We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$100
US$85
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$114
US$98
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$120/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Village Inn(Utorda)(Great Value!)
US$44
US$37
Priceline
View Deal
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (1,180)
Filter reviews
1,180 results
Traveller rating
532
366
150
53
79
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
532
366
150
53
79
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplunge poolcosmos restaurantsuite roomchess boardkids play areaexcellent stayhousekeeping staffnice propertybreakfast spreadhouse keepingfront officeneeds improvementwater sportspleasant staynice poolcheck in was smoothseafood
Filter
Updating list...
1,101 - 1,106 of 1,180 reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2010

It is a magnificent hotel.any person who wants to stay here in Goa must accomodate in this hotel.It is very near the beach,cool and clean.The staff are very friendly and they work as hard as they as they can only for our sake.The room service is the best I ever saw.And the rooms look beautiful.You feel as if you are living in your own house

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rudresh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VCSoares, General Manager at Royal Orchid Beach Resort & Spa, Goa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2012

Thank you for your nice comment. Do hope to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2010

After a month’s research, we selected this resort amongst the best 30 we had chosen in Goa for ourselves. We were a group of girls and we chose this resort because it was decently priced, was a good 4 star property as per the website and had a private beach. We still were very apprehensive because we knew to sell and market; people may show anything and everything on their websites or promotions. So the day came when we reached there and we weren’t disappointed. The property is indeed beautiful. Here are some of the plus points of the resort:
• Neat, clean and beautiful property.
• Very courteous staff.
• Good food ( we tried a very expensive buffet at the nearby resort , Kenilworth, which was nowhere close to the good and variety of food at Royal Orchid. Plus the rates at Kenilworth are over priced)
• Neat and clean pool, with a bar inside the pool.
• Since we were 3 girls staying in one room, and our trips to the beach and back were rather frequent, the room used to get dirtier, and to our happiness and surprise, no matter how many times we ask the staff to clean the room, they would do that with a smile.
• There is a small liquor shop right outside the resort.
• A small market and a garment shop is within walking distance.( a km to be precise, if you are up for a walk)
• The resort has a good spa too( you might want to check out the spa at Shalom’s resort. The only good part about that resort is the color of the building and the Spa. Well, food is nice too. But the location of the property and the property itself is not worth the money to spend on staying.)
• The resort has almost a private beach, which is neat, clean, peaceful, with not much of crowd. Lifeguards are there all the time which makes it feel safe for a woman like me who likes to spend time alone walking on the beach.
• You can get a car hired at Rs 1100-1500 per day, if you want to visit North Goa or places around. We hired a self driven car for 2 days and visited almost every place in Goa.
The drawbacks of staying in this resort:
• There would be no night life, but that’s may be because we visited in offseason or because of the location. South Goa is supposed to be quieter. So if you are looking for quiet, peaceful, serene vacation. This is the place. You can visit North Goa or around if you want to party and come back to the resort, the way we did. The resort itself doesn’t have a disc, but the nearby resort, Kenilworth has.
• Food is good, decently priced. A little less variety at times( may be because we stayed for a week and exhausted all the varieties available)
• There was this one incident where at midnight someone made an obscene call in the room and the reception people were not able to trace the call and were not able to give any rational explanation. When we demanded to speak to the manager, the manager did call us back even at that time of the night and ensured there is nothing to be worried about, and explained the reason they are not able to trace the call. He ensured that this is not repeated and all calls going forward to our room will be traced.

All and all, a wonderful experience, which made us extend our stay from initial 4 Nights to 6 nights.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kappuccino22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VCSoares, General Manager at Royal Orchid Beach Resort & Spa, Goa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2012

A pleasure to read such a detailed report on the resort. We must keep you informed, we have gone an extra mile to make your next stay even more amazing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2010

A good hotel and the most remarkable feature is the hotel staff. I could distinctly remember the incidence when the chef of the hotel himself came and asked us for the quality of service and suggested us few of his delicacies.
A nice place to stay with a beach nearby and there a lot of stuff to do in goa.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abhi11Pune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VCSoares, General Manager at Royal Orchid Beach Resort & Spa, Goa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2012

Please do take time to stay with us again. We have made a lot of efforts to serve you even better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2010

We stayed at Royal Orchid Resort Galaxy from 5th to 7th November. The hotel was disappointing for us. The main reasons for our disappointment were:
1. We paid around 6000 INR per night for the hotel. It is described as a four star resort. However, the entrance or the lobby area is pretty small. It lacks the nice lobbies and and well decorated front facades of other 4 or 5 star resorts. In fact, to me it looked pretty average.
2. The pool is again run-of-the-mill. It's small for a 4-star resort and there is nothing that distinguishes the pool of a 2000 INR per night hotel from this one. There is a minibar in the bar, but that looks rather claustrophobic. OVerall, an average pool area.
3. The rooms were small. For a 4-star resort, the rooms are very small. The bed area measured 14feet X 10feet. There was a king size bed in there along with bed side tables and a writing table and chair. So we were largely left with channels around the bed. Also the rooom lacked some basic necessities. There was no mirror. The only mirror was in the bathroom. There was no wall clock.
4. The housekeeping service is terrible. To get the room cleaned, we had to wait for 3 hours on each day and they only cleaned the room when I had to shout on the phone. We had opted for late check-out and was paying extra for that. But the housekeeping staff bluntly stated that since we are checking out, our room cleaning is low priority for them.
5. The hotel lacks a vista point. Typically, for all sea-side hotels, you generally have a point where you can sit on a sun-bed and relax. Royal Orchid had no such point. From the place where they place the sub-beds, you cannot get any view of the sea because the adjoining land is elevated and you sit in some form of a hole.
6. We had complimentary breakfast. On our first day, the bacons that they cooked were extremely salty. When I asked their restaurant staff about that, they simply said that bacons are salty. We had nothing apart from breakfast at Royal Orchid.
7. When we were returning, the hotel staff at the front office promptly forgot to give us the bill. Also they were trying to convince us to use a royal orchid cab by telling us wrong taxi fares. I have never seen a hotel guy lying about taxi fares when the taxis are standing next to the hotel and people can easily verify their claims.
8. They were charing internet access at Rs. 100 per hour. I expected internet access to be free, which it generally is in 4-star resorts, specifically since they are also boasting of a business center.

There were a few plus-es for the hotel as well.
1. The TV in the room was nice. They had a Sony Bravia in our room.
2. Apart from the salty bacons, the rest of the breakfast was good.
3. They had a nicely stuffed minibar.
4. The hotel is right on the Utorda beach. So access to sea was easy.
5. The gym was nice.
6. The lawns of the hotel are nicely decorated at night with lights.

There is a Kenilworth resort adjacent to this. Kenilworth is a much better resort compared to Royal Orchid. It was superior lobbies, an excellent pool area. Overall the total area is also much larger with basketball courts and lush green lawns. Both of them have the same prices on internet which makes us wonder how over-priced Royal Orchid really is. Overally, if you want to stay at Utorda beach, Kenilworth is the best hotel there (I think there is a nearby Hyatt resort, but I'm not sure). Royal Orchid is pretty lacklustre from a valur for money perspective. The look and feel is of a normal resort which they market as a 4-star resort. I would not stay at any Royal Orchid resort again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
3  Thank avijit_dey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VCSoares, General Manager at Royal Orchid Beach Resort & Spa, Goa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2012

Sorry of your unpleasant stay. Assure you this is not the case now. The hotel has seen a good bit of change. Do get in touch for more details.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2010

by entering the hotel and it's small lobby our first impressions were good. The Orchid hotel belongs to an Indian chain with presently 13hotels across India. we booked a package deal with breakfast, lunch and dinner included. we went for lunch right away because the room was not ready yet. To mention it upfront: the (mainly indian-) food was excellent, but it's presentation and european/american content could be improved, not knowing the hotels target group. After a short while we were assigned and upgraded to a royal suite with plunge pool. the suite itself was very good with 2 lcd flat screen tv's a (cheap) minibar and a sleeping room with a king size bed. the bed had a rather hard mattress, which I liked. By a sliding door the room connects to a small terrace with table and two chairs, the plunge pool and two deckchairs under untended vegetation. I sincerely wonder if and how often the water quality of the plunge- and main pool(s) are checked. We never saw anybody doing it. the room pros: mosquito coil available. cons: large and plenty mildew stains on one of the bedroom walls, open and accessible maintenance door at plunge pool, "walk out" in room safe, flooded room after shower, occasional nasty sewage smell. I assume that all this may be of minor concern for some eastern european customers (if this is the target group?!). The staff were kind and friendly, especially Safira, who I guess was born with a big smile on her face. The best part of the hotel is its proximity to a beautiful beach, which by the way is definitely not private. The nearest beach shack is fine and offers beach chairs free of charge if one takes a drink or so once in a while yet not compulsory. soft drink rs.40 large beer rs.80. How about this pitch and put golf course? Is this a joke? Why are the little fountain pools between lobby and main pool empty and kind of run down? Overall I tend to give this place 3points, but due to its small size, cozy and friendly appearance a 3+ . Lots of attention required not to let this place run down fast.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank griswolds09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VCSoares, General Manager at Royal Orchid Beach Resort & Spa, Goa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2012

Nice to read your comments....Thank it helps us go a long way. Do visit us again & experience the change.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews