We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveller rating
36
22
7
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
36
22
7
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free shuttle roman ruins about minutes from the airport good size nice hotel breakfast was included pool area the bus palace split bath kuna supermarket terrace
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 71 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2018

No other Split hotel offers you such an opportunity to explore nearby Salona, as this one is located practically at its entrance. Architecturally very successful, it is a welcome addition to touristicaly otherwise underdeveloped Solin. What would be a good idea is that the hotel offers its own shuttle bus to/from Split's central zone - the bus line HNK-Starine, though, does stop here, but the buses are often overcrowded and have no airco

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
Thank 424tarikd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2018

This hotel is alright to stop for a couple of days max on a road trip, or if you plan to visit Split with a car. However, it lacks in many aspects:

-smaller than average room

-no service: restaurant was closed on the day of arrival, room service was "busy" and we left to go look for food although we didn't want to leave the hotel that night. There was one employee that warned us that the restaurant was closed while watching a football game on tv. Funny.

-on the only day (morning) we were going to use the outdoor pool... it was closed to maintenance at 10 am. Nice timing.

-Steam room not working or switched off during our stay.

-breakfast is average, but I can say that it worked for us since we can do with coffee and bread most of the times. Lots of variety but not so much freshness especially in the fruits. I couldn't eat any of it. In one of the days the breakfast room was super busy due to a big group. Only 1 waiter cleaning the tables.

-Low, low, low water pressure killed this hotel for me.

In sum, an average hotel, ok rooms and slept very well I have to say. But too many negatives do not make a plus. Have to give it a 2* although they could and should improve a few simple things to deserve a better rating. I hope they do.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Filipe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salona P, Front Office Manager at Hotel Salona Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Filipe, thank you for your review. We are sorry if this is your opinion and some thing are simply not correct. Every room is bigger then average according to croatian and international standards which can be easily confirmed. Restaurant was never closed since the day we opened the hotel two yearS ago, so either you missed the hotel or you arrived after midnight. The pool maintenace is being held only during the winter so as I told you probably missed the hotel.
Sorry once more but there is not much we can do about it. If you ever decide to come in our hotel we would love to be your host.
Hotel Salona Palace Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights and cannot commend the staff and hotel enough. We arrived early and were planning to leave our bags off but Antonio on reception suggested availing of the lovely outdoor pool and spa area and that our room would be ready at 12 noon. The room had a balcony overlooking the pool and was very modern. Breakfasts and meals in the hotel were all lovely. There is a bus that leaves outside hotel going to Split so hotel is ideal if you want a little luxury outside the busy town. Thanks for a great stay.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
Thank sarahb14031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salona P, Front Office Manager at Hotel Salona Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2018

Dear Sarah, thank you for your nice words! It is our pleasure to see you had a great stay with us. We are always looking how to make you feel relaxed and to please you as much as we can. Thank you once more for your nice description and hope to see you again! Hotel Salona Palace Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018

Myself and my husband had a truly excellent one night stay here.

Upon arrival, the lovely man on reception told us that we had been upgraded free to one of the deluxe rooms, obviously this was a nice surprise.

the hotel is modern and very very clean looking, the room was HUGE! a massive bathroom with shower and a bath and a huge mirror to get ready in, the main bedroom had a seating area and desk with a large tv and bed. the room had a wonderful view of the poor area and a little place to sit outside. I cannot tell you how luxurious it felt. I felt very spoilt for now night.

there is a bus that goes in and out of split. the staff on reception were very helpful with this information and excellent at speaking English, we went to the castle at the top of the hill via tax (which is quite expensive) and then walked around the old roman ruins.

for dinner we decided to stay in the hotel and eat at the restaurant. the food was excellent. The hotel also provided entertainment by booking an acoustic guitar player. he was very good, and overall we were sad we didn't stay for longer.

we decided to get breakfast too, we had a lot to choose from. one of the best iv ever had!

We woud defiantly recommend.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a deluxe and it was beautiful!
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Misknox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salona P, Front Office Manager at Hotel Salona Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Dear Miss Knox, thank you so much for such a nice words! It was trully our pleasure to be your host and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay so much. Our goal is to make you feel luxurious and spoilt you like you did. You have enjoyed every part of our hotel and we do not have to say anything more but to invite you to come again.

Hotel Salona Palace Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2018

The Salona Palace is a fantastic hotel,its setting next to the Roman ruins is perfect and only a short 20-25 minute bus ride away from Split and all its attractions.Our room was very clean and modern with a balcony that gave us a view of the pool area below and Split in the distance.The breakfast in the morning had plenty of options and was well stocked.The indoor and outdoor pools and jacuzzi also very good.The most important thing for me though was the staff,from the ever helpful front desk willing to help out however they can,the waiting staff who were ever friendly and very knowledgable about the food served in the restaurant to the driver who shuttled us around a few times.I would highly recommend staying here

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ChrisMorrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salona P, Front Office Manager at Hotel Salona Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2018

Dear Mr. Morrice,

Thank you so much for your amazing comment!

We are really glad you recognized the friendly environment we do have here and especially our staff who is really attentive and willing to help every guest. Also, we are proud as you explored the area like the locals do!

It would be our pleasure if you decide to come again sometime!

Hotel Salona Palace Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews