We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Irish perfection”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of No.33 Coach House

Open turf fire in lounge with bookshelves full of history. All turf provided free during your stay
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Open turf fire in lounge with bookshelves full of history. All turf provided free during your stay
The old scullery with a modern washing machine of course Breakfast with vintage  china tea-sets
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
Open turf fire in lounge with bookshelves full of history. All turf provided free during your stay
The old scullery with a modern washing machine of course
Breakfast with vintage  china tea-sets
Country flowers in courtyard
Twin bed room
Courtyard gateway out onto Main Street
King size bed . Luxurious linens
Twin bedroom . Antique beds and dresser. Views onto Main Street
Private courtyard
Front door onto Main Street
Large antique  cast iron bath tub with thermostat shower over head
Aga range and antique kitchen table.
Antique furniture and vintage books for quiet nights at the open fire
Courtyard with gateway leading onto Main Street Hillsborough
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Hillsborough, County Down, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Flidley
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Irish perfection”
Reviewed 1 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This place is so good I'm not sure where to start.

We found The Coach House online when we were searching for somewhere to stay when visiting Northern Ireland for a family wedding. We are originally from the area but live in Australia.

We contacted Lorna via the email address on the website and she replied overnight to confirm that she had availability. We booked for 10 nights and Lorna was so easy going that she didn't even take a deposit.

When we arrived, Lorna was waiting at the front door to show us the best places to park the car (Hillsborough can be tricky). We found out later that Prince Charles and Camilla were staying next door in Hillsborough Castle for a few nights and so security (and parking) would be tight until they left. We didn't mind at all, you can always find a spot close by, even if you have to go to the local park, or pay for a few hours at the car park.

When we arrived Lorna took our cases and refused any help and then took us on a tour of the beautiful Coach House and showed us how to use all the facilities.

It was a really nice touch to have a hamper, literally overflowing with local produce, my husband couldn't wait to tear open the Potato bread!!

Staying at The Coach House is like stepping back in time, with added comfort. You cook on an aga, but still have the mod cons like dishwasher and washing machine (with detergent provided). I really enjoyed using the aga and wish we could get one in Aus.

The location is fantastic, close to the beautiful Hillsborough Forest Park, which we ran around 5 times during our stay, plus 2 great local pubs and a pretty good restaurant.

I had my father over for dinner for a night and when he seen the place he said people would pay to have a tour of the place, just for the experience.

If you don't stay here, you're seriously missing out. Even if you're a local, you could book during the oyster festival and save money on a taxi home! :-)

Thanks Lorna!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2016
Well what I could I ever say about a review like that. Brilliant. A huge thank you to you both for staying in the Coach House and enjoying the house and it's surroundings. Thank you again. Best wishes. Lorna
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robrad82
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic, A Little Gem :)”
Reviewed 26 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
2
people found this review helpful

An absolutely fantastic house, beautifully done throughout, was a real pleasure and a joy to have stayed at No33, my wife and I will most certainly be back in the near future, and thanks to Lorna for the very warm welcome :)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Feb 2017
It was so nice to welcome you both to no33. Coach House. Thank you for your lovely review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colm12e
1 review
“We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at no.33 coach house.”
Reviewed 31 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Every detail and thought that was put into this house is so sweet and completely in keeping with the feel of a period cottage. We were so comfortable and cosy and Lorna was so lovely and accommodating. Hillsborough itself is a really beautiful town, quaint and self contained. Had a lovely relaxed stay and would highly recommend no.33 coach house.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2014
It was a pleasure to have you and your family as guests of the Coach House. Thank you once again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSU
Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Romantic Get Away”
Reviewed 3 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I booked the Coach House for my wife's birthday. She loves everything with an old world character and Downton-esque. We stayed here between the 28/02 and 02/03. It was exactly as expected. The restoration has been very sympathetic to the time. It's like stepping back in time. Hillsborough village is also lovely - lots of nice walks, bars and restaurants. Finally, I can't say enough about Lorna, the owner of The Coach House. She is so helpful and welcoming. She couldn't do enough to make our stay an enjoyable one. From organising flowers and bubbly for my wife's birthday to a warm turf fire on arrival - fab! Gentleman, if you are looking for a romantic weekend away for your partner - this is the place! Five stars!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The attention to detail in the restoration
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Feb 2017
It was such a pleasure to have you as guests in no33 Coach House. Thank you for your kind review.
Lorna
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
835Cathy
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Absolutely stunning property, perfect weekend away!!”
Reviewed 4 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Oh my goodness, my friends and I stayed here for the weekend and it was amazing. The building is amazing and the decor is stunning! Felt like we had been transported back in time. The whole house was really warm and the aga in the kitchen was fabulous. We sat by the fire the whole night and it was just perfect. Beds were very comfortable. We can't wait to go back!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Feb 2017
What a super review. Thank you so much for staying at no33 Coach House
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$162
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing