We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Baray Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Baray Villa
Ranked #14 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

Stayed in the Baray Villa a few nights during new years. The villa is incrediblely nice and comfortable. The staff is friendly and the atmosphere at the hotel is lovely. The pool wasn't heated and we had trouble getting hot water in the villa at certain times. It's a bit of a walk to the beach but not to bad. The resturant on site is quite good and breakfast was included in the room cost.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rossinelectric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barayvilla, Manager at The Baray Villa, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
Dear Value Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review us on TripAdvisor. Regarding to your recent stay at The Baray Villa, we are very much appreciated to hear that you have a great time here and also relax at all. We are looking forward to welcome you for your next time in Phuket.

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    377
    69
    17
    7
    3
See reviews for
67
311
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
131 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

In the hustle and bustle of a now very busy Phuket, this place is a haven of beauty and peace and couldn't be rated more highly. We spent a week in Libra, one of the Baray villas over New Year 2012, and just simply didn't want to move - with our own jacuzzi in the villa, own private pool leading on to the main pool reserved for just a few villas, great service from a staff who are so warm and friendly and look after your every need, great food and such fabulous luxurious surroundings, this was a memorable hotel experience (and we have stayed at some of the world's top rated hotels that do not meet Baray for charm and luxury!). Cannot recommend it more highly for any category of discerning traveller looking for something out of the norm. Photos do not do it justice as it is the atmosphere and attention to detail that is just so amazing. On a practical note, there is a shuttle service down to the beach at Kata if you want the beach experience, but it is only about a 10-minute walk. We used a company called Phuket Adventures for our trips to Phi Phi and Phang Na and would highly recommend them also as they leave in fairly small groups of max 20 and took pains to organize the trips to visit beaches and locations when the least number of other tourists were there!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank travellersalways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barayvilla, Manager at The Baray Villa, responded to this review, 10 January 2012
Dear Value Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comment us on TripAdvisor. Regarding to your recent stay with The Baray Villa, we are very much appreciated to hear that you have a wonderful time here with our service and facilities. We hope that we will have a chance to welcome you back soon.

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

We, together with another couple, spent the last week of 2011 here and it was a great way to see out the year. The facility is incredibly well-designed and laid out. The grounds are well maintained and contain many features and sitting areas. It's all very conductive to relaxing and whiling away a few days while treating yourself to some low-key luxury. And that was just what we were looking for.

We had a villa that was a sumptuous two-story unit complete with the amenities we expected and several that we didn't. The private swimming pool access was a bonus and the facility provided many hours of pleasant escape. For those so inclined, the mini-bar was well stocked and reasonably priced.

Still, striking as the facility was, it is the staff that deliver the goods. They all seem to enjoy their work and genuinely care that each guest's needs are met and expectations fulfilled. More importantly, they seem intent on learning how to do their job better. This bodes well for the future as complacency causes good places to go bad more than any other this.

The New Years party was well organized and a treat to attend. The buffet was overwhelming. Aside from that, there were many other activities available and the staff were eager to assist in planning and arranging off-site outings. One "don't miss" is the Thai cooking lesson.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tomnpatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barayvilla, Manager at The Baray Villa, responded to this review, 7 January 2012
Dear Value Guest,

Thank you very much for your candid comment on TripAdvisor. That is our honor to have you with us in The Baray Villa and we are very much appreciated to hear that you had a great time during stay here. We hope that we will have a chance to welcome you back soon !

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
53 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

We stayed in villa 206 (Taurus) for 9 nights over the Christmas period, encouraged by the great reviews. We enjoyed every minute of our stay and were very pleased with our choice. It is certainly a place you can deeply relax and is very romantic!

As many have said, the villas are superbly appointed and very spacious for 2 people. There is a lounge area and cloakroom on the ground floor. The upper floor has a huge bed and an open plan bathroom, with large oval tub in the centre of the bathroom area, his & hers sinks and shower. It makes us realise how tiny our house is now we have returned!
But the room is only one part of the experience. We found all of the staff we met so friendly, helpful and kind. There is clearly a special team at work here, and it shows. The moment our taxi pulled up outside the entrance, our bags were collected, we were guided through check-in and then our personal assistant "M" gave us a personal introductory tour of our villa. The special experience began. There is a lovely balance between privacy and great service - by switching on your "do not disturb" sign you can be confident of enjoying time alone, but there is always someone on hand to help, should you need it.

Each villa has a small private deck area (just big enough for 2 loungers), a very small pool area (big enough to take a dip and splash around), and a long pool area shared by just the villas, with a bar. My only criticism would be that there is nowhere within the private area of each villa to sunbathe. Our villa's small private area was surrounded by large tropical plants and totally shaded, and it was while sitting here that I was bitten by mozzies (I managed to avoid it the rest of the time in Thailand). Only villa 214 (North Star) seemed to offer a sunny deck area, but that was not private, as it was by the shared waterfall area. It was possible to sunbathe by the resort's nice main pool area, or on the beach, which we enjoyed.

This accommodation is very expensive by general Thai standards, but we do feel the experience fully justified the cost. Our package (booked direct with the hotel) included an option of 2.5hrs in the hotel's spa, including treatments, or a Thai set meal with wine in the hotel's restaurant. The spa was an incredibly relaxing experience, fully recommended!

We stayed at Baray fully knowing what to expect - a compact resort set back from the coast. I can understand people may be disappointed if they expected direct beach access and a sea view, or a large sprawling resort with full facilities (gym etc.) If those things are important to you, you need to look elsewhere, but you would miss a real gem.

Kata Beach has changed a lot over the years since I was last here - what was once a quiet road between Kata Beach and Kata/Karon is now fully developed with hotels, bars and souvenir shops. Everything shuts down by midnight and the absence of after-hours clubs mean the resort still has a nice family feel - mainly couples and young families - no rowdy groups - and the beach is still wonderful. There was no trouble finding a sunbed on the beach even at this very busiest time of year.

Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank John_in_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barayvilla, Manager at The Baray Villa, responded to this review, 9 January 2012
Dear Value Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review us on TripAdvisor. On behalf of our staff, that would be most appreciated to hear that you enjoy staying with us and our room, facilities and service, all make you satisfy. Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your accommodation and we are looking forward to welcome you back soon !

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuket, Phuket, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

I'm greatly impress with this hotel , I love this atmosphere just like time you are in another place not Phuket. I and my husband rest garden deluxe room and looking foward next time to rest in villa if I have more time I dont miss it

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Korrapin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
1.3 km away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#3 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
0.8 km away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
1.1 km away
Nook Dee Boutique Resort by Andacura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
The Boathouse Phuket
The Boathouse Phuket
#5 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
0.0 km away
Sawasdee Village
Sawasdee Village
#7 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,290 reviews
1.6 km away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Baray Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Baray Villa

Property: The Baray Villa
Address: 38 KateKwan Rd | Kata Beach, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#13 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Hotel Class:4 star — The Baray Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Art Resort in Phuket, Thailand… a Treasury of Exotic Thai Art & Culture… with the Senses of Peace and Healing. Art of Life… To fulfill the senses of living with the 1st Triple Pool Access Villa in Phuket, Thailand. The 14 Luxury Villas has the spacious space with luxurious design and the exclusive services of your personal assistant staff to customized all desires.We assured to heal your holidays in the peace of life with our Thai hospitality service. The awards from Tourism Authority of Thailand and TripAdvisor can guarantee your total experiences at our resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your The Baray Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Baray Villa Hotel Kata Beach
The Baray Villa Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing