We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice accomodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Old Bank Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Bruff B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2016

Great welcome from Miriam who could not have been more helpful. Good quality very comfortable accommodation in convenient location. Really good cooked breakfast with plenty of choice of other items ..

Room Tip: All rooms looked very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thetwocvsandoscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 60 of 252 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2016

I booked this B&B because of the reviews, and it lives up to all the hype. The service top rate, the room as spacious, the decor delightful, and the hostess is a wonder woman. When we left in the morning she was getting three kids ready for school, cooking breakfast, and had time to give us advice for our day’s travels, all while being amicable and unflappable… wow.

This place is worth going out of your way for.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2016

The Old Bank was an oasis after a day of traveling. We had been Miriam the weeks leading up to our trip, discussing our travel route. She was happy to give us suggestions and opinions on what was worth seeing our first time in Ireland. And then the day of we were running late to check in which is 6 to 9 as it says all over the Old Bank's website. We worried we wouldn't make it in time to eat at the the old bake house restaurant in town. We emailed Miriam and let her know we were running late, she called the restaurant and had them stay open a little later just for us and it was the best dinners we had had in Ireland. The bed and breakfast was beautifully restored, breakfast in the morning was delicious, and Miriam and her family were wonderful people. I would definitely recommend staying at the Old Bank

Room Tip: Miriam is happy to accommodate and give suggestions on your trip. Especially if you email her prior
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank camezqui236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miriam S, Owner at The Old Bank Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2016

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our home

It really is a pleasure to welcome so many wonderful guests to our home, like you

Till next time

Fond farwells

Miriam & Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2016

Discovered with note on front door that you can only check in from 6pm to 9pm. No one on onsite at property when we arrived at 4pm.Call button on door rings proprietar on her mobile who informed also informed us of check into time. Not Very friendly or accommodating. We were tired after a long day of travel so we decided to stay elsewhere other than wait two hours to check in. Not sure what kind of service we could expect with no one onsite at the property

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Dkmclei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miriam S, Owner at The Old Bank Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2016

Hello Dawn

Your reservation was made at our home through booking.com on the May 29th. Our check in times are clearly shown and also on the terms and conditions that you tick. It is further printed on your confirmation receipt. We send every guest a Thank for your reservation email - (sent to you the 29th) where I offer to give suggestions should you require on what to see enroute to our home, and again we say check ins are from 6 -9pm but we are are available to welcome guest to our home from 5pm.

You Rang my door bell at 4.05pm - and as you say I have a sign on the door that says Please ring the bell - (intercom connects to my mobile phone for 90 seconds of talk time) Check ins are from 6 -9pm , If i'm at home i will gladly take early arrivals, Miriam & Family. You rang the bell and I told you I was on my way home from Limerick and would be able to check you in at 5pm, to which you replied ok!!

We are B&B and not a hotel and we close each day from 12pm to 5pm to spend we our young family. Once a guest check into our home, I have to be present at all times. I am the owner, recpetionist cook, cleaner and MUM. I love my job and work 7 days a week and think its not unreasonable to have time to do shopping and spend with my kids . Hense why my rates are not €120-160 like other 4 star hotels in the area but start from €70.00 per night for B&B. B&B means you offer accommodation services in a persons private residences. I love this role and have invested a lot of money to meet 4 star service requirments.

Now I rang you at 9.30pm to see if you were arriving and while I was leaving a message you rang back, I hung up on that message and took your call..you said hello and when i said this is Miriam from the Old Bank B&B.. you hung up!!... I tried rining you another 2 times and you didn't answer??

Had you answered the phone, I could of rented this room to the 2 guest who knocked on the door at 11.30 asking for a room and not charged you... I took my last prebooked guest arrival that night at 11.55pm.

I do hope that guests who read my reply realise how Hard I work to ensure everyone enjoys there stay with me, Please read the good reviews too :).

I am truly fortunate to be able to Welcome some wonderful people to my home, and glad to call some of them true friends

Thank you for taking the time to review our home

Miriam & Family



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2016 via mobile

Great accomodations with a delightful hostess!
Clean,lots of little extras and wonderful breakfast!
Can be in downtown Limerick in 20 minutes.
Took in a couple of Hurling matches just around the corner from the B&B . would definitely recommend to friends

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank ridecomaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miriam S, Owner at The Old Bank Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2016

To Two wonderful guest who came for one night and stayed for three. Im delighted you enjoyed your stay as did I when you were in my home. I hope you have a wonderful Holiday and do hope I will get to welcome you to our home again.

Till Next time
Fond farwells
Miriam & Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Old Bank Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Bank Bed and Breakfast

Address: Main Street. Bruff. | Co Limerick. Limerick, Bruff 061, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Bruff
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bruff
Price Range: €73 - €86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Bank Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4* banking town house offers accommodation in 8 luxurious ensuite jacuzzi rooms, ranging from family interconnecting rooms to the serene intimacy of four poster bedrooms over looking peaceful courtyard gardens. Each room possesses its very own distinct individual style that blend period decoration with all of today's modern services and luxuries. Miriam & family have earned a great reputation for the quality of both accommodation and service, and breakfast is a treat - an impressive selection of home baking is served next to a extensive menu in a dining room that is set up like a restaurant. For golfers & cycling entunacity the house is ideally located among 5 golf courses and with in short distances of Europe’s largest mountain bike park and is on many road cyling routes. The house is a excellent touring base for historic Lough Gur, Adare with day trips to Cliffs of Moher, Rock of cashel, ring of Kerry and Cork. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Old Bank Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing