We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a warm welcome”
Review of The Ship Inn

The Ship Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed 20 July 2018 via mobile

We have visited this lovely pub on a few occasion the atmosphere the staff and service is 1st class as is the menu, the choice is excellent and the food is of very good quality. Good selection of beers and wines. Always a warm welcome would highly recommend a visit.

Thank Isabella1900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brey, Manager at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2018

Glad you always enjoy your visit, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (360)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 362 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2018

Passed the Ship a few times but never popped in. So that was put to rights this week and came away wondering why it took me so long to take the plunge.

Sunny evening and lots of locals and punters outside, but we elected to have the table by the window in what is a traditional olde-worlde pub with low ceilings and plenty of timber. Nautical collections and pictures complete the scene and good to see an old chap getting very excited about a picture of a ship he had served on as Third Engineer back in 1965.

Friendly service, but initially wondered what was going on when the wine we selected was not available - even though it was house - and then a couple of updates as to what wasn't on the menu. But that was the only negative in what was a great night.

Brie starter plentiful, prawn cocktail quickly devoured. Our mains which included an electic mix of scampi, curry, cornbeef hash and corn fed chicken were spot on and shared puds a fine ending - all washed down with lager, bitter and a reasonable Rose.

A warm July night - but couldn't help thinking that this would be a superb winter pub to frequent with roaring fire in the corner.

Sad to WAVE goodbye to the Ship, but we will return - be warned.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brey, Manager at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2018

I'm glad to hear your appreciation for the pub! Thank you ever so much! I would like to apologise about the wine as we do have all the house wines in stock, sorry about the mistake. We do sometimes sell out of dishes in busy periods, especially the specials as these are limited weekly so that will be why certain dishes weren't available. I'm happy you all enjoyed your food and visit, we look forward to seeing you again (and hearing more of your fantastic nautical puns!).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2018

Its not often that I take the time to write a positive review I normally just compliment the front of house staff and ask them to compliment the chefs, bur this time I have to say the food was outstanding and the menu a lesson in how to write a classical fresh food menu this head chef owner is clearly at the very top of his game.
My wife and I will be back very soon 10 out of 10 food fantastic thank you for a great experience absolute value for money.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mrdavidson23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brey, Manager at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2018

That's great to hear, thank you. We're glad you enjoyed it so much, see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2018

Booked for the 7 July for a family get together so thought we would have a prior look and was very impressed with the olde world pub interior. The locals were very friendly and had a good chat about the World Cup amongst other things.

    • Value
Thank jmapHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brey, Manager at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

Thank you we look forward to seeing you on the 7th!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2018 via mobile

We needed a local pub where we could park up the camper van and take in 2 dogs. Pleased we had booked as the bar area was busy. We had a nice table by the window so the dogs could be out of the way. My wife had sumptuous fish pie and I had the steak and mushroom pie- we shared a medley of vegetables. Good portions and so tasty. We did not have starters so we could try deserts. One gooey choc pudding and a duo torte both with ice cream- we shared them between us. Such a nice friendly vibe in the pub opposite the lovely church. The main restaurant part also looked nice with many tables. Glad we chose to come! Good value

Thank philosIsleofMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brey, Manager at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

Happy to hear you enjoyed your meal! Yes, though we always try to accommodate everyone we always advise booking (especially in the bar area).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Ship Inn also viewed

Boroughbridge, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
Boroughbridge, North Yorkshire
Boroughbridge, North Yorkshire
 
Boroughbridge, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing