We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.comUS$148
Hotels.comUS$135
PricelineUS$148
eDreamsUS$148
TravelocityUS$135
FindHotelUS$135
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (21)
Filter reviews
21 results
Traveller rating
10
6
1
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
10
6
1
4
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 21 reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2018 via mobile

We went for a weekend getaway with friends. The smaller accommodation options were similar to a hotel room; the big Villa was very roomy and nicely equipped. Smokesauna with warm baths outside very relaxing. Breakfast was good. The staff was especially nice and friendly, always ready to help with problems or requests. I am sure the area will be especially enjoyable in the summer with the big river and a horsefarm just next to the venue.
Thank you!

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Vandelnokk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 July 2017 via mobile

Family of 4. We geared up and the actual rafting lasted 30 seconds or so the rest was just paddling. I wish we knew that in advance because we drove 2 hours to get there and we were quite dissapointed. The guide was helpful and this is not his fault

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank IritO9
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I did a Snowmobile safari at Varjola during end of November 2010 while on a trip to Jyväskylä in Finland.

The whole exercise started with a lunch buffet at the Barn restaurant. It was just wonderful during the winter of 2010 with snow and a freezing -30 degree Celsius temperature outside. The restaurant was wonderful with smaller cabinets and bigger banqueting halls offer venues.

The snowmobile safaris was for about 25-30 kilometers long where each participants drives their own snowmobile. Each guest is equipped with all the necessary gear for the safari a coverall, gloves, boots and helmet. The guide gave us lesson on how to handle the snowmobile. We then went on the snowmobile journey through the snowy forest. During the safari we were served a hot cup of coffee and sandwiches at the top of a hill covered with snow.

The mountains were carpeted with snow and the tree looked black. Altogether it was a feeling of freezing blood with aching hands but a nice view in black and white.

As I said in my headline, once in a life time experience of 2-3 hours :)

Date of stay: December 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaneeshKumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SartsaL, Myyntipäällikkö at Varjola Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2014

Dear visitor,

Thank you for your feedback! We are very happy to hear that you have had a great experience on our snowmobile safari. Hopefully we will get lots of snow again this coming winter and we hope to see you again in Varjola!

Best regards,
Sari Laitinen
Sales and marketing manager
Varjola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

First you see nice landscape, then nice buildings out there... but beware, in our situation it all was fake inside the houses. They make money, and take the shortcut whenever its possible. We had our biggest party there and had so many disappointments. You may have good time when just eating or staying overnight, but when they have bigger job to do, its not going to happen. Never going back there!

Room tip: dont expect too much from "the suites" ashore Kuusa rapids
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ZorroF
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SartsaL, Myyntipäällikkö at Varjola Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2014

Dear visitor,

We are very sorry to hear that you felt so disappointed with our services and felt that your expectations on your big day were not met. All feedback is valuable to us and helps us in improving our services. Hopefully we will see you sometime again in Varjola!

Best regards,
Sari Laitinen
Sales and marketing manager
Varjola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We had a business meeting at Varjola with a small group. The marketing promises were superfluous which made us expect something special. They had brand new apartment type accommodation some 400 m from the main building. The accommodation was quite nicely located with a view to the Kuusa rapids and patio in front of the house. For one person, the apartment with four beds was quite ok, but the small room size and lack of storage space made you wonder, how four persons are supposed to fit in with their luggage. The sales pitch had promised "ample country style breakfast" or something like that. What was on offer, was quite standard hotel breakfast - not bad at all, but not having the something extra that was implied in marketing.

Contact with customer was a bit reserved as it often is in Finland. However, they arranged a swimming suite for a colleague who had forgotten hers without any extra charge and making a fuss about it. Some of the facilities we already suffering from lack of maintenance and the environment as a whole had unfinished feel and look. I would not consider visiting there privately on my own, because the place lacks a homely feel. Their main business obviously are incentive groups coming for activities.

Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Isidorus
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SartsaL, Myyntipäällikkö at Varjola Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2014

Dear visitor,

Thank you very much for your feedback! Detailed remarks are valuable to us and help us in continuously improving our services.

We are a growing business that hopes to serve both business and individual travelers. Regardless of all on going innovations we of course try to keep up a warm, weldoming and finished atmosphere as well. That is something that needs continuous work and attention.

Hopefully we will see you again in Varjola either as an individual or business traveler.

Best regards,
Sari Laitinen
Sales and marketing manager
Varjola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews