We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cancelled reservation and they stole my money!”

Villa Via - Midrand
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Via - Midrand
Ranked #202 of 225 Hotels in Greater Johannesburg
Reviewed 24 September 2015

I cancelled my reservation way in advance for which I am supposedly entitled a full refund. However, they haven't refund my money nor have they replied to my emails or those from Expedia which is where I booked this hotel.
Stay away from this place people, they are plain thieves!

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank PepeCortisona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (14)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2015

My colleague and I were booked there for four nights..upon arrival the place looked old and untidy from the gate to the yard with old dirty flags. The place smells terrible and the rooms are a shocker , my bathroom door had a chain attached to assist with closing and opening and my bathroom window couldn't close properly. The beds were a nightmare with old looking furniture. My room was not properly cleaned and there was no water and I was told there was nothing they could do. We eventually went for breakfast and that was the worst of all, there was no eggs, bacon , sausages ( claiming to serve a continental breakfast which is a blatant lie) the yoghurt tasted old and the coffee was served with lukewarm water. I really think the placed should be visited by inspectors and closed down , it doesn't deserve the 3star grading , its a total disaster of a place I will NEVER go there again and will strongly advise people to not go there ever.

Room Tip: Don't go there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Nomsa1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We will process your refund immediately after you cancel, and you should see a credit on your billing statement within 30 days or less of cancelling your booking, or on your next billing cycle. If you do not see the credit after 30 days, call our customer service team.
Whilst the above is listed on www.securehotelsreservations.com, a booking site for the Hotel, there policy is: We are aware of your booking and the cancellation, yes we took the payment from your credit card .The reason was to secure your booking. Unfortunately you will get the refund after two weeks of your departure date. Its a hotel policy. I have been waiting for my refund which according to hotel policy should have been paid out on the 7th February and it is now 11th March, they do not answer E mails or the phone

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
3  Thank TomySteele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We had a most horrible time at this hotel. It is dirty, neglected (hasn't seen a layer of paint in years) and it felt like a hostel when we got there. No one assisted us with our luggage and we had to walk up three flights of stairs. The continental breakfast is cereal and milk. They used my colleagues face cloth to clean her bath and used her toilet without flushing it. And to top it all. they changed our rates from what we were quoted and we paid R2400 more in the end. Oh yes, and the DSTV is linked to the one in the reception, so you have to watch whatever they are watching and they channel hop all the time..... Not a nice place!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

I recently stayed at Hotel Villa Via at Midrand while attending an Exhibition and I was thoroughly disappointed. The 3-Star rating is very misleading.

Getting to the hotel itself is a challenge unless you have your own car or you hire a cab. The train station is 10 minutes by bus. The rooms are mediocre and dining options are limited. The Wi-Fi never worked in the rooms, even though the receptionist promised during all 4 days of my stay that the problem will be fixed "tomorrow".

The hotel owners are real nice people but they need to invest more on the property. If I were to visit Midrand again, I would explore other hotel options.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlobeTrotter290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Greater Johannesburg hotels
3.3 km away
SUN1 Midrand
SUN1 Midrand
#3 of 9 in Midrand
30 reviews
1.3 km away
Midrand Conference Centre
3.2 km away
Mercure Johannesburg Midrand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Premier Hotel Midrand
Premier Hotel Midrand
#1 of 9 in Midrand
406 reviews
4.9 km away
The Gallagher Hotel
The Gallagher Hotel
#4 of 9 in Midrand
36 reviews
7.8 km away
AirportInn & Suites Isando
AirportInn & Suites Isando
#35 of 67 in Johannesburg
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Via - Midrand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Via - Midrand

Address: 25 Neerlandia Road | Halfway Gardens, 1686, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #202 of 225 Hotels in Greater Johannesburg
Price Range: €37 - €68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Via - Midrand 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Via Midrand is an accommodation and conference facility that offers personalized service and hospitality to all our guests. Situated in the business district of Midrand and close to Gallagher Estates, Kyalami race circuit, shopping centers, restaurants, banks and in close proximity to the N1 highway, Villa Via Midrand is ideally suited to offer business travelers and conference delegates a peaceful and tranquil environment after a long day at work or attending a conference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Villa Via - Midrand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing