and relaxation options for parents and children alike. The resort sprawls over 75-acres landscaped gardens, right on the golden sands of Karon Beach. The resort is conveniently located to four world-class golf courses, elephant riding, scuba diving, ancient golden temples and an abundance of shopping areas. It is the place that you’d rather be with your family for next holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Phuket Arcadia Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Phuket Arcadia Resort And Spa
Hilton Phuket Arcadia Hotel Karon
Phuket Hilton
Hilton Phuket Arcadia Resort & Spa Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing