We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (669)
Filter reviews
669 results
Traveller rating
383
200
61
19
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
383
200
61
19
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pine trees animation team family room sea view mini club well sound proofed great family sheltered bay cala ratjada evening entertainment rock night kids club british family perfect resort entertainment area nice small beach family vacation
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 669 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile

We holidayed here as a family in high season during the school holidays in August 2017. Arrived and went to the restaurant and for lunch and it was packed, noisy and absolutely full of kids. Not a great first impression.

We have two kids 4&6 and I have to say the facilities for kids here are really great but it was just too busy and noisy every day and night.

The food was really good - impressed that there was lobster, saw caviar one night, good sushi, massive variety and something for everyone all the time.

The staff were also excellent throughout - cleaners, restaurant, animation team etc

Down side for us - too packed. No sun loungers free around the pool by 10am, poor soundproofing in the bedrooms - we were kept awake by a snoring man next door two nights, heels tapping on the door above us until all hours, music from the hotel opposite every night until 11pm. Also queues at the food hall, we struggled to find an empty table to sit at, it felt like a school canteen - this made the experience feel quite cheap and we paid a lot for the week away (all inclusive.) We also felt the size of the pools was not adequate for the size of hotel and number of guests - again water packed with people!

The beach next door is quite nice but was also insanely busy!

Advice - avoid school holidays unless you really do want to be kept awake until all hours and don't mind literally hundreds of 1/2/3/4 year olds everywhere. Didn't see many older kids here. The mini disco definitely suited preschoolers the most.

You live and learn. If I won the lottery, I'd like to revisit in September when the schools go back for a different experience.
It would probably be dramatically different and so much more positive.

Disappointed. Expensive and not relaxing.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Britraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Quality Manager at Iberostar Pinos Park, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Dear customer,

We appreciate so much that you have found time to describe your experience after being with us in the hotel IBEROSTAR Club Cala Barca.

It is a great pleasure to heir that you have enjoyed of all our services and has shared them with all travelers that are using Tripadviser. It was disappointing to know that you have coincided with children on your stay. Of course, August in Mallorca is the top of summer season and all hotels are full, especially Club Cala Barca, because it is the best option for holidays due to its high service level and geographical situation. There is no chance to find another similar option to stay in a natural park and beautiful beach with no more human constructions. An idyllic area to have your deserving holidays with all your family. We are sorry that you haven’t relaxed as much as we would wish to. May be next year, after having won the lottery, you come back to try us again and enjoy one hundred per cent.
On the meanwhile, please keep on your memory the delicious food, marvelous views, the smiles of our staff and fun that you had with our animation teem.

We will be looking forward to see you soon again.
With best regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Club Cala Barca.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017

Stayed here last week, arrived with my toddler and Partner and baby bump early afternoon only to be told there was no rooms available at the Hotel and we would have to go next door to the equivalent hotel for a night, in a very blasé manner and made to wait 40 minutes in a non air-conditioned lobby before receiving the news - not quite the warm welcome we were expecting. Trudged next door in the blistering heat to an awful hotel in red of a full refurb, again waited another 40 mins to check in and for for bags to arrive only to be shown to room where had to carry pram up 2 flights of stairs to the most revolting room which we couldn't physically get the pram into because it was so narrow. Back to Pinos Park to let them know that what they had offered was absolutely unacceptable and that we wanted a refund for the week and would find somewhere else to stay. Suddenly then they found us a room, so back over with bags again to Pinos Park but we had to wait a further 40 minutes until it was fully cleaned and ready for us. We had been up since 4am, travelling with a toddler and it is now 5pm! Not happy! Whats the point of getting an early flight if your afternoon is just wasted hanging around waiting for rooms?! Finally got to the room and it stank of bleach, the whole experience just not what I expect of a supposedly 4 star Iberostar hotel.
Following day, sink blocked(was this what bleach was disguising?) - need to get maintenance guy out - then realise that the safe was broken and needed replacing - again someone else had to come out. This should be time spent relaxing with family not organising solutions to maintenance issues. Room tiny and smelt damp due to poor ventilation and an archaic air con system.
Explored possibility of moving hotels after our initial experience had sullied the start of our holiday but in the end we gave up because of peak season and not wanting to spend the start of a weeks holiday moving again.
We were promised a room upgrade and complimentary drinks by Reception staff as a gesture of goodwill for any inconvenience. We never got a room upgrade even though every day when we inquired on reception they advised us that there would be one the following day - we just gave up in the end. We were then told we had free drinks for the last 3 days of our stay. We ordered 50 euros of drinks over 3 days(we barely spent any time in the Hotel) only to be told on check out that these had been ordered incorrectly - some at the wrong bar, we were only entitled to free drinks in the restaurant allegedly?! - and that we would have to pay for them all. I refused on principle and they said they were ringing the police. Manager nowhere to be seen. Again just really poor handling of the situation from inexperienced staff who urged me to complain on Trip Advisor?! Not sure of their job satisfaction working at Pinos Park.
The only thing going for this hotel is the location, the beach is lovely, the situation in the Pine Trees is pretty but my experience of the hotel itself was extremely poor.
I will never stay in a Iberostar Hotel again after this experience - it was just awful. Loved Majorca and the time with my family though - you never took that away from us Iberostar!

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nattynat2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Quality Manager at Iberostar Pinos Park, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Dear Guest,
First of all we want you to know that we appreciate you choosing our hotel IBEROSTAR Pinos Park for your recent holiday and for taking the time to notify us. On the other hand we are sorry that you felt your experience was not as perfect as it should have been.

Overbooking is a highly exceptional situation for IBEROSTAR. We work hard to prevent this from happening and whenever we reach the maximum occupation, we immediately inform all of the cooperating tour operators to carry out an immediate sales stop. However, it can happen that some reservations are made simultaneously just prior to our notification. In order to guarantee our clients the possibility to vacation with us, we do our utmost to plan and organize an alternative accommodation in a different hotel in the same area and with similar characteristics helping our guests the best we can in order to minimize the related inconveniences.

Regarding the problems in your room with the blocked sink and the broken safe, we are very sorry to hear about this. However for the management of repairs and maintenance work in our establishment, our technicians immediately correct any minor damage. We are very happy that you reported these defects so that they could be repaired quickly as is our policy.

Also, we regret that in the final moments of your holiday that there was a misunderstanding over payment and that the complimentary drinks that we were referring to were drinks consumed in the restaurant at meal times. We are very sorry that this influenced your experience in our hotel as our main objective is to offer the best holiday to our guests, based on the service provided by our well trained professionals.

On the other hand, we are delighted that you were so pleased with the beach and pine trees. We would like to thank you for highlighting both the excellent location on the sea front, just in front of the wonderful beach of Font de Sa Cala, and also the beautiful pine forest surrounding the hotel.
On a final note we do hope we will have the opportunity to change your first impression about our service and turn it into a wonderful holiday experience with IBEROSTAR in the near future.

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Pinos Park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

We booked directly through Iberostar. It's a hotel geared towards kids. I do have a kid. However, the hotel is not what I expected. The noise levels throughout the day everywhere are very high. Imagine busy shopping center. Also, the evening entertainment goes up to 23h which is too late for me personally and can be really heard in a good portion of the hotel. We asked for a quiet room due to our daughter having autism and needing somewhere to retreat when she has had enough, they lost that request and placed us as close as possible to the entertainment area. They had other rooms for us (BUT 3 days later) but none that were less close to that area or the main pool (another source of noise). In my opinion there are only 10 rooms in the hotel with a good position. This made our vacation significantly worse and I find it legally actionable. My daughter has a disability. We called ahead to ask if they can accommodate that problem and they sad Ok. Upon us showing up, not okay. Thanks a lot.
Aside of my daughters problem, I found the hotel too loud and crowded. The beach is not a really really nice one but it's fine. There is a smaller beach on the other side of the hotel and we liked that one more. The pine trees really smell nicely.
If you have kids but those kids are not wired and really noisy, they will probably not like it here. The hotel is too expensive for what it is.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Kleitos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Quality manager at Iberostar Pinos Park, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel IBEROSTAR Pinos Park for your recent holiday, we are grateful to you for taking the time out of your day to send us your feedback, and we apologize that you feel that you experienced inconsistencies in our normally excellent service.

We are sorry to hear that you were disturbed during your visit; we do our best to ensure that the noise levels always stay within sensible limits so our guests are not disturbed by it. Sometimes it is impossible to guarantee this as there are moments during the day, when some noise may be heard, especially on certain floors. We have a record and follow up of complaints but we do not have any reports of excessive noise during the dates of your stay. On a future occasion do not hesitate to contact our dedicated team of receptionists as they will gladly assist you with any difficulties that you are experiencing in our hospitality, because at IBEROSTAR complete customer satisfaction is one of our main goals.

Also, on the subject of occupancy, we would like to point out that our hotel is enjoyed greatly by families with children as its description says in our brochures and on our website; it encompasses everything our guests desire. For example an adult pool, separate children’s pools, Miniclub, Maxiclub and Teenclub too. In addition it boasts an excellent location by the seaside and varied entertainment throughout the day but also in the evening for all ages. Because of all of the above mentioned facilities, during peak season this resort is an active, lively and vibrant location. May we suggest that on your next holiday you utilize our dedicated call center, as they can assist you and help you to create the perfect tailor-made holiday for you and your family. We are so sorry for the inconvenience caused.

However we are delighted to read that you could enjoy our privileged location between two beaches and surrounded by a beautiful pine forest.

We sincerely regret that your holiday was not completely perfect for you and your family, we hope that you will give us another opportunity and that we will have the pleasure of your company at an IBEROSTAR hotel in the not too distant future, and please accept our apologies for the impression that you received of our hotel on this occasion, we have passed on your comments to the correct department.

Best regards,
Quality manager
IBEROSTAR Pinos Park.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

We visited Pinos Park for a family holiday and had a fantastic time.
We arrived by lunchtime and only one of our two rooms were ready, which was fine. Our suitcases were taken to the room and we changed into our swimwear.
The rooms were cleaned daily and had fridge, microwave and tv.
The resort was very relaxed and all staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough for you.
There were various nationalities - French, Slovakian, English and German - with the majority being German.
The food was lovely with lots of variety on a daily basis. Always fresh, with the option of freshly cooked steaks, omelettes, pancakes etc.
We decided to do half board here. Mainly because we wanted the option of going out to restaurants in the evening and seeing some more of the island. So we had breakfast and lunch. You can exchange your evening meal for a lunchtime meal by obtaining a voucher from reception. The restaurant staff collect the voucher from your table and all is sorted.
Obtaining sunbeds in the morning wasn't a problem. If you wanted to lie around the main pool, people would be up by 8am and would be sat out on the beds. This was the busy spot and on some mornings it was completely full by 8am, other mornings there were only a couple of people out by 8am. We preferred to sit in the quieter area away from the pool. I was usually outside reading the paper by 8am and I was the first one there.
However, if people came out and reserved sunbeds with towels and then left, the lifeguards would remove the towels and leave signs saying that the beds were not to be reserved. This was great and deterred people from reserving them.
The entertainment and activities were always good fun. The daily shows were entertaining and the staff could all sing, dance and act! The kids club's were popular, however my kids (13, 11 & 7) didnt participate in them as they didn't want to. There didn't appear to be many English children of similar ages in the hotel, so making friends with kids from other countries would of been tricky when they don't speak the same language.
The beach is right next door to the hotel and is easily accessed via a sandy path down. It had various watersports, but our favourite was the pedallo with slide. It was €15 for 1hr and we all had lots of fun.
There are photographers on site and we did use them. They took some amazing photos of us as a family and also individually. We bought quite a few! Prints were €15 each with the cost reducing if you bought more.

I would definitely recommend this hotel, I can't say anything negative about it!

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank 608christinee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteles2017, Quality manager at Iberostar Pinos Park, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Dear Christine,

First of all, we would like to thank you for your kind review of your recent holiday with us at IBEROSTAR Pinos Park.

Such a friendly review our hotel is, of course, a great pleasure to read and confirms for us that our daily actions are worthwhile and that we are on the right path with our numerous efforts.

Again we thank you for your pleasant review of our hotel and hope that IBEROSTAR will continue to provide you excellent holiday experiences in the future.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Pinos Park.





Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

Stayed here August 2017.

Transfer:
Booked private taxi with pmitaxis online. 90 Euros each way. Took about 1 hour to 1 hour 20 mins. Good service. Others who'd used cheaper shared coaches reported 2.5 hour transfer with many stops.

Room:
Ground floor (as requested), near reception, and overlooking the pool. Good location. Quiet in the evening.
A family room, for 2 adults and 2 kids (5 and 2).
Always very clean. Could do with a lick of paint in places, but mostly fine.
Initial impression was that it was slightly smaller than other family rooms we'd had at other hotels, with a slight lack of storage. Just wardrobes with shelves and hangers, but no drawers at all. No bedside chest of drawers, or drawers under the desk in bedroom. A bit of an oversight. Once we'd unpacked, there was just enough room, but it felt a little cramped. After a day or so settling in I didn't notice any more. Bathroom was nice. Good big walk-in shower. There was no bath which we thought might be an issue for the boys who have a bath every night. We asked reception who said no rooms have baths. The boys instead had quick showers, which turned out to be fine. If I'd checked the website on booking I'd have known about lack of bath.
There was one double bed in bedroom, and 1 single sofa bed in living room. We didn't use the sofa bed. We put the kids to bed in the bedroom, and then squeezed in on either side later. Was just enough room. If kids were larger we'd probably have used sofa bed for one adult.
There was a safe in the room, which we were charged for, which was a shame, but seems standard practice now. Can't remember exact amount. A few euros a day,
The TV was all Spanish + German, apart from nickleodean and disney, and BBC world news. More English channels would have been nice, especially something for younger kids.
Aircon worked very well, even considering it was 37-39 degrees outside (a heatwave).
There was a fridge and a microwave, in the same area as the TV, near the main door. There was no seperate sink/basin, just the one in the bathroom.
There were no tea/coffee making facilities in the room, which was a shame. But we were 3 rooms away from the pool bar, where we could get drinks until 10:30pm, which was good.
I didn't use WiFi, but wife reported it working mostly OK, but during some busy periods it was very slow.

Hotel:
On approach from street it looks quite small, but inside the reception is very nice, and hotel grounds are nicely kept. It's mostly centred around some pools in the main area, with restaurant and bar next to reception. You walk to the end of the main area and there's another section with kids' clubs, kids' splash/slide pool, and stage area.
Very nice views of the sea, and the little bay, which is next to the hotel.

Pools:
The kids pools are good, and 5+2 year old both loved the slides. We spent a lot of time there during the day. No problem getting sun loungers, and it was quite quiet. I once put towels down before breakfast (sorry), to discover there were no others there, so didn't bother again. There's a lifeguard there all the time.
The other pools in the main area are nice. There are two larger pools (one very shallow, one with a deep end) and a little round baby pool. We often went in there later in the day for a proper swim. Pool games (running on a mat, water polo) happen here. The sun loungers around the main pools we generally tricky to get, but our room was near them anyway, so wasn't a big deal. People reserve with towels here quite early, but the staff will put a polite notice on them if they are left unused for too long. Don't know if they actually remove towels.

Food.
There is one restaurant, for all meals. Food was generally very good. Kids found plenty to eat, as did we. Plenty of choice, and they do themes some days (tapas, sushi, mallorcan, italian, etc). When this is closed you can get toasties from the pool bar, which you toast yourself. There's also a fridge there with a few cakes, biscuits and fruit. The main restaurant has a few tables outside, and an upstairs terrace, which we used a couple of times. Get there early if you want to be outside.
There's a free ice cream machine in the pool bar, doing small cups of whippy ice cream.

Drinks.
Standard all inclusive really. Beer was lager on tap, which was drinkable. Cocktails from the menu were drinkable but weak, and were mainly pre-mixed from a machine and topped up with booze. Better option was to go for rum + coke, G+T, Baileys, etc, which were nicer and stronger. Sangria was quite nice. Wine in restaurant was on self-service taps and pretty bad. Decent wine (from bottles) cost extra. The fridge in our room kept getting restocked with bottled water by the clearers, and there are plenty of places to fill your bottles with cold drinking water yourself if you need to.
There are two main bars : pool and stage. Pool bar is open all day, and stage bar opens mostly in the evening, and for a short period in the morning.
Bar staff are quite friendly. Waiters roaming around pool + stage will take orders and bring drinks to table/sunbed, but you'll want to tip occasionally if you expect repeat service.
The coffee machines in the restaurant are only turned on at breakfast time. Outside those times you need to go the pool bar, where you can either use self service machine, or get one made by hand.

Entertainment:
The entertainment staff are great, and very friendly.

There's one stage. Every evening starts with "lolly and pop" kid's disco, where entertainers do some "comedy", then sing+dance the same songs. Then the two mascots (Stella and Starky, which look link bananas but are actually "stars") come on and present prizes/certificates for the kids' club games/activities. Our two loved this bit.

Then there's the main show, which was actually not bad. Over 10 nights we saw 3 live bands, playing real instruments, who were quite good, all playing covers ("rock night", "blues/soul brothers" and another doing female-led songs). These were probably the first time I've ever actually enjoyed the entertainment at an all inclusive! Another night was "bubble man", blowing soap bubbles, and climbing inside a giant balloon. The kids loved him, and still talk about him. The other nights were mostly the entertainers singing and dancing along to backing music, but they did it well. For example they did "frozen" one night, which the kids loved. We managed to make it to the end of the shows a few nights, with the boys falling asleep in chair/pushchair.

Kids' club
Can't really comment. 5-year-old tried it once, but wasn't keen. It seemed like he'd be sitting around drawing and making stuff in the morning, and he preferred to be at the splash pool with his brother, we didn't insist on him going. Other kids seemed to be enjoying it. He might have preferred the afternoon activities more.

Beach:
Went there once. It's a public beach, not part of the hotel. 15 euros for a parasol and 2 beds for the day. There's one bar on the beach, with loos. It's quite small, but a nice change from the massive long beaches in main resort towns. We spent one day there, as the kids loved the pools in the hotels so much. It is so close you could just pop down for building sandcastles and a bit of a splash in the sea, then return to hotel, which is right next door. You can pop back to hotel for drinks and food.

Guests:
I'd guess at maybe 70% German, 10% English, 20% other (I heard French, Dutch, Russian, Spanish). All very nice and polite. No noise or rowdiness. We had two different German families next door, who were very friendly. Parents around the kids pool would chat to you and were very nice.

Location.
There's not much around the hotel apart from other hotels, apartments, a few shops, and a couple of restaurants. But that's nice if you're not wanting to stay in a big noisy resort, and was fine for us. We took the road-train to the local town one day (12 euros total return for 2 adults + 1 child, with toddler going free). It stops outside the hotel, but got very full. We only just got on. Get there 10-20 minutes early at least. It drove straight past some later stops, as it was full. There's just one, running every hour or so. Took about 20 minutes to get to the town. Was a nice enough ride. There are also normal buses, more regularly, and a taxi wouldn't be too expensive.

Overall.
A very nice holiday. I would return.

Room tip: Ground floor overlooking the pool was good for kids. Good location and quiet at night.
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank RomseyRocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteles2017, Quality manager at Iberostar Pinos Park, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Dear Guest,

First of all, we want you to know we are really pleased that you had such an excellent holiday with us at IBEROSTAR Pinos Park and we want to thank you for sharing your experience with others.

Our entertainment team will be particularly pleased by your praise, the entire team is not only particularly hospitable but is also given continuous training. We are therefore very pleased that both the efforts of our employees and our passionately prepared gastronomy have left a wonderful impression on you.

Thank you again for sharing your motivating comments and we look forward to your next visit to our hotel.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Pinos Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews