We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
US$214
View deal
Free cancellation until 26/05/22
Booking.com
US$230
View deal
Free cancellation until 25/05/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Agoda.com
US$191
View deal
Free cancellation until 25/05/22
Trip.comUS$219
PricelineUS$255
ZenHotels.comUS$291
View all 16 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,981)
Filter reviews
1,981 results
Traveller rating
1,491
356
95
28
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,491
356
95
28
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ocean room tuk tuk sri lanka indian ocean infinity pool our honeymoon stunning hotel baby turtles yala national park a la carte menu pool staff seafood the ground floor sea view whale watching half board welcome drink
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 1,981 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2020 via mobile

Driving off the busy Galle - Koggala through the huge front hotel gate the name says it all. This hotel is an oasis fortress to calm. Straight onto a sandy beach, great sea view rooms and massive pools set in the lawns with sun beds what’s not to like. Perfect food and all dealt with by the best staff we encountered during our time in Sri Lanka. Perfect. We’ll be back.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 236miket236
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fortressresort, Guest Relations Manager at The Fortress Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2020

Dear Guest,

Ayubowan from The Fortress Resort and Spa!

It is always a great pleasure to read reviews of satisfied guests. We are very happy and delighted that we were able to create the pleasant experience and make a difference to you in our resort.

Your appreciation will be shared with the team to ensure they are motivated to strive for excellence.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to The Fortress.

Warmest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2020 via mobile

In the scheme of things all of the points here seem fussy but when paying five star money it is reasonable to expect world class service.

Great things about this hotel

- The super friendly service staff
- The quality of the accomodation - both soft and hard furnishings
- The location
- The food and drink
-The spa

Where the hotel lets itself down is customer service especially from the management.

Examples

- I asked if we needed to book a table for dinner. We were told no need. Another team member later suggested we should book - so we did. We requested a specific table and were told this would be reserved for us. When we arrived in the restaurant the table had been taken by another guest. No major drama. We asked to book for the same table the next evening - was told this would be fine - and arrived the second night to find the table taken. Not five star service.

- At dinner - different people asking if we would like to order more food and drink - even once orders places - showing a lack of communication between team members.

- Tea in the lounge - no other customers there and one member of staff. Twelve minutes before we are acknowledged and asked if we would like to order.

- Asked a couple of weeks in advance if we could have a 2.5 hour late check out. On check in we were told it would not be possible as the hotel is full. Not a problem. Later asked a staff member if the hotel is full - replied no - just over 50 per cent occupancy. Late check out granted - car booked - an hour before hand told we need to be out of the room at two.

In the scheme of things none of these things matter but for five star service such issues should be rare and everything should be seamless.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank stc8190
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fortressresort, Resident Manager at The Fortress Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2020

We thank the reviewer for their recent stay at the Fortress and feedback regarding the Location, Room, Food and Beverage, Spa and very especially about our staff.

We apologize for the mishap and miscommunication with regard to the table reservation in the restaurant and the Tea lounge service.We have addressed the matter with the relevant department.

With regard to the late checkout, as mentioned by my Front Office team to the clients due to the limited inventory of rooms and the high demand, late checkouts are given only on availability. With the current health scare situation there were a few cancellations and ad on’s with regard to the occupancy. But anyhow the reviewers request was obliged a day prior and a late checkout was offered till 2.30pm .

We thank the reviewer once again for their compliments and feedback.

We look forward to welcoming the reviewer back to the Fortress in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2020

Our reunion group of 30 stopped for lunch at The Salty Snapper while traveling to Colombo from Hambantota. The lunch was very tasty, plentiful, and fresh. It was a hot day and the ice cream really hit the spot!
The location is beautiful and it’s a very serene stop!
Thanks Asela Rajakaruna!

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank ayesha s
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fortressresort, Guest Relations Manager at The Fortress Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2020

Dear Guest,

Ayubowan from The Fortress Resort and Spa!

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave feedback about your dining experience.

We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful experience with us, and enjoyed everything that we had to offer. We are especially happy to hear that Asela was able to make such a positive impression on you.

Thank you once again for your compliments and we look forward to welcoming you and your group back real soon!

Warmest Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2020

Just spent three days at The a Fortress, the welcome on arrival was a great first impression ,the food was outstanding and good choices ,the staff are very helpful and professional ,would recommended this hotel for all ages

Date of stay: February 2020
1  Thank meghill243
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fortressresort, Guest Relations Manager at The Fortress Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2020

Dear Guest,

Ayubowan from The Fortress Resort and Spa!

It is always a great pleasure to read reviews of satisfied guests. Particularly regarding the service of our very amicable staff.

We are very happy and delighted that we were able to create the pleasant experience and make a difference to you in our resort.

Your appreciation will be shared with the team to ensure they are motivated to strive for excellence.
We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to The Fortress.

Warmest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2020

I visited this hotel with my husband for a very short holiday. The hotel was built with Dutch architectural features of the old Ceylon. There is an infinity pool and the there is beach access from the hotel. There is a natural pool with crystal clear water.

We stayed at the Ocean room which was overlooking the sea. The room had all the amenities and the setting was beautiful. It had a bathtub with Jacuzzi facilities, a wine cellar, Bvlgari bath products and ..... as special features compared to other 5 star hotels. Also they change towels and clean room even at night when we are out for dinner.

The staff is simply the best. They are very friendly and attentive. The same friendliness and care is visible from the reception staff, pool staff, security, restaurant staff and basically all of them. We were the only locals in the hotel during our days, but there service did not change even a bit because we are locals, which is not the case in many down south places. The food is also delicious and the breakfast had so many options.

In conclusion, this is truly a 5 star hotel with 5 star service. Will definitely recommend for a relaxing, luxurious holiday.

Room tip: It;s better to go with the Ocean room or higher, than going for the garden room because you get a good sea view and it's very soothing.
Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank sheish123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fortressresort, Guest Relations Manager at The Fortress Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2020

Dear Guest,

Ayubowan from The Fortress Resort and Spa!

It is always a great pleasure to read reviews of satisfied guests. Particularly regarding the service of our very amicable staff.

We are very happy and delighted that we were able to create the pleasant experience and make a difference to you in our resort.

Your appreciation will be shared with the team to ensure they are motivated to strive for excellence.
We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to The Fortress.

Warmest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews