We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,703)
Filter reviews
1,703 results
Traveller rating
1,263
324
83
23
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,263
324
83
23
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ocean room bose sound system tuk tuk seafood buffet sri lanka jacuzzi bath indian ocean infinity pool our honeymoon baby turtles amazing hotel yala national park open plan luxury hotel walk in shower overlooking the ocean rooms are huge
Filter
Updating list...
120 - 125 of 1,703 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Beautiful location. We chose the package that included breakfast and evening meal. The food was amazing. The beach location is perfect with the ocean only a few steps away. The staff are very friendly

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank juliejames496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Stopped by for dinner with friends. Even though the weather was very humid, the atmosphere was fantastic with live acoustic guitar performance and ocean breeze. Food was a little salty so don't forget to ask depending on your taste

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank elisforest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

This is our second visit to the fortress and every bit as good, if not better. We married at this lovely hotel 5 years ago and came back to celebrate our wedding anniversary and my 50th. The fortress offers just about everything, we were so well looked after,care,attention and fine detail goes to make this hotel a really wonderful stay. The staff are just incredible so polite and courteous, any problems or worries, it is rectified instantly.
Ideally located over looking the beach,the views are stunning, you have the best of both worlds here,either choose to have a relaxing holiday or go off and explore,there's plenty to see. Laxiri and his pool team are just faultless, they will always prepare you a sun bed by the pool with fresh towels. I agree with a previous comment,Laxiri definitely needs recognition,he is very passionate with regards to the baby turtles, will let you know when they are due to hatch and we had the most wonderful experience of releasing them into the sea.
We stayed in an ocean room up one floor,beautiful views,good size balcony, huge room,of which you could relax in. Large bathroom with double sinks,massive shower and a spa bath. Yes the bathroom could do with a little makeover, exterior only,just a recommendation but in no way does it effect your stay,I would go back a 100 times if I could.our room was kept beautifully clean,daily, water, tea and coffee stocked up,turn down service too.Every credit to the chaps,they work so hard,we daily had beautiful flowers placed on our bed.
We dined at the restaurant a few times, great service and food,in line with UK prices, the wine a little expensive. I cannot fault the food at all,breakfast was brilliant, the best I have ever had, massive variety, everything homemade,breads, cakes, pastries. Hot breakfast or curry if you prefer,which was delicious. We tried the srilankan night and the curries were out of this world. We did not try the salty snapper, the upstairs bar needs to be utilised more,as it's lovely, we didn't realise that happy hour was on most nights, perhaps advertise this a little more as great cocktails and canapés.
We booked a special dinner outside by the pool for our anniversary, of many courses,this was magical, they made it look so pretty, service was faultless as was the food. Thank-you to Gayani,who organised this and made it so very special, lovely lady who Coordinated our wedding, could not do enough for you,very professional but with such a warm nature.
There is an abundance of things to do outside the hotel, we organised quite a few trips, cycling through paddy fields, whale watching. We ate out alot,finding a tuk tuk is easy and cheap,around £4 into unawatuna, definitely worth venturing outside, always felt safe too.
If your looking for a perfect holiday of a lifetime, I would book without hesitation, can't recommend the fortress enough. Special mention to Kasun,ranjith,Gayani, laksiri, nuwan,upul,charmind,sarunga,Saman and many more who all made this holiday just fantastic, a huge big thank-you.
Best regards the buntings.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank nickyd164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

Just arrived back from Sri Lanka having stayed at the delightful Fortress for 2 weeks, wonderful hotel with fabulous staff who were so helpful. We would recommend the Ocean Rooms as the views are spectacular. Our trip made even more special when we met Chamin a Tuk Tuk driver who was helpful and informative and who spoke good English and took us out each night to savour the delights of the local cuisine we would highly recommend the hotel and give Chamin a call 0977 627 8832 if you want a good guide and experience the real Sri Lanka

Jean and John

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4  Thank Jean and John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

The fortress resort was first class in every shape and form. We stayed for 7 nights.,
All staff were brilliant and helpful, our room was very spacious and immaculate.
Our highlight was realising the baby turtles on the hotel beach.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank gladden7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews