We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Orchid Beach Resort & Spa, Goa
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Utorda
Reviewed 21 August 2012

A good resort at south Goa with all facilities. We stayed in the Suite room with plunge pool and had a great experience. The resort is pretty old and this shows up at many places, need a good renovation. Most of the staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nirmaltv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VCSoares, General Manager at Royal Orchid Beach Resort & Spa, Goa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2012

Please do visit us again.....Thanks a ton for remembering us....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (926)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

739 - 743 of 928 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2012

We booked 2 rooms in Royal Orchid (refered as RO here on) for 4 days. Our stay in RO was awsome, initialy there were isues with the room where the AC and the refirgirator was not working. But the rooms were changed. RO was also kind to upgrade one of our rooms.

Special thanks for Joseph and Amit to take special care of us during the lunch. They aranged special dishes for us on our request.

All in all it was a awsome stay that we have in RO. Would recommend people this hotel.

Also, the beach was peacefull and pleasent and not over crowded like other famous beaches in north goa.

Suggestion to RO is to take little care on the maintainence as there are issues here and there in the rooms, like the room 109 was not having AC and Fridge working, we were moved to Rom 305 where the Shower tap was not fixed, it used to fall every time you try to open it.

Attached are the pics for the 15 au celebrations in RO

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kuldeep K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VCSoares, General Manager at Royal Orchid Beach Resort & Spa, Goa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2012

Thank you for your comments & suggestions....We appreciate your time & effort to put this across.
Surely we shall try to make each stay better & better. Looking to serve you again. Have a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

I had stayed with my wife to celebrate my wife's birthday. There was some disconnect between the reservations dept and staff at the hotel, once we checked in.
1. We had booked the Royal Suite with a plunge pool and were really looking forward to using it. However, on arrival to our room we found out that the jacuzzi in the pool was not working. When we requested that the room be changed we were informed that the other rooms had either the same problem or were occupied. I had to keep following up with the staff to repair the same. Fortunately, it was done, but not upto the standards. The pool jacuzzi was also not clean. we discovered a strong bleach-like smell emanating from the pool (NOT Chlorine, I know the difference) and a large number of insects which were using the pool as a suicide point.
2. You'd expect the plunge pool to be a private area and your room not be accessible from that end but it is not so. The next afternoon we were lazing around in the room and my husband was changing when all of a sudden a hotel employee turned up near the pool and switched the jacuzzi on. We were astonished at the lack of privacy and totally paranoid about the safety of our belongings. C'mon you cant do this.
3. We were on an all meals plan which we thought would suit us but when we turned up for our dinner, we saw that the meal consisted of mostly North Indian and the token Chinese food. No seafood or local dishes were present. Now, we really don't like to crib about food but, honestly, who wants to have ghar ka rajma chawal on a holiday? We had the same horrible mango ice cream for all meals. However, on our last night there they did up the tempo and served the food on the lawns with 1-2 live dishes (mango ice cream made an appearance here as well), but by then the damage was done.
4. Dinner entertainment was ghazals and Rajasthani folk dance.. Really? No culture in Goa to display? What about the lovely songs and dances of Goa? If I wanted ghazals I'd attend a concert and for Rajasthani folk dance I'd go to Rajasthan, not Goa.
5. We didn't receive the complimentary gift that the reservations dept had told us as per our package.
6. The half day tour that included Panjim city had the driver dumping us in the middle of Panjim city, strategically in front of a cashew shop and saying rather rudely "This is Panjim, come back in 30 mins.". Would've loved to see the church in Panjim or at least Dona Paula, but alas it was not to be.
7. Although, their sea food special resturant closer to the beach was good though having good food and the ambiance was also good ( away from the rooms and lawns and closer to the beach).

It wasn't all bad though.. I really had a great birthday cake and an amazing bouquet of flowers to commemorate it. The approach to the reception is amazing. The room was clean and large. The bathroom was spotless and the water pressure perfect. The staff was really helpful and the jacuzzi problem was fixed promptly. We even had lovely towel animals on our bed after turndown. The beach is spotless and amazing. Only the above problems kind of soured our mood. That and the fact that we felt a little isolated down south, guess it gets better during peak season when you want to have a little peace and quiet from the crazy crowds up north

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rajitdavidson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VCSoares, General Manager at Royal Orchid Beach Resort & Spa, Goa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2012

Thank you for putting your experience across. We have already taken all corrective steps to more loveable height. Hope to be able to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Best Stay(Clean+Calm+good ambiance),Health Food(Veg) and a very Good service.
Awesome beach,only request to hotel management take a effort clean the way toward beach from exit.Otherwise overall stay was much above the expectation

Room Tip: All in one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 10_12AUG2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VCSoares, General Manager at Royal Orchid Beach Resort & Spa, Goa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Do have a great day.....Just the way you made ours. Thank you for your valued comment. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Went to the Royal Orchid hotel for a Round Table AGM weekend. Got to say, the stay was really awesome. The service was incredible and we felt very taken care off. From the front desk to the bell boys, everyone were very courteous and helpful. The food was excellent. The chef took good care of our children with less spicy food. Hats off to the management for running a good show. One thing lacking though, which if the hotel management is reading should take care off is the upkeep of the property. The pool had tiles coming off, the bathroom had one fitting that was quite loose. A Lillte bit of upkeep and the already existing team would make it an awesome place to enjoy a vacation. Highly recommend for Big group events.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank Anjanil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VCSoares, General Manager at Royal Orchid Beach Resort & Spa, Goa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2012

Great to see your comment on board so quickly.....Thank you for your praises & constructive comments. We enjoyed serving you all, specially the kids.....Do hope to have a chance to serve you again....Have great day....Wishes from all at the resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Utorda
16.8 km away
Radisson Blu Resort Goa Cavelossim Beach
39.5 km away
The LaLiT Golf & Spa Resort Goa
0.3 km away
Planet Hollywood Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 km away
Goa Marriott Resort & Spa
12.6 km away
Caravela Beach Resort
18.6 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
#5 of 10 in Cavelossim
1,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Orchid Beach Resort & Spa, Goa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Orchid Beach Resort & Spa, Goa

Address: Uttorda Beach | Salcette, Utorda 403713, India
Region: India > Goa > South Goa District > Utorda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Utorda
Price Range: €87 - €276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Orchid Beach Resort & Spa, Goa 5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 Star Royal Orchid Beach Resort & Spa...... Serene Seashore/Coastline.....Luxurious well maintained lawns......Petit cute gardens.....Water bodies with live Koi fish,lilios,lotus,orchids & anthuriums.....Tempting clear blue pool.....Remember we are on the beach,not at the beach..... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Agoda, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Royal Orchid Beach Resort & Spa, Goa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Orchid Beach Resort & Spa, Goa Hotel Utorda
Royal Orchid Beach Resort And Spa, Goa
Royal Orchid Beach Resort & Spa, Goa Utorda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing