We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (119)
Filter reviews
119 results
Traveller rating
111
4
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
111
4
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews yorkshire dales biscuits toast attention to detail fresh milk old house four poster an evening meal second to none lovely room a real treat large room rural setting wensleydale heifer beautiful place places to visit great breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 119 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2017 via mobile

Thornton lodge is a beautiful home situated between some of the most beautiful places to visit in the dales. The house it's self is kept very well, grand... yet clean and cosy. On arriving at the house, we were welcomed by Vanessa (the lady of the house, come cook, cleaner, tour guide and general fairy godmother)! A very warm welcoming, as if being invited into her home (which it is), we asked to book in early on our day of arrival as we were travelling straight from taking our daughter to school... just convenient to us. Vanessa kindly arranged for our room to be ready early, no corners cut! My partner and I have stayed in many places that have high ratings, but never have we experienced the attention to detail that we have found here, from lip balm and eye cream (the white company), on the dresser, to the welcoming and helpful conversation from Vanessa her self. I could not recommend anywhere better, in a more beautiful place, to stay! Amazing, beautiful and just gorgeous.... and that's just the hostess!!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Polly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vanessa k, Owner at Thornton Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2017

Hi Polly.
What a lovely write up, thank you so much. It was great to meet you, I really do wish you all the best with the upcoming house move. I do think if people read this they might think I bribed you to be so nice (which of course I didn't)- although to be likened to a fairy godmother is probably worth it! I had a lovely weekend with my guests, which is a real blessing given the weather was a bit rotten so thank you for being such a pleasure to host for.
kind regards,
Vanessa x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2017

We stayed at Thornton Lodge for 2 nights - 1st & 2nd June. Our host, Vanessa, greeted us as soon as we parked up. She is warm and very welcoming and a mine of information for your visit. Nothing is too much trouble. The room was extremely spacious and very clean. We brought our own tea/coffee/milk, expecting the usual meagre supplies, but were pleasantly surprised to find that Vanessa supplied more than we needed, including biscuits, scones, sweets, small bottles of wine and all at no extra cost. Breakfast was excellent. Exceptional value for money. We can't thank Vanessa enough for making our stay at Thornton Lodge a very memorable experience. We will definitely be returning and catching up with Vanessa again.

Stayed: June 2017
Thank graham442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vanessa k, Owner at Thornton Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2017

thank you so much. it was a real treat to meet you. I'm so glad our paths crossed and that they hopefully will again from time to time. x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for a few days,beautifully decorated and very clean.Breakfast was lovely and Vanessa was always on hand to accommodate any specific requirements.Vanessa was very knowledgeable about where to go and places to eat, excellent service and a beautiful place to stay. Regards Shirley and Dave

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Shirley I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vanessa k, Owner at Thornton Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2017

thank you so much, it was lovely to meet you both and I hope i'll get to see you again some time. People stick in my mind for all sorts of nice reasons and yours will definitely be the story behind your adventure walking to Muker from Askrigg. x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2016

A truly special place to stay, away from all the 'hub bub' down a quiet road, set amongst beautiful old trees. We needed a break after having moved home and we surely got that and more. Great personally cooked breakfasts, comfortable bed and our bedroom was the ground floor suite, could not have asked for more. We can recommend this B&B as a special retreat.

Room Tip: Ground floor suite
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vanessa k, Owner at Thornton Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2016

Thank you so much for your kind words. It was lovely to meet you both and I'm so pleased the house was just what you were looking for in order to recharge your batteries.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2016

once in a while a special person or place comes into your life when you least expect it and this is true on both accounts. I arranged a last minute surprise getaway for my partners birthday and after reading excellent reviews for Thornton Lodge decided to stay there. What a beautiful experience from the moment the lovely Vanessa came down the steps of her magnificent home to greet us to our emotional goodbyes at the end of our stay. Nothing was ever too much trouble to our host and she certainly caters for your every need especially when she sets you up for the start of your day with a tasty hearty breakfast. With a wealth of information on where to visit and eat Vanessa will keep you well informed of places of interest. I just hope the fact that there are no pubs to walk to doesn't put you of this gem of a place because the nearest ones by car are about 2 1/2 to 3 miles which certainly never put us off and it does clearly tell you this in the reviews. The setting of this place is second to none and if you are thinking about or get the opportunity to go to this beautiful place owned by Vanessa and her family then I highly recommend it. Also can I just say Vanessa does everything herself with no help at all, the rooms are so comfortable and cosy and nipping clean. If what you are looking for is a relaxing break in a beautiful setting and a warm hearted welcome then this certainly is the place for you. Wishing Vanessa and her family (and Scout the dog who we had the pleasure of meeting) all the best for the future for welcoming us into their home and letting us share the experience

Stayed: September 2016
Thank Bevboomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vanessa k, Owner at Thornton Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2016

oh, thank you! It made my eyes dewy - it was so wonderful to meet you and felt like I'd known you ages, not just met you. To have you be so enthusiastic about everything and so protective is really lovely. I've finished for the summer now, on a high with another set of truly delightful guests that left this morning. The house isn't for everyone, I've done this too long to be precious about it - I've always done what I do the way I do it to fit around raising my boys and I've tried doing dinners for guests who don't want to drive to the pubs, but with online bookings it's become impossible for me to prep and serve dinner for what was often just 2 guests, whilst waiting for others to arrive, so now it is strictly b&b. It's a gorgeous windy lane we live along, but it is dark to drive down on a night in the winter and that did worry some guests who stayed this week, right at the end of my season - only 1 in the whole year, but it upset me that they were upset with their holiday choice. Your support when I was coping with discovering their issues was really helpful. Anyway, I'm closed until springtime, when the nights are getting longer and my lovely lane isn't scary for people. Spent the afternoon planting 250 bluebell bulbs and hoping the badgers don't dig them up over the winter! hugs to you both x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews