We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
eDreams
Expedia.com
US$108
View deal
Free cancellation until 14/05/21
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (457)
Filter reviews
457 results
Traveller rating
101
163
104
53
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
101
163
104
53
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot springs the river nice place trip to costa rica pools tours sloths el jungle sauna
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 457 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2020

Really nice place with a sort of Olde Colonial vibe. A series of hot springs pools and a unique hot spring sauna. Don't overlook the trails along the river through the jungle. Very good resaurant for breakfast (included) and dinner.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2019

We used Frank’s Tours for two of our three days at El Toucana. We visited La Paz Waterfall Gardens and Volcan Poas. He made sure we saw birds, sloths, flora, fauna, and waterfalls along the route. He took many pictures of my husband and myself to help chronicle the days. Frank also ensured we experienced true Costa Rican cuisine and coffee. We will definitely use him again during our next trip to Costa Rica.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Cathie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2019

Step back in time to simpler time.
Very quaint place.
The staff is very nice and helpful.
The room we had was dated and could of had some modern updates in appearance and could of used a mini fridge coffee maker and micro wave being there is no room service.

Date of stay: August 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with RCI
1  Thank frankb489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2019

Im the middle of nowhere, dirty, bad food, very old hotel, smells weird. Very far from Arenal. Seems like the hotel was built a very long time ago and they haven’t maintained it well ever since. Looks nice on the pictures, so it was a big surprise when we arrived. The room was dirty and it smelled.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2019

My wife and I stayed here for part of our honeymoon. We really enjoyed the thermal pools and had amazing volcanic mud massages at the spa. The walking trail around the resort had some great scenery - toucans, creeks, lush green trees. We left the resort to explore around the area with Frank of Frank's tours and he showed us some amazing sites. He took us on a boat tour through the forest and up to Arenal volcano. He was super knowledgable about all the flora and fauna and made our trip one to remember! Would highly recommend him to anyone, especially those wanting to see some places off the beaten path.

Date of stay: June 2019
1  Thank JurinTheRightPlace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews