We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$426
US$204
View deal
Hotels.comUS$214
Expedia.comUS$214
eDreamsUS$204
ZenHotels.comUS$426
TravelocityUS$214
CheapTicketsUS$214
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,142)
Filter reviews
1,142 results
Traveller rating
679
274
102
50
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
679
274
102
50
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beach club across the street costa rica beautiful hotel junior suite beach area restaurant staff our honeymoon yogurt beautiful beach punta uva pura vida noa caribbean maintenance sloths beachclub
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 1,142 reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2021 via mobile

A nice place near the jungle and the beach, a quite place with an excellent restaurant and a games place.
The perfect end of the day could be on the pool right in the front of the beautiful beach.
It’ll meet your expectations

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank rpalmaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel, Owner at Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Rpalmaq,

First, I would like to thank you for visiting Puerto Viejo and staying with us profusely.
I’m delighted to learn about your outstanding experience at Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel.

Reading such positive reviews like yours is indeed one of the best moments of our daily jobs.
We have committed to providing premier service and facilities for our guests.

Your feedback is much appreciated and ensures that we are indeed on the right path.

We will always be ready to welcome you at Le Cameleon,

Warm regards,

Jorge Fernandez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2020

We were so excited for our stay at Le Cameleon, but were extremely disappointed. This was the most expensive hotel we stayed at during our entire time in Costa Rica. At $500 per night, which is a hefty price tag in any part of the world, we thought we would get a truly luxurious experience. It was not. Our room was more like a motel room than a hotel room. The walls were paper thin. We could hear people talking outside, our neighbors flushing their toilets, alarm clocks in the neighboring rooms, the people upstairs moving furniture. The room was outdated and just not what you expect for the price tag. Having traveled throughout Costa Rica, we knew what we could get for this price point, and Le Cameleon simply did not deliver. For example, we stayed at the Umami Hotel in Puerto Viejo, in a huge and gorgeous super modern and stylish suite, for a third of the price of Le Cameleon! And we stayed at the super lux Makanda in Manuel Antonio paying less for a suite than we did at Le Cameleon for a “deluxe” room, which had nothing “deluxe” about it.

To make matters worse, they denied us service at the restaurant, even though we were hotel guests (again, paying $500 per night) because they had two large tables and the kitchen was busy (although there were many empty tables). Any good hotel would have accommodated us and offered a drink while we waited- not flat out refused service. We asked for towels at the pool and they told us to walk across the street to reception--not the service you expect for this price point.. It rained while we were there and the pool chairs got really wet. No one came to dry them when the rain stopped (or even the day after), making it impossible for anyone to enjoy the pool—again, not the service you expect for this price point.

To give credit where credit is due, the grounds and the pools are really nice. The breakfast is also good. But that is the extent of it. Save your money and stay elsewhere.

Date of stay: November 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank boricuainzrh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel, Owner at Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Boricuainzrh,

To begin with, and in the name of all Le Cameleon’s staff, I would like to profusely thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Puerto Viejo.

Concerning your review details, we would like to inform you that we have already shared them with the appropriate department. Also, the hotel’s management has already examined your complaint.
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel appreciates feedback and takes it quite seriously.

We are committed to providing our guests with upscale service and facilities.

Our guests’ comments, concerns, and reviews are some of the best tools we have to improve.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Jorge Fernandez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2020

The stay in Le Caméléon was incredible! The room amazed us every day when we re-entered, the food was absolutely fresh and made with love. The staff was always lovely and the programme which has been offered was entertaining: we did yoga with Laura and salsa classes with Klaus! Both of them are wonderful human beings! We will definitely return to this place of serenity! Thank you for everything!
Iris & Manuel

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irisvhwg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel, Owner at Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Iris & Manuel,

Kind regards from Puerto Viejo.
Your positive feedback about our hotel is much appreciated.

Providing top-notch service is our number one priority, so we are pleased to learn that our staff made your stay so pleasant.

We were delighted to have you as our guest and to have satisfied your expectations.

Our team and I look forward to having you back as our guest soon.

Best regards,

Jorge Fernandez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2020

We had an issue with the AC that they over look. But the next day when I raise the complaint the just make our stay even better. They upgrade us and gave us a free dinner. We didn't ask for any upgrade or nothing free but is just amazing how they are committed to make customers happy after a huge fail. We will be back. The Area around the hotel have everything you need

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hugovin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel, Owner at Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Hugovin,

In the name of all Le Cameleon staff, I honestly appreciate your positive feedback about our hotel. We are thankful that you have chosen us for your Puerto Viejo vacation.

We take pride in offering an upscale, detailed-oriented service of excellence for our guests.

I'm delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us, and I thank you again for your high rating.

We look forward to having you again as a guest in our hotel.

Best regards,

Jorge Fernandez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2020

The staff was super nice, hotel was really beautiful and cozy.
Amazing bed
The bar close to the beach is super nice for an afternoon drink , in the lobby the staff advised us about some tourist attractions and more restaurants in the area. Had a great stay

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Adycspds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel, Owner at Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Adstronauta,

To begin with, we truly appreciate that you have chosen Le Cameleon for your stay in Puerto Viejo. We are also grateful for your comments regarding your stay with us.

Providing a service of excellence is our top priority. I will personally deliver your comments to our entire staff. I'm sure they will be delighted to learn how impactful their service was to your overall experience.

In the name of all Le Cameleon, I hope to have you back with us in the future.

Kind regards,

Jorge Fernandez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews