We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Day in the life”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bamboo House Phuket
Ranked #57 of 133 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Another Day in the life”
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Sitting here at the poolside bar of this ever so pleasant hotel, I only have good words and take note I am very critical esp., since traveling around Thailand and the outer countries for nearly 3 years.

Read many reviews before chancing upon this one, looked at 4-5 star resorts to B&Bs (Karon, Kata & Patong) and the reviews were so mixed favoring on the poorer side, I thought this was a good gamble.

Anyway, the Staff is most friendly, the room (Superior on the 5th floor facing the pool) is quite comfortable. The elegant Bamboo trim throughout brings a serene comfort placing you outside the relative confines of the concrete town. The room itself, has that old-style, Japanese feel. The bed - basically a mattress on the floor (no box-spring & not a futon) with a raised platform/step on both sides. As far as the hard mattress, which is common throughout Thailand, this one is just right - I sleep peacefully. I've been at 5-star hotels where you feel as if your sleeping on a slab of wood, here is not the case. The room is equipped with a large flat screen TV with a Mac Mini connected to it (NOT an Apple TV). The internet/WIFI is as expected on an Island within Thailand - very slow. To the bullets...

• Room comfortable & quiet enough for a good night sleep (NO bugs & just right in "firmness" mattress). You also get a Towel bag for the beach.
• Staff friendly & accommodating; regards to the language barrier, English is good
* Pool - small but very relaxing & plenty on lounge chairs
• Restaurant is sparse and comfortable in that Bamboo trim. Haven't tried the food yet. Then again I rarely eat hotel food.
• The immediate area is typical with minimal street noise. VERY safe & compared to Bangkok, very clean.

There are massage parlors & minimal small restaurants lining the street, a Gym on the corner to the beach road & a row of bars in a little nook across the street. I rented a motorbike from a Falang owned restaurant on the street behind the hotel for 150 BHT a day - they just wrote down my Passport info. Just to say, there is no REAL or Legitimate reason why any company has to hold on to your passport. These Thai companies (Motorbike rentals) want to keep your Passport, but I believe the reason to be less honest. To each his own.

I don't know the walking distance to the beach, as I like to ride, but it's short as I can see the horizon from the entrance. Patong is about 15 minutes by the beach road. Haven't ventured using the short-cut yet. Patong is similar to Pattaya except much cleaner & much more safe in the area of chaos - though please to all, stay out of the dark allies. The overall location is what it is pending on your desired transportation. If you choose to go by feet, then a resort maybe more fitting, as there are few restaurants. Or maybe just get a place in Patong. By transport, everything is at your feet.

Back to the hotel, I highly recommend. Just learned (excuse my spelling), there is a go-cart track & shooting range just over the hill in Cha-long. Along with the beach activities...bliss.

Room Tip: High Floor, facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oz893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    83
    36
    4
    5
See reviews for
33
113
25
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
208 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Great staff. Room amenities is superb with own internet and desktop. Has airport transport services and the beach is a mere 10 minute walk. Hotel provides you with a beach bag which you can bring to the beach. Restaurant is open for breakfast and closes til 10 and then re-opens for dinner. Great and cheap massage booths right across the street. The market is a 15-minute walk. Plus they have a dipping pool.

Room Tip: No elevators but higher rooms have better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim28Manila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

I enjoyed my 8 nights stay here. Its a clean, affordable, fine little hotel. The rooms are nicely decorated. I liked the low big japanese style bed (futon?). Also the bathroom was well designed with open glass to the room. Bath amenities were nice. So was the big rain shower. I only missed a bathtub, but didnt expect this from a small 4* hotel. TV and WIFI were all good. They also had a nice Apple computer hooked up to the big screen TV in each room.

Restaurant seemed to have a good vibe and was busy every night, but didnt eat their as I prefer the local food carts on the streets, really a joy! Pool was not too big but just very good, just a downside that they closed at 6pm already. Hotel is 5 minutes walk down the street to the beach. Renting a motorbike is also a good idea to visit other beaches or towns easily. Just 200/250 a day. Patong was 10minutes drive. Kata 5 minutes. Can park in front of the hotel for free. All phuket parking is free actually, as far as I know.

Housekeeping, reception and porter staff were all very nice and helpfull. I'd recommend this hotel to my friends and family. If travelling on a larger budget, stay at Hilton Karon Beach.

Room Tip: Reception floor level, so dont have to take stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sebastian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Well located, clean rooms, wifi and air conditiong work well. Very friendly and helpful staff in the reception, breakfast average. Not luxury or a "boutique hotel" (in a way I understand the term) but ok and clean basic hotel. I would not spend my whole holiday here but for the price I think it is ok for a couple of nights stay if you want to be in Karon. One negative thing were the ants in the room.

Room Tip: In the first floor it is better to choose a room that's not facing the pool and restaurant side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Venga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

This hotel is very nice. It is located at the main road of Karon so it is very central. 5 minutes walk to the beach and a lot of restaurants and bars around.
The first impression after reaching the hotel is very good. Unfortunately the floors are a little bit stinky and hot but therefore the rooms a very nice. All rooms have AC, nice bed, flat screen TV, free Wifi and also an Apple computer inside.
Even if you have an overnight guest it is no problem.

Two bad things are the bathroom and the laundry. In the bathrom the water takes some time to flow away and the quality of the laundry is poor. This should be improved.

Breakfast and restaurant are also good.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyChorizo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karon hotels
0.2 km away
Lap Roi Karon Beachfront
Lap Roi Karon Beachfront
#113 of 133 in Karon
51 reviews
0.2 km away
On Hotel Phuket
On Hotel Phuket
#92 of 133 in Karon
93 reviews
0.6 km away
Baan Karonburi Resort
Baan Karonburi Resort
#67 of 133 in Karon
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Sugar Marina Resort - ART
0.1 km away
Simplitel Hotel
Simplitel Hotel
#35 of 133 in Karon
598 reviews
0.1 km away
Allstar Guesthouse
Allstar Guesthouse
#2 of 148 in Karon
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bamboo House Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamboo House Phuket

Property: Bamboo House Phuket
Address: 492/1 Patak Rd | Karon Beach Muang, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#41 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Bamboo House Phuket 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bamboo House Phuket is an ultra stylish boutique hotel offering a unique combination of sleek yet minimalist decor with a bamboo theme echoed from the pool garden outside all the way through to subtle details in every room.With top of the range hi-tech amenities and inclusive high-speed wireless internet available in each room, Bamboo House is the ultimate choice in providing all of your needs whether for work or for play. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bamboo House Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bamboo House Phuket Hotel Karon
Bamboo Hotel Phuket
Bamboo House Phuket Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing