We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food”

Le Reduit Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Takamaka
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$28
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Small creole restaurant run by Seychellois family with an entirely creole straff. We are situated on the slope of a hill surrounded by lust-green vegation. The view looks down to the Takamaka beach. Our speciality are fresh fish and fuit bat. We welcome visitors for both lunch and dinner.
Reviewed 22 September 2018

Restaurant near Anse Intendance and Takamaka in Mahe. You have some signs showing you the way towards the restaurant but at some point there are no more road signs and you have to guess which direction to go.
Very good food and drinks. The service a bit slow but they do provide you with some snaks while waiting.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank crinaliana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2018

The Restaurant Le Reduit is a nice and original one situated in the middle of the forest surrounded by exhilarating vegetation. It’s therefore a restaurant located in a sort of a paradise. The day light coming in through the large windows when they are wide open makes the customers happy thus enjoying a bright and gay atmosphere. It's paradoxically cozy thanks to the scant decoration.
I went there on the occasion of an excursion around the Island of Mahé, as a part of it. We ate some typical Créole food very well cooked and tasty.
Everything was perfect until the music machine was switched on. From that moment onwards I felt like fleeing away. It was so,loud and the music so nasty that our repast was completely spoiled. The people sitting at the same table couldn’t even make themselves understood when talking to each other so I decided to keep silent for the rest of the lunch. The alternative would have been to yell all the time to go on holding a dialogue. It’s a pity since otherwise, without that noise pollution, that place would be quite confortable and good and thus a recommendable one.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank periandro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lereduit, General Manager at Le Reduit Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear periandro,
Warm greeting from the Le Reduit team and a big thank you for reviewing us.
We appreciate your comment.
First, I would like to thank you for your just and fair comment about the food and the location of the restaurant.
I will also agree with you about the music. (Second such comment about music in a space of 2 weeks,)
But, let me assure you it is a matter of choices.
1- Some clients want the music STOP altogether just to listen to the sound of nature.
2- Some claimed it is too DULL with no ambiance.
3- Some suggested the music is too LOURD.
4- Some claimed the music is to SOFT
5- Some have NO opinion at all.
6- I'm LOST.
What I believe also provoked your comment was that you were in a large group (Mason's) and it was difficult to satisfy all of you.
Believe me most of the time we abide to the client reguest in that respect when asked and whenever it is possible.
Please accept our apology.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2018 via mobile

We ate here randomly on the way back to our accomodation from a drive round the island.
We had Pork chop with rice and the fried fish and chips , both were very tasty, well cooked and good portions.
Service was good too, the waitress was really nice! All in all with two beers and a bottle of water it was 40 euros which we didn’t feel was too bad at all!

Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lereduit, General Manager at Le Reduit Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Adam C,
A very big hallo to you and a bigger thank you for your posittive and just review about Le Reduit.
Nice food and pleasasnt service are what we aimed at Le Reduit and we are more than satisfied that we have pleased
you on both counts.
We always want our guests to be satisfied and we do our very best to meet their expections.
We are glad we did that for you.
Once again many thank and hope to see you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

We returned to this restaurant in March 2018 having eaten here many years ago. The standard of food and the venue has dropped considerably. Previously, the views from the dining area were amazing, but now, they have allowed the vegetation to get so overgrown that there is not much to look at.
The upkeep of the restaurant leaves a lot to be desired with fans just hanging on their electrical cables on the walls, exposed wires....
The food was mediocre and poorly seasoned and generally disappointing.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank CapeTownChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lereduit, General Manager at Le Reduit Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear CapeTownChris,
A warm greeting to you from the Le Reduit team.
I would like to thank you for your review for it is an eye openning for us.
Your remarks are most pertinent as you were a returning visitors and your expectations were not met.
We are generally concerned about the food aspect as this is our main business and interest.
Please accept our apology for whatever went wrong on that particular day at Le Reduit and we prayed that
it did not affect your holiday as a whole in Paradise.
Please be assurred that we taken your remarks seriously and will strive to even do better.
Check on us next time you visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018 via mobile

As lovely as it is to be ensconced at a luxury resort, it's also necessary to get a taste of local flavor.

Le Reduit being only 3kms from our hotel and having good reviews, was an easy choice to make.

The homely restaurant is well laid out and the ladies handling floor service greeted us warmly.

We ordered an octopus salad to share, which was very fresh and delicious. For mains, we opted for curry fish and grilled prawns. While the taste of the curry was very good, the dish itself lacked in appetizing visual appeal. The garlic grilled prawns however were STUNNING. The platter consisted of 12 or so large split prawns, shell on, smothered in fresh garlic. We opted for french fries, which were crinkly cut and tasty. The dishes were accompanied by a salad of bread fruit, which mimicked a day old russian potato salad.

The entire meal with beer and Takamaka rum was well under Rs1000, very good value for the expensive island.

Most impressive is the fact that the restaurant is a family run business. The pride and additional care is palpable. Daughter here, sister in law there.
Highly recommended.

Thank Madame_Trey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lereduit, General Manager at Le Reduit Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Madame_Trey,

Warm greeting from Seychelles and the Le Reduit team.
We could not thank you enough for your great review about us.
Nothing needs added for you have said it all.
We are equally very touched that you have spoken passionately about our family.
This is all what Le Reduit is all about.
A Seychellois family welcoming visitors to their home and showing Seychellois hospitality.
We welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Reduit Restaurant also viewed

 
Baie Lazare, Mahe Island
Mahe Island, Seychelles
 

Been to Le Reduit Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing