We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Resort - Beautiful Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
Ranked #16 of 136 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2011

I have just returned from staying at the Centara Grand Beach Resort and struggled to understand why others had issues with this resort as my experience was completely opposite!

My husband and I spent 8 days at CGBR with our best friends (another couple) and had a magnificent time.

We had booked 2 x One Bedroom Pool Villas & upon check in we were advised that our rooms were unavailable due to the recent floods in Southern Thailand.
We were downgraded to 2 x Deluxe Pool Suites. If I were more familiar with the room types I would have requested 1 x Luxury Pool Suite with a connecting Deluxe Pool Suite as the Luxury pool suite was a little larger and had a wrap around balcony.

Whilst we were disappointed intially, we still had our own plunge pools and our rooms were connected via the balconies. CGBR also compensated us with "pocket money". This meant that we had massages, facials, drinks, food etc that we may not have normally spent in the hotel. So in hindsight we felt that we had a better holiday as it was easier for us to congregate together (rather than being seperated by stand alone villas), share our private pools, hotel tabs etc.

The main pool area is just stunning! The lazy river & waterslides are great fun for big and little kids, the adults only pool exhibits a beautiful sunset most nights and Mare Restaurant food quality is outstanding with a gorgeous ambiance.

The staff are truly delightful and we found them all to be helpful, gracious and always greeting us with a smile! Even when we had the inital disappointment with our rooms, they went out of their way to ensure our stay was a comfortable & memorable one.

The hotel is in a great location - easy walk to Karon shops & markets, on the beach, with a quick THB300 Tuk Tuk ride to Patong or Kata.

I would STRONGLY recommend a stay at the Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket and will definitely stay there when next we go to Phuket.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chichman22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,791)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,283 - 2,287 of 2,791 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2011

It was an excellent experience to my family, all of us are very happy with the facilities and service! Especially to the kids pool, although it was very big of the pool, but the slide is in a good function with enough quantity of water to push the kids sliding from high and the two longer slides are fabulous!! Besides, the diving area is also very nice, it has two jumping points (I guess one is about 3 metres height and the other is about 5 metres height), it is very exciting!!! Their lifeguards are doing the great job to keep safe by control the guests jump one by one!!

Besides, I enjoyed the breakfast very much!! Many choices of foods, and they are in good quality!!

The staffs are very helpful and cheerful!! Although they english is not good enough but still can be communicated!!

Room Tip: House 9 is the most nearest building to the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dolphin322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2011

The two weeks we were in Phuket, we ended up staying in four different 5-star resorts,
giving us an excellent opportunity to compare the different hotels, and so therefore I decided to write my first reviews after being an avid user in here for several years.

We stayed for a week in room 435, a standard ocean view room.
The room was great, being very open and you had an ocean view while sitting in the bathtub in the bathroom.
Compared to Patong, the beach was nice and quiet, but still had several sunbeds for rent and around 5 restaurants nearby. The hotel also provided sunbeds and umbrellas, but these were a bit away from the water.
The Luna bar holds happy hour between 5 and 7 PM, and lying here in the lounge beds while watching the sunset with a drink in hand, was one of our nicest moments in this hotel. Also in the Luna bar and other places they have a lighting ceremony of some sort at sunset where they place oil candles for great ambience. The managers also sometimes show up here to have a talk with the guests - a nice touch.
The breakfast was pretty good. They have a cook preparing eggs anyway you'd like and a full assortment of the regular stuff. Like everywhere else they also fail to keep the milk proper cold and the juice is, as any breakfast buffet I've ever experienced, more like lemonade than proper juice. Guess the real stuff is too expensive.
They have two PCs with Internet in the lobby, free of charge, which often had people waiting in line to use them. WiFi costs an arm and a leg. I still don't understand this. Why should people who use their own PCs instead of the hotel's have to be punished? Since two PC's is way too little for such a big hotel, it should be a lot cheaper to just provide free WiFi instead of having to set up a decent amount of PC's so there won't always be a wait for them.
Water in the rooms is another problem. For such a fancy shower head, it's sad that there's no water pressure to make full use of it. Just getting the shampoo out of ones hair took ages.
Also a few times, we got some weird brown water out of the faucets.
The hotel grounds is huge and has a rather confusing layout. You don't just pop up to the room for a water, if you're lying at the pool, because it's quite a trip to get there.
The walking path into Karon needs serious improvements. You either risk your life by walking in the road ditch for a few hundred meters with traffic coming right at you at high speeds, or you take the beach path, where you have to walk down a steep slope, under electrical wires and without any lights whatsoever. After this choice, you have to pass the sobriety test and walk the appx 60 cm wide and 4-5 meter long bridge without arm railings across murky water. After this you're home free :-)
All in all it's a good hotel for a longer stay as it has the beach, is pretty close to Karon and also only a 300 baht taxi trip to Patong.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DjonDjoe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2011

Centara is the perfect place that you can stay with your family . There are many facilities and activities to do on the club and the beach.It is not far from shopping centre. Food is goo Quality. You will happy to stay at Centara.

Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ekachai_Boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2011

Amazing! Only about 12 months old. We had our honeymoon as our wedding gift list. You get so much for your money in Thailand. Amazing Hotel. Cannot fault it in anyway. Staff are amazing. Food and drink excellent. Adult pool area is very calm and relaxing, but you can pop over to the lazy river, the main pool or in-pool bar. Beautiful beach. We had a jacuzzi suite which gave us access to the club suite for cocktails and snacks throughout the day. Well worth the extra if you can stretch it. Not far to walk into Karon town or taxi or tuk tuk into main town. Would give anything to return. Maybe for an anniversary if I'm lucky! Better start saving .....

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TLBirch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karon
0.8 km away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 11 in Karon Beach
2,123 reviews
33.2 km away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
0.5 km away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 331 in Patong
6,254 reviews
1.2 km away
Le Meridien Phuket Beach Resort
2.2 km away
Hilton Phuket Arcadia Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket

Address: 683 Patak Road, Karon Beach | Muang, Phuket, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Karon
#8 Spa Hotel in Karon
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#14 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#19 Family Hotel in Karon
#29 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range: €127 - €555 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drawing its design theme from the Sino-Portuguese architecture that characterises Phuket Town, the five-star Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket is right on the sands at Karon Beach. The resort is backed by a green hill, and grouped around its own landscaped water park which features a meandering lazy river, waterslides, a kids’ pool with a waterslide, a cliff jumping platform, and an adults-only pool with its own pool bar. You will love the other exhilarating leisure activities on offer, including water sports (kayaking, windsurfing and sailing), snorkelling, tennis, and Muay Thai (Thai boxing). Diving can also be arranged, and there’s a fully-equipped fitness centre. Relaxation seekers will head to the award-winning Spa Cenvaree, a refuge for the senses which combines ancient healing practices that reflects Thailand’s wellbeing heritage with modern rejuvenation techniques to nurture and rebalance the body. The resort also has age-specific kids clubs, free Wi-Fi, and seven restaurants and bars, including COAST Beach Club & Bistro. Each of the spacious rooms, suites and pool villas (49 to 209 square metres of total living space) is designed in a Sino-Portuguese décor and features a balcony or terrace with soothing views of the pools, the gardens or the sea. A number of rooms come equipped with an outdoor Jacuzzi while the suites comprise a plunge pool. Phuket International Airport is less than one hour by road from the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Fastbooking, TravelUp, Agoda, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Hotels.com so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket Hotel Karon
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing