We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, management, service and location”
Review of Marina Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Marina Apartments
Reviewed 4 September 2014

We had only 7 days at Marina and we feel we had a month long holiday there. Great location between Agios Gordis mountains, with lots of green spaces. The pool was 20 stairs away, clean and managed well by Maria and her husband. She delivers great veggies from her garden, a perfect natural taste. The seat is at 7 minutes and lots of shops on the way. Coming back is a bit of a stretch which makes you even more hungrier for a great Greek dinner. The apartments are smallish but great choice for a holiday at the sea or by the pool. We were surprised to see the kitchen equipped with all that is needed. We will be back. Thank you Marina. Continue the good job. We look forward to seeing you again.
Sebastian & co.

Room Tip: Go high closer to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sebastian I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

The accommodation is basic but great value for money and with your own transport is a great base for seeing the island.

Marina and yia-yia are great hosts who work tirelessly to ensure you have a pleasant stay.

There has also been some serious investment into a swimming pool which in past years has been perfect for relaxing beside. Unfortunately, I would echo Stephane's comments in his review regards to the atmosphere being ruined by the music being blasted around the pool area. Some people may enjoy the quite serenity of nature being punctuated by techno beats or the enchanting sounds of Celine Dione, however not this reviewer.

When we asked the pool staff to turn the music off when we were the only ones around the pool we were told the music is what people want. Maybe there is a market for this and we wish Marina all the best, but for us we will have to look elsewhere for a place to relax.



Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Rivermax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Second year we take two weeks holiday in Marina Apartments, Agios Gordios. Price was 30 eur per night instead of 25 eur per night last year, which is a 20% percent increase. Surface of the flat is 22 sqm net. The numbers still make sense, despite the price increase. This year it was flat #303, between 6 Sept and 20 Sept 2013. The flat and the room service were perfect, just like last year. Thanks Marina and Mamma!
The swimming pool has now a bar where one can take a breakfast, drink and eat small and inexpensive dishes like Greek salad, and ice creams, all day long. Actually, while in the bar, one can hear the fridges motors and compressors running, and their noise is far from relaxing. This is why some background music in the bar is needed, acting as masking, like in many other places facing the same machinery noise issue. I can also understand that the barman wants such masking for his own comfort, even if there are no customers in the bar. However, there are technical possibilities for reducing the sound intensity at the source like buying new cooling units, and/or soundproofing them.
Now, comes a little problem. The main swimming pool has loudspeakers installed round it, carrying the same music playing at the same intensity as in the bar. Why is that so ? Because the amplifier is a cheap sound reinforcement amplifier equipped with a single output transformer feeding a single listening zone. Thus, one cannot adjust the sound intensity independently a) in the bar, and b) round the main swimming pool. What doesn't help, is the 5-band equalizer built-in the amplifier, all cursors set at the max, an indication that the person in charge knows nothing about sound quality.
All those factors add up, for generating a terrible experience. To give you a comparison, last year, when we were round the swimming pool (or swimming in the water), we used to hear birds and wind in the leaves, a true delight.
This year, we were forced to hear Eurotop music playing quite loud. I took a few videos with my yellow Fuji XP60 camera, while playing with my wife in the swimming pool. Those videos were looking stupid, not because of the images, but because of the music being recorded, ruining the action. My wife told the barman. He would not understand. I told the barman. He faked dimming the music, not a professional attitude.
We also observed that every morning, the first seats that went occupied round the swimming pool, actually were the seats located far from the loudspeakers.
This year there were lots of adults - without children - taking the sun round the children swimming pool, that is not equipped with loudspeakers.
Those are clear indications that we were not the only people disagreeing about the music round the swimming pool. And, returning in our #303 flat, we discovered that if we were leaving the front door open, that again we were forced to hear all day long the same Eurotop music, in the background, same playlist everyday.
I wish that for next year, all the speakers round the swimming pool get removed. That would be the simple, inexpensive and radical solution.
I agree that on some special occasions like parties or group events, that music or speech needs to be diffused round the swimming pool. I thus suggest buying a second sound reinforcement amplifier, dedicated to the swimming pool, and a "Y" cinch cable, enabling to connect the source on both amplifiers. This way one can adjust the sound intensity, independently a) in the bar and b) round the swimming pool. Anyway, the general rule would be NO MUSIC round the swimming pool, unless special events announced one day beforehand.
I'm sure the management will understand all this, and will iron out the few glitches caused by operating a bar next to the swimming pool, close to the flats.
Marina Apartments remains thus a highly recommendable place, see you again in 2014!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank StephaneCnockaert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We loved our stay at Marina Apartments. The room was very cute and had a nice size, the kitchen had everything you needed. There was a lot of storage space, a wardrobe, nightstands and lots of drawers. We had 2 twin beds, big, but unfortunately not that comfortable. This is the only thing we didn't like about Marina Apartments, the beds.

We also had a table with 2 chairs in the room and another one outside. The room was cleaned four times in the week we were there.

There was an ok-sized bathroom with a shower, a toilet and a sink plus towels from the hotel. They changed the towels 3 times during our one week stay. You have to bring shower gel and shampoo with you, but that's not a problem. It might have been better if they had a curtain at the shower, because it takes quite a long time for the bathroom to dry after a shower.

You can have internet in your room, but it's 10 EUR / week. However, you use the free wireless at the pool, until about 7 PM. The pool is really nice, big, very clean.

The terrace is really nice, lots of flowers. Good location, the slope that leads to Marina's Apartments is not that steep (unless you're carrying your luggage when you arrive, that was a bit difficult), but other than that anyone can get there easily.

Marina and Granny are very, very friendly. Granny is always smiling. We really hope to go back there soon.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OviTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Disregard the last review as this resort is in Corfu not Crete ? We would definately recommend Marina Apartments. Its a bit quirky sure, but it was spacious, clean, new sheets and towels every day, great powerful hot shower, excellent service, nice pool + shallow kids pool, well positioned for the beach (5 mins stroll), Multicultural guests, Great for a small family like us and a real bargain !

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Mcnabacus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agios Gordios hotels
0.3 km away
Aloha Hotel
Aloha Hotel
#10 of 13 in Agios Gordios
83 reviews
0.3 km away
The Pink Palace
The Pink Palace
#11 of 13 in Agios Gordios
394 reviews
0.5 km away
Mazis Apartments
Mazis Apartments
#7 of 13 in Agios Gordios
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort
0.3 km away
Ammos Bay
Ammos Bay
#3 of 33 in Agios Gordios
125 reviews
0.2 km away
Irene Apartments
Irene Apartments
#8 of 13 in Agios Gordios
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Apartments

Address: Agios Gordios 49100, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Agios Gordios
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Agios Gordios
Price Range: €33 - €83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marina Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartments and StudiosSituated at the Agios Gordis village surrounded by well kept gardens. Up on a quiete steep hill, 400m from the sea.There you will find our apartments with fully equipped kitchen (electric stove with oven, microwave, dishes), showers, hairdryer, kettle, satellite TV (5 Channels), Air Condition, safe deposit, iron, DVD player, fridge and private terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LoveHolidays so you can book your Marina Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Apartments Agios Gordios, Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing