We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (117)
Filter reviews
117 results
Traveller rating
109
4
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
109
4
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbiscuitsyorkshire dalesfour posterbaconattention to detailsecond to nonelovely roomfresh milka real treatlarge roomwensleydale heiferbeautiful placeplaces to visiteasy accesswedding anniversaryselection of cerealsrural setting
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 117 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2016

I arrived from Salisbury to a warm welcome,pot of tea and biscuit.The house is sublime standing in its own grounds it has lovely views of the surrounding countryside and the room was light and airy.Everything worked well,unlike some hotels there was no loud ventilation system or smell of chips from a restaurant! It is friendly, peaceful spacious and very comfortable. HouseKeeping standards are impeccable and Vanessa was very helpful to the residents.The food was lovely sourced from local produce and I received exactly what was ordered with no fuss or expectation. I strongly recommend this accommodation to anyone travelling to Yorkshire as it is close to some fab beauty spots such as Ayesgarth.
This is excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Just look on the web site- I suspect all rooms are as lovely, spacious & bright and clean
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank denizebainbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2016

Many hotels and B&Bs claim they are quiet - this one really is. I rarely slept so well.

Our room was spacious, clean and tastefully decorated. The lounge features large armschairs, books, magazines and a billiard table.

The owner was very helpful and had great ideas for sightseeing in the area. One the arrival day, we were warmly greeted with tea and cookies.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LifeEatTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2015

Our party took over the whole house and Vanessa made everyone extremely welcome, she served a delightful dinner and an excellent English breakfast. To top it all great value. The mobile reception for Vodafone works and there is free Wifi.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MartinMcMillan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2015

We stayed for two nights in the kingsize room 7 -fantastic views and the most comfortable bed ever! Vanessa was the perfect host - she has great knowledge of the local area and provides a wonderful breakfast in a very relaxed atmosphere.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MrP_MrsMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2015

We were 3 couples looking for somewhere special for a short break in the Yorkshire Dales. We stayed here on the 14th August, I stumbled across Thornton Lodge on a random internet search and how lucky were we. Venessa was really accomodating from the first telephone call, recommending the impressive Wensleydale Heifer and allocating us 3 lovely rooms for a one night stay. The house is fantastic, the rooms incredible and great value. There is a really nice lounge where we were allowed to consume our own drinks ( Fridge and glasses provided). The breakfast is as good as you would expect in a 5 star hotel. Would definitely stay here again, lovely host and beautiful accomodation. Thank you for posting my jumper back to me Vanessa.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Yorkietours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews