We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,092)
Filter reviews
4,092 results
Traveller rating
2,852
823
260
94
63
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,852
823
260
94
63
Show reviews that mention
All reviews black ginger tin mine indigo pearl rivet grill adult pools d buk suite family pool beach club tin mining pearl bed suite coqoon spa swim up bar moo's kitchen cooking class tongkah tin syndicate industrial design tennis courts
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 4,092 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We spent 5 perfect days in the Slate! Our room was huge, clean and very pretty. Everyone was so friendly to us during the whole time. The breakfast buffet was amazing!! (Special thanks to the noodle soup responsible) Delicious food and flawless service! We tried both the Black Ginger and the Japanese restaurant (very special thanks to Pleai) and we were very satisfied with both of them. We also booked a couple massage -to recommend!!- Our favorite part of the hotel was definitely the pools!! We spent most of our time in the second pool (the one with the bar) nothing to complain about, next time we book for 10 days!!

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Connector56378812857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicholasSim1, General Manager at The Slate, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Connector56378812857,

You are delighted you had a great holiday and took the time to get to know all aspects of The resort. Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with the TripAdvisor community and we very much look forward to your next stay with us.

Warm regards,
Nicholas Simmonds.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Slate well deserves all the accolades given by the other reviewers, this is truly a 5 star hotel, it is a resort but I would prefer to call it an hotel.
It is my Golden Dow award for Thailand, stayed there at the beginning and again at the end of our holiday. It's proximity to the airport makes it a winner for those late night arrivals, no need to get involved in Phuket's mad traffic. Nic next time how about Champagne (tongue in cheek). instead of water in your courtesy transport to the airport, that what a nice touch.
One "heads up" for reservations, who asked me to photo copy both front and back of my credit card to secure my reservation. Advice to all travelers, never put the following in an email - credit card details of any sort or photo copies of your credit card, as there are plenty of secure ways of transmitting such information, not that there is any foolproof way, as I recently found out with British Airways.
You won't be disappointed with the Slate's sheer luxury, you must experience it to appreciate it.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IntrepidGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicholasSim1, General Manager at The Slate, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear IntrepidGypsy,

Thank you for your wonderful review, we are honoured to be your favourite hotel in Thailand. You will also be happy to know that we are recently working on installing secure online payment systems to provide a more seamless booking experience. We very much appreciate your recommendations of our resort and you hope to welcome you again too.

Warm regards,
Nicholas Simmonds.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Just checked out of the slate today we spent 5 nights here and what an amazing resort this place is! The design of the hotel is Beautiful, it’s a one of a kind resort! We booked a room with its own pool and stand alone spa bath on the patio with sun loungers and a mattress area to relax. The bed was super comfy too! It was perfect! It’s quirky interior design uses metal parts which bring you back to almost a mining age but never compromising on luxury or standards! The pool areas are sensational, particularly the 2 adult only pools with one of them having a pool bar. Food wise the restaurant has the black ginger, river bar, and tin mine as it’s restaurants. The black ginger is a must! purely because of the experience it takes you on. The foods great, setting is unique and the service was excellent. They also gave us a bottle of champagne as a honeymoon gift to go with dinner a classy touch! We also had a meal in the river bar, Japanese food! Our opinion was this is the best restaurant for food! We loved it particularly the wagyu beef! Beautifully designed and again service was brilliant! The staff can’t do enough for you, the pool guys constantly refreshing you with ice cold water with a hint of lemon/ orange, as well as fresh fruit and popsicles. The bar is nice, has a snooker table and pool table. We had room service for two nights and the food was with us in no time at all and tasted great! The location of the resort itself is right on the beachfront about 5 minutes drive from the airport. next to it a number of side of the road stalls serving food, refreshments souvenirs plus there’s plenty of bars and restaurants if you don’t want to stay much in the resort. In summary, the hotel was faultless! We loved it! The design of the hotel, the food, the service, it was our best stay in a hotel to date.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5  Thank liam k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicholasSim1, General Manager at The Slate, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Liam K,

Thank you for your fantastic feedback after your recent stay for your honeymoon. It is always to our delight to know that guests choose The Slate to celebrate a special occasion especially that you enjoyed all aspects of our unique property and bespoke service. Thank you again and we hope you will be celebrating one of your anniversaries with us soon.

Warm regards,
Nicholas Simmonds.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Located across the road from a nice beach (the road has minimal traffic so not a distraction), the Slate is less than 10 minutes from the airport, but little airplane noise. However, a 30-45 minute drive to town and other restaurants. Beautiful grounds with 3 adult pools and one large family pool. On the surface, it looks like 5 stars, but the service needs to improve a lot to make it to 5 stars. A bit of a snafu at check-in was the beginning. The pool "service" is almost non-existent. The attendant asks your room number and hands you two towels. No offer to help you setup, move chairs into the shade, etc. They do bring you 2 waters, but in 3 days, I think they asked twice to take a drink or food order. The breakfast buffet has an above average selection, but all they do is seat you- no drink orders or coffee refills. The room was a nice size and a cool cross between industrial and beach. 3 issues with room design- the lighting for the vanity was one can above the mirror on the 12 foot ceiling (hard enough for me to shave, but my GF's make-up even harder). The shower was very dark- once again the light was 12 feet up next to a 12 inch lower soffit which blocked the light. Finally, the rugs were uncomfortable to the feet. Lunch options are limited and I struggled to get a good burger. The sushi restaurant was OK. Black Ginger was a delightful experience though. Right outside the hotel on the beach are a number of restaurants and shops for snacks and alcohol. Massages for $300Bt versus $2,200Bt at the hotel.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank funguylonggrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicholasSim1, General Manager at The Slate, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear funguylonggrove,

Thank you for taking your time to leave us valuable feedback after your recent stay. we are delighted to learn that you enjoyed our unique design and plentiful hotel facilities. We always welcome suggestions to improve our services.
Thank you again for choosing The Slate.

Warm regards,
Nicholas Simmonds.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

What a unique and beautiful resort. We stayed here while visiting Thailand on our honeymoon. One thing I liked about this place was the fact that they had several adult only pools - we frequented one and were helped by Ian who was amazing. Thank you Ian! We also enjoyed Black Ginger very much and ended up going back a second time during our stay. We visited the spa as well and I had a massage with Sabina who was wonderful. The staff here is pleasant and helpful and the resort itself is very well maintained. Unfortunately we did not get to enjoy the Sunday brunch which was a bit of a disappointment. If I ever found myself back in Phuket I would love to stay at the Slate again. Thank you for providing such great service.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicholasSim1, General Manager at The Slate, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Sara S,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback, we are thrilled you had such a great experience on your honeymoon. Your kind mentions of our pool service will be passed to the team and especially Ian, not to forget Sabina at our Coqoon Spa. We hope that you will be back to Phuket soon and we will look forward to welcoming you again.

Warm regards,
Nicholas Simmonds.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews