We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pub food way above the average”
Review of The Ship Inn

The Ship Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed 12 September 2018

Very extensive menu; not your usual pub food. Excellent quality and friendly, efficient service. There were plenty of locals in at lunchtime creating a traditional atmosphere.
We would recommend this gem to anyone visiting the area.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Frank O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brey, Manager at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Great thank you! Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (362)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 362 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2018

We called in on Bank Holiday Monday without booking and were found a table, they are dog friendly and the food is top quality, we had the corned beef hash which was superb, the staff were friendly and very helpful.
All in all an excellent venue and one we will return to when in the area again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Malcfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brey, Manager at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

Great, thank you! We hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2018

We visited for drinks one evening and were impressed with the free snacks on the bar, think it was haggis on toast.
We also had Sunday Lunch which was excellent Roast Beef with all the trimmings served with a bowl of fresh mixed vegetables.
It was a friendly pub with lots of locals.

1  Thank vacationgirl58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brey, Manager at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

Thank you very much

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2018 via mobile

We've just had a nice lunch at the Ship Inn, myself and partner and 2 young children. We ate from the lunch menu and the food was nice. We also had a drinks spillage - which was dealt with very calmly - our son was immediately offered a replacement drink. Pricing reasonable. We didn't book in advance, just walked in and were accommodated.

2  Thank tynesidevoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brey, Manager at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

Glad you enjoyed it, we're always happy to help!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2018

Journey stop off at this delightful pub for a light lunch. We only needed a starter and I had black pudding with egg and Hollandaise sauce - one of the best black puddings I have tasted. Delicious.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank digijrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brey, Manager at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

Great, glad you enjoyed the food!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Ship Inn also viewed

Boroughbridge, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
Boroughbridge, North Yorkshire
Boroughbridge, North Yorkshire
 
Boroughbridge, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing