We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,743)
Filter reviews
1,743 results
Traveller rating
424
615
448
164
92
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
424
615
448
164
92
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ettington chase groupon deal leisure facilities jacuzzi and sauna evening meal murder mystery weekend stratford upon avon chequers inn buffet breakfast bar prices superior room lovely grounds weekend break both mornings trouser press pleasant stay short drive
Filter
Updating list...
132 - 137 of 1,743 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018

This was our second visit to this hotel which is convenient for visiting nearby friends.
On this occasion, while breakfast was great, we were disappointed with other aspects of the hotel..

Rave
The breakfast is excellent. Fantastic choice and a super smiley and helpful breakfast manager. This was a huge plus after a miserable night.

Criticisms:
1. The room
This was fine -quiet and comfortable and plenty of space BUT but the room was cold. There was no thermostat with which to warm the room up, neither were there sufficient bed covers. One rather thin duvet. I could not sleep for the cold. Please please give your punters some extra blankets so that they can sleep. This is a basic requirement!

The bathroom floor looked grubby in places but this may just have been due to tired tiling and grouting. More of an irritant however was the soap dispenser by the basin. This was not fit for purpose. Either it was not sufficiently full or it needed to be replaced. I had to climb into the bath to get soap every time I wanted to wash my hands!

2. Reception: We had wanted to advise reception of a later arrival.than expected but despite several attempts to phone during the late afternoon and early evening, the telephone was never answered. We found this surprising.
When we did arrive, we were advised that breakfast would end at 0930 the following morning. In fact, being a Bank Holiday, breakfast continued to be served until 1030 so we could have enjoyed a more leisurely wake up. Reception should have known this.

Overall, we felt that our stay was okay value for money but, with a little more attention to detail, it would be brilliant. We did not find it surprising that the hotel was much less full than on our previous visit and hope that the management can return it to the standard of excellence that we enjoyed on our previous visit a couple of years ago.

Room Tip: Avoid room 201 and ask for warmth!
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank acpackhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

Very nice hotel very clean food very good service very good very good facilities nice and quite bed very comfortable room nice size lovely grounds long off the road plenty of parking good place to visit surrounding area

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
Thank kipling68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine L, General Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Thank you for your feedback
I am pleased that you found your stay value for money and the service good

Lorraine Lockwood
General Manager Ettington Chase

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018

Stayed here for a break in March. On arrival we were pointed to where our room was eventhough there were two people in reception. No help with luggage. Room was very cold which is unusual for a 4* except in reception area and older part of hotel.
The pillows were so old and lumpy we asked for a different type but none came. Tv came out of the ark.
Maintenance team need to sort out their tap washers - ours leaked both hot and cold as well as in public loos.
No info about the hotel in the room nor surrounding area.
Breakfast was acceptable usual buffet style with a lot of choice. Dinner was disappointing more like fast food than an upmarket restaurant.
Seems place is geared for conference and wedding business.
Very disappointed.

Room Tip: Pick old part of hotel to avoid cold rooms and a long route march from reception.
Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018

We booked this up from an ad in a national paper,it was for 2 nights with breakfast and on the first night a 3 coarse meal. We were impressed a nice double room a nice looking building with lots of free parking. Our food was great with lots of choice on the buffet dinner.it was so nice we dined the the next night with a different menu. The buffet breakfast was great with a lot of choice,and the staff were all very helpful and efficient as was the manager.
Drew and mary

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Drew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018

There was free WiFi, ample parking, a gym, lovely restaurant and the rooms was well appointed.
The staff couldn’tbe more helpful.
The food was very good, I had dinner and breakfast lots of choice and reasonably price.

Room Tip: Go for the upgrade
Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
1  Thank Kenneth_Smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews