We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (434)
Filter reviews
434 results
Traveller rating
55
96
111
83
89
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
55
96
111
83
89
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful view of the lake boat tour highlight of our trip rooms are clean swim species dawn fan turquoise yucatan
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 434 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2017

When we first arrived we were taken aback by the incredible views the hotel has to offer. Every single room (I believe) had a lagoon view and this is a real selling point for this hotel. However, the hotel is drastically outdated. The whole hotel really needs an overhaul with some fresh paint and just some modernising. It has so much potential. It has parking, it is very close to cenote azul, a short drive into Bacalar, there are kayaks, you have the gorgeous jetty and they have boat trips you can book at the hotel as well. These are all great positives for the hotel. I think, with a freshen up and some modernising as well as including breakfast in the price of your room, you could have a really great hotel. The staff are all friendly and happy to help and are a credit to the hotel. The pool is very nice and access to the lagoon is a massive plus.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank TheCoopernator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2017 via mobile

Nice view but there's a good reason this place is number nine of nine "hotels" in Bacalar. We were booked for mid May and stayed only one night. The owners don't seem to care about the noise level of their guests after midnight nor basic cleanliness of the rooms or even sheets [which we had to exchange at the front desk due to stains]. The pool was supposed to be quiet after 10 but at 1:00 a.m. the noise was still going on---for another couple of hours. We're not novice tourists and have been several times to Mexico, as well as Asia & Europe- but this motel, (not a hotel by any stretch) was remarkable for its lack of anything resembling a clean, cozy stay, except for its restaurant and a view. Our recommendation: if you want to visit this beautiful area, be sure to wait until you have another motel choice. This place wasn't worth what was charged. If you're not an insomniac, you will be after your stay here. We left the next morning.

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2017 via mobile

This tour covers all the "usual spots" most cover on Laguna Bacalar: swim stop at the Cenote Negro, brief explanations of several other cenotes (depth, location of springs that feed, etc.), long swim stop at the shallow "Fountain of Youth" sands. It's on a motorized pontoon boat rather than a panga, however, so you can ride without a life jacket (I assume because of the sides?). Captains speak limited English, and so you get limited info--but the Spanish language info is far more complete.

Last boat leaves at 3:30...but bear in mind there can be some flex on that (leaving later).

As a jeweler, I must warn you: because of the sulphuric content of the water, sterling silver rings will become oxidized (blackened) in this water. My ring is supposed to be blackened, so I wore it. This is not a permanent condition,so if you do this on accident and don't like the results, any qualified jeweler can return your ring to its natural silver color.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Babs N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2017

Stayed here about ten years ago, wow this place has really gone downhill. Paid $130 a night for a dumpy, outdated room. I will say we did have a great view of the Lake. The room was clean but furnishings were ragged and needed updating. Price should be in the max of $40-50 range as you can get much nicer accommodations in town. Ate dinner at the restaurant twice, was just OK, again better options in town. Do not suggest staying here.

Room tip: don't pay more than $50 bucks
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank temple1120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2017

My group and I hired a boat tour while at the Cenote Azul. We arrived at the hotel and saw a gorgeous view right from the parking lot. We then met the tour person at a small stand outside of the hotel's restaurant. The hotel had a sort-of infinity pool that looked right over the Lagoon, it was an amazing view. The staff seemed very courteous and were certainly focused on their tasks.

Our guide met us downstairs with a pontoon in good condition. Life jackets and water bottles were provided. The lagoon was one of the most beuatiful places I've ever been too. I'd say it rivals the beaches of Tulum, minus the fun waves (and the whole beach vibe). We ended up stopping at a couple of cenotes within the lagoon and had a chance to try out the sulfur-infused mud at the end of the lagoon. It was a trip well worth paying for. We tipped our guide handsomely as he did a fantastic job.

Room tip: Great location and beautiful views
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Service
Thank rod48533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews