We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic restaurant”

Restaurante El Ancla
Ranked #21 of 97 Restaurants in El Medano
Restaurant details
Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

Amazing place! We went to El Ancla for the last evening of our holidays in Tenerife and we didn't regret our choice! The place is very tastefully decorated and is located right next to the sea. The menu had a lot of special dishes and the food was very tasty of high quality and prepared with the freshest ingredients. The absolute highlight although was the service: Linda did an excellent job taking care of us and was always very friendly and polite! To top it all off: The place is very affordable and worth every cent. Thank you!

1  Thank markusserdjukov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2017 via mobile

My partner and I received an invite to sample the taster menu free of charge whilst we were staying at the Arenas Del Mar Hotel.
We were greeted very cordially by the two members of staff who were on duty and given a welcome drink.As each course arrived we were given a detailed explanation of the ingredients and origins of the dish.
We were also given water and a bottle of wine with our meal which was very enjoyable.
Even if we had paid for the meal we would have been very pleased with all the courses but it was all the nicer to receive it for free!!
We would definitely recommend this restaurant.

1  Thank 428susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kn Hoteles C, The Management at Restaurante El Ancla, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2017

Dear 428susan:

First of all, we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind opinion of EL ANCLA.

It is a pleasure for us to have you among us. Customer service is our priority and we are happy to know that it was dully perceived by you. Our taster menu always receive compliments from our clients and we are glad to know that you enjoyed both all the courses of the menu and the drinks.

Once again we want to let you know that your opinion is highly appreciated. We hope to have the honor to repeating this experience for you soon.

Best Regards
EL ANCLA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2017

It's a treat to visit a real restaurant in Tenerife. Don't get me wrong, I enjoy eating out in Tenerife but it is unusual to get everything right in one place.

El Ancla is one of those places. Interesting food, careful service, pleasant atmosphere and very reasonable prices.

No pimentos de padron, no gambas al ajillo, no croquetas, no queso a la plancha BUT a selection of local products cooked with flair.

A small wine list with great prices. Most expensive bottle was champagne at 40€. Most were 12-18€.

Lovely views over the sea to Médano and no children (How naughty am I!)

Highly recommended. We will be visiting again very soon.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank gilfrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kn Hoteles C, The Management at Restaurante El Ancla, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2017

Dear Guest:

First of all, we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind opinion of EL ANCLA.

It is a pleasure for us to have you among us. Customer service is our priority and we are happy to know that it was dully perceived by you. The raw materials with which we produce our products are of excellent quality to offer an optimal and exquisite result for the enjoyment of our guests. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed our menu, which offers different dishes from the tipical ones but are made from local products. We work hard to exceed our guest´s expectations.

Once again we want to let you know that your opinion is highly appreciated. We hope to have the honor to repeating this experience for you soon.

Best Regards
EL ANCLA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017

We have recently returned from El Medano, and have to write a review on this Restaurant. We ate here on the tasting menu last week, and were amazed by how great the food was. There were a couple of the courses we were unsure about, but we went anyway. However, we were wrong! Every single course looked and tasted fantastic, and local produce was used in every dish. The Olive oil (called Oleo, and made only a short distance away was great) We did manage to buy a bottle to bring home from a local shop) The wine was also made locally and was great. The staff in the restaurant brilliant and we will look forward to our next visit. This restaurant comes highly recommended, and I have worked in this trade as a Chef for 17 years! Great job all!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank TomyGunnChef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kn Hoteles C, Restaurante El Ancla at Restaurante El Ancla, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2017

Dear Tomy:

First of all, we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind opinion of EL ANCLA.

It is a pleasure for us to have you among us. Customer service is our priority and we are happy to know that it was dully perceived by you. The raw materials with which we produce our products are of excellent quality to offer an optimal and exquisite result for the enjoyment of our guests. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed the creativity and the taste of our dishes as well as the wine and the olive oil. We work hard to exceed our guest´s expectations.

Once again we want to let you know that your opinion is highly appreciated. We hope to have the honor to repeating this experience for you soon.

Best Regards
EL ANCLA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

My fiancé and I ate in the restaurant three times during our stay and were delighted with the quality of the food and service each time. Our waiter was excellent: friendly, helpful, knowledgable about the menu and a great sense of humour too! Each time we dined here we were treated to a lovely appetiser-first it was a beautifully dressed oyster, another time a perfectly cooked fish in batter and the last time we had octopus served with a mango gazpacho. Plus delicious warm breads and olive oil- all before we even got to the food we'd ordered! We would recommend the black calamari skewers and the tomato and avocado salad to start. All of the food is beautifully presented and the atmosphere in the restaurant is peaceful, romantic and relaxed. It's perfect for a special occasion.

Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kn Hoteles C, Community Manager at Restaurante El Ancla, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2016

Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for your comment. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed so much your three visits to our "a la carte restaurant". We are really delighted!

We hope to see you soon back at El Ancla.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurante El Ancla also viewed

 
El Medano, Tenerife
 

Been to Restaurante El Ancla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing