We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (24)
Filter reviews
24 results
Traveller rating
11
8
5
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
11
8
5
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 24 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2012

The first time I visited Poza Rica for work I thought I would end up in a hotel that although served its purpose, would simply not be a great deal to talk about. To my surprise I was put up in this little gem. It does not look like much from the outside, just a large slab of a hotel, but the hotel is mean to be enjoyed from the inside. The ventilation is well maintained, as it should be in this area with high heat and humidity. The room are very spacious, very well appointed, spotlessly clean and did I mention SPACIOUS? The bathroom is also well maintained and very large. It is a joy to some back here after a hard day in the heat and dirt. The food is good and the morning buffet is well stocked. The patrons here are mostly workers in the oil industry and the laundry is ready to deal with any kind of dirt and slime picked up in the field - i know, i have used it many times. The staff is pleasant and very helpful at all times. and the internet connection...a joy...

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank graycloudrios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Previouly the Holiday Inn, the Hipico is next to a horse race track that is no longer used. The hotel is large and so are the rooms. The rooms are spotlessly clean, very spacious and excellent quality furnishings with marble floors and hugh walk in shower with complete glass front, NOT the shower in the bath tub type. The HD TV is larger than most hotels I've visited and if you don't speak Spanish there are American TV shows with CNN, FOX news and BBC World News all in English. In fact the only hotel I visited in Poza Rica that offers news channels in English. The restaurant is nice and very clean, the food very local with good choices very cheap prices and very nice friendly young staff of which are all female. In fact in the whole hotel I saw few men staff, nearly all are female. There's a nice cosy bar with a small dance type floor which I imagine is for live bands to play on. The whole atmosphere in this hotel is very friendly and quiet. It seems like the middle class locals like it too as they tend to come here on the weekends for lunches and dinners with family and friends.
None of the staff in this hotel speaks English, except for the head chef. It's quite a way out of town too so if you don't have transport you'll need to get a taxi into town. The Hipico is closer to the airport than other hotels.

Room Tip: Even the rooms at the front looking over the main road don't seem to suffer from traffic noise they are quite well sound proofed.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bibio952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Las habitaciones de los pisos superiores te dan la mejor vista y son muy tranquilas
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews