We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Not well marked, but enjoy

Turn at the bridge opposite the lake- it is not well marked. It helps to have good walking shoes... read more

Reviewed 5 November 2018
kathtrev101
,
San Francisco, California
A Forrest Walk

The Forrest walk is great no matter what time of the year from the green leaves of spring through... read more

Reviewed 30 October 2018
colinagmorgan
,
Huelgoat, France
Read all 522 reviews
  
Reviews (522)
Filter reviews
522 results
Traveller rating
355
144
19
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
355
144
19
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews huge boulders the river well worth a visit beautiful forest fair bit walking shoes tourist office wonderful walk small children devils grotto long walk crepes small town no matter refreshing beer resistance fighters woods
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 522 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

My hubby and I decided to drive here from our Gite in Langoelan , around an hours drive away and I'm so pleased we did. Stopped off first in the tourist office in town where the charming assistant in perfect English explained where we should start the walk and talked us through the brochure and map she gave us. We chose the long route which was around 5km. Walked through beautiful forest and was truly mesmerised by the huge boulders seemingly randomly scattered around. If you are vaguely claustrophobic the devils hole may feel uncomfortable but worth it. Warning this is not for elderly or anyone who is vaguely infirm. There are slippery sections and part of the short walk is in the dark over an uneven path. Most of the walk however is over flat even terrain. Thoroughly enjoyed our ramble and would definitely recommend this. I took loads of pics , however there are already so many posted it seems silly to add more of the same

Date of experience: September 2017
1  Thank TraceyStark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017

If ever your in the need of a good long walk with some interesting twists you won't be disappointed at the Foret de Hiegoat, it's great for kids to explore and you can walk through the Devils grotto and round the first for hours then back into Huelgoat for a refreshing beer, hot coffe and crepes or a great meal in the town, so well worth a visit anytime of year

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank veer53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017 via mobile

I'm glad we came, the forest is very beautiful and natural.
But I'd prefer to be there without so many other people.
We had fun moving the trembling stone

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank FellowTraveler727502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile

As mentioned in the title, we drove 50km both ways to come here. We were so disappointed as we expected a forest, big and a bit fairy. Yes it is nice to see but small and more for kids (they were plenty of them and they seem to have fun).

If you stay close, why not having a look, if not, go somewhere else.

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank SigiL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017

My husband and I enjoyed a delightful couple of hours in this forest, locally famous for being enchanted (or haunted, depending on who you believe). We didn't see any devils or evil spirits, but we did come across a harp--with a collection of the harpist's CDs--set up in the middle of the forest, with a small blanket set up to collect money for buying a CD on the honor system (no harpist in sight). It would have been a wonderful walk even without this delightful surprise.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank JillPro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews