We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A cottage on a farm”
other travellers have booked this property
Luxury fitted kitchen
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Luxury fitted kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Luxury fitted kitchen
Spacious open plan living area
Downstairs WC
Master bedroom
Master Bathroom
Second bedroom
Second bedroom
Second bedroom
Ensuite shower-room
Outside dining area and BBQ
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Hillsborough, County Down, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Barry P
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A cottage on a farm”
Reviewed 3 November 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed in this cottage for a fortnight in September. This is an ideal location to visit the many places of interest around Northern Ireland. The cottage is well maintained and welcoming. The owners live near by and could not be more helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property made a very restful holiday.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane871
Belfast
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Top notch holiday get away!”
Reviewed 25 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

My family (husband, daughter, son-in-law, 4 year old grandson and myself), stayed in one of Oatlands self catering cottages, The Mill, for a week in August this year and had a really wonderful week there. The cottage was warm, spacious and yet cosy, spotlessly clean and really well equipped - the whole house is exceptionally well presented and tastefully decorated and furnished! The beds were extremely comfortable and the bedding just perfect. The cottages are well situated for going almost anywhere in Northern Ireland or beyond - 15 minutes from Belfast, close to the M1 motorway for anyone wanting to go west, and just off the A1 arterial route from Belfast to Dublin. When we arrived the fridge and cupboards had been stocked with everything we needed to settle in. The owners went out of their way to ensure we had a good stay, and the highlight of the week for our grandson was the tour of the farm on the last morning! We enjoyed our stay so much we have already booked a return visit in December! I don't think there can be any other better recommendation than that!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experience?
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoffj664
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely tranquil location”
Reviewed 23 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Stayed here for a week when mixing a family visit with a holiday in Northern Ireland. The property is in a very quite rural location, but is only five minutes from the main road to Belfast and the lovely little town of Hillsborough. The quality of the accommodation is top notch, with spacious rooms, well equipped kitchen and on suite bathrooms. The owners are friendly and helpful and the house has all mod cons. Would definitely use this property again and would recommend it to friends and family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen M
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Wonderful restful holiday cottage, excellently presented”
Reviewed 20 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

This is a real gem and a complete home from home. Extremely well presented, welcome pack on arrival, and really friendly owners. The area is great for walkers, we had our two dogs with us and the facilities for them were excellent. The cottages are located close to Hillsborough which is a beautiful small town with a number of great eating places. Only 20 minutes to Belfast by car, and a great shopping experience can be had just outside Lisburn. Give yourself a treat and book at Oatlands Self catering lets, we will certainly be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the standard of the accommodation and the location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeronHols
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay!!”
Reviewed 16 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a fantastic stay here. It's beautifully finished, well equipped and immaculately clean. An absolutely ideal place for families who do not wish to squeeze themselves into a tiny hotel room, we had plenty of space for myself my husband and our 3 little boys. It's convenient by car to Sprucefield, Hillsborough Village, Lisburn, Belfast City Centre and The Outlets at Banbridge along with various other points of interest. Stewart is a most friendly, welcoming host and we felt very comfortable and at home here. I would highly recommend it and would definitely return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing