We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (162)
Filter reviews
162 results
Traveller rating
147
12
1
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
147
12
1
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boutique hotel split level family home gorgeous hotel private hot tub modern amenities original family beautifully restored mansion the lower level sour cherry special thanks resident tortoise freshly baked pies junior suite old house staff were wonderful shower room
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 162 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

We were booked on the 1 pm ferry boat from Piraeus (Athen’s port) to Hydra today March 18, 2018. I received a text message at 11:45 that the boats will not be running for the next couple of days due to bad weather after arriving at the port. Our ferry tickets were refunded. I called the hotel to ask for a partial refund. I expected to forfeit one day but not the full amount as I called to explain that we could not get to the island as we had hoped.

The rather rude man I spoke to said “sorry” no refunds. He insisted that there was an earlier boat so I should have been on that. Considering check in at the Cotommatae Hydra 1810 is not until 2 pm why would I be on the early ferry that arrives at 11 am vs the 1 pm that arrives at 3 pm?

I will not be returning and advise others to ensure their plans are rock solid as the hotel does not allow for any changes. Very disappointing experience. We have had excellent friendly service in Athens so I like to think this is an exception.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Magnetic H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frosso Z, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Cotommatae Hydra 1810, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

Dear Guest,

We are extremely sorry that you did not have the chance to experience our hospitality in Cotommatae 1810.
It is rather unpleasant to receive a negative comment when someone did not even had the chance to stay in your hotel.
Nevertheless, we have further explored your comment and your allegations concerning refunding.

Concerning weather and ferries, the company has informed us that there were 3 itineraries at that date. One ferry left normally in the morning, there was one at 1 o'clock that was canceled and another one at 5 that was properly executed. The Ferry company also said to us that there was not such a message saying that the next 2 days all itineraries would be canceled. We had also other guests that day coming from Piraeus or from Metochi. We would be more than happy to refund you if it was a proven Force Majeure or there was no boat all day long or no way to come in Hydra. Our Hotel Manager applied our policy concerning refunding which is clear and according to international standards. Additionally, you were duly informed and accepted the terms and conditions when you booked to our Hotel.

Hope we have the chance to welcoming you another time,

Thanking you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2018

This place in itself and the island overall is magic... fantastic... everything you could hope for a relaxed weekend and more. The staff was so welcoming it feels as if you are at home. I can't recommend this enough. Now, it is kind of a couple/relax/romantic retreat.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mauricio T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017

We stayed at the Cotommatae Hydra 1810 for four nights, in the Pigeon suite. Beautiful stay overall, including the grounds, the room, and the common areas.

ROOM: The Pigeon suite is situated under the main building, and we were worried that we'd be bothered by noise from people walking overhead but that never happened. The sitting area at the entry level had a sofa, a chair, and a coffee table. It was a pleasant to place hang around in, and the very large coffee table was useful for staging photographic equipment etc. The room temperature controls worked very well. The hot tub was clean and pleasant to use, with the caveat about it being "private" (see below).

SLEEP QUALITY: the bed was comfortable and had high quality linens, and the room had good darkening shades for sleeping. It was quiet at night and sleep quality was excellent.

BATH: The bathroom was attractive, there was plenty of hot water, and everything worked well. The bath amenities were of good quality.

BREAKFAST: The breakfast was fantastic, both the buffet options and the outdoor patio environment where it was served. Everything was beautiful, fresh, and delicious, and there were more choices than could be tried over four days. There was some homemade jam that was incredible - sorry, I don't remember what it was made from, maybe sour cherry. We asked to buy some but none was available. Special thanks to the woman who served us breakfast every morning: she was incredibly nice to us, and we looked forward to her smiling, welcoming face every day.

Just a couple small issues:

NO LUGGAGE HELP: We expected there to be porters either waiting for us at the doc or available for hire. Neither happened so we dragged our suitcases all the way to the hotel. We mentioned this to the desk staff, who told us that they had sent us an email with this information. I re-checked - we definitely never received this info. So, before you arrive, make sure to arrange help with your luggage unless you don't mind lugging it up cobblestones from the port to the hotel (I'd try to avoid this - it's kind of a drag).

NOT SO PRIVATE HOT TUB: The Pigeon suite comes with a "private" hot tub. The "privacy" comes via a rickety see-through bamboo screen that separates the hot tub from the main entrance to the hotel. While the tub is "private" in the sense that it's supposed to be used only by you, you'll not be dipping au naturel. Also, the first night we were there, someone came around the screen and used it anyway.

SLIGHTLY WEIRD CHECK-IN: The woman at the front desk who checked us in was not the friendliest hotelier we met on this trip. However, everyone else on staff was very nice.

NO HAND RAIL:The stairs in the Pigeon suite don't have a hand rail. I realize this is typical in Greece but it was still a bit scary going down those stairs to the bathroom at night in darkness. Other stairs around the property don't have hand rails either but those don't seem to be a problem.

EXPENSIVE LAUNDRY SERVICE:Prior to arriving on Hydra, we'd been on a boat for 10 days so we'd planned to do our laundry on Hydra. The laundry service charge at this hotel is steep and we were told there isn't a laundromat on the island. If you have laundry to do, try to do it before arriving on Hydra.

LOTS OF STAIRS: Consistent with most of Greece, this property is not for people who have trouble with stairs.

The issues above are small. We'd come back here in a heartbeat, although we might consider a room with a view next time.

Thank you Cotommatae Hydra 1810 for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Pigeon suite has no views but is spacious and quiet.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank drustranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017

We were traveling all over Europe, and staying in Hydra was our favorite part! This boutique hotel is my ideal place - welcoming, clean, comfortable, and gorgeous!

When we checked in, the staff gave us detailed recommendations on where to go during our trip and a map of Hydra town. He also gave us sweet sour cherries as a welcome gift which I loved so much I have since made back home because I missed it so much!

The hotel room was beautiful, bathroom was awesome, and the bed was very comfortable. They had these unique wooden window shutters that I fell in love with, and the view was so charming.

Breakfast was delicious and served on their lovely patio. There are lemon trees growing in their courtyard adding a wonderful charm to the hotel.

Would recommend, and happily move in if I could!

Room Tip: The jacuzzi is only accessible to the room with the suite - so if you want that, please book in advance!
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank marghethager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017

We arrived in Hydra on e Thursday morning at the height of the tourist season to stay with a friend - and arrived to a message from our friend that his house had a problem that rendered it uninhabitable. Everything was booked on every website imaginable - so we began walking from hotel to hotel looking for someone who could help, without much luck. Then we walked into the Cotommatae, and everything changed.

The hotel itself is gorgeous, an authentic 1810 mansion that was only converted into a hotel in 2013. We were greeted by Yannis, who immediately set about trying to find us something. What he found us was amazing - a dual-story junior suite exquisitely decorated for the night. But beyond that it was the entire manner of how we were treated; we were welcomed like family, nobody even took a credit card from us at arrival, and they found us a different room for the second night.

Our stay was serene. Beyond the room itself, there are several terraces on which one can curl up with a book or a drink and enjoy the peace of the island, and the breakfast is to die for, full of freshly baked pies and cakes, local fruit, and eggs and anything else you can want. And it was not only Yannis - everyone we met was simply lovely.

We cannot speak to the other hotels at which we stopped to a very different welcome (this means you, Orloff!), but the reception and warmth we found at the Cotommatae made our entire holiday a success, and we look forward to returning and spending more time at this love,y hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank DLStern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews