We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Destinia.com
StayForLong
ZenHotels.com
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (54)
Filter reviews
54 results
Traveller rating
32
15
3
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
32
15
3
3
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 54 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights in the big bedroom far infront of the lake, it was a stunning colonial very spacious room with four poster bed. The bathroom was stunning, with a huge stone walled open shower with natural sunlight seeping in. The entire place is simply stunning, quiet, in the middle of pure jungle and lake and it has a very old colonial feel to it. This said it needs a bit of money and attention put into it. There were only 3 staff running the place, all of them lovely and very pleasant. It’s a no frills place, you need to take it as it is to get the best of it, the setting is just magnificent, there are loads of bunnies hopping around that belong to the man that runs the hotel. Take a boat taxi around the lake, stunning, and if you need a tuk tuk, the manager also has one. We didn’t eat there so cannot comment on the food.

Personally I loved the stay but make sure you ask for the biggest room at the end of the lake and don’t expect too much attention from the staff. It is a natural, back to basics but enchanting place.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Demadridenlondres
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 November 2016

amazing place, situated near the koggala lake It has its own security and when your there you are in a world of your own. It is very colonial. It only has 5 rooms or so . within the villa, you have fish areas cooling the place down. The furniture is old and amazing.

Room tip: best views
Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Mudara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Premalal, General Manager at Villa Modarawattha, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2017

Ayubowan…!!!
Many thanks for posting your review on TripAdvisor, your encouraging comments and description as a whole pertaining to your experience at Villa Modarawattha.
Once again thanks for your lovely feedback and for giving us a top score of 5.
Best regards,
Premalal & Villa Modarawattha team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2016 via mobile

As a family we booked this amazing place for one night. This villa is situated near the koggala lake and I can't explain how amazing this place specially for those who busy all the time and seeking a quite beautiful place to lay down and relax. The garden is green with full of temple trees, coconut trees and many more different kind of trees.the fresh breeze coming of out the lake will take you to the heaven. Rooms are not that special to me but the living area and structure of this villa is fantastic. Even the furniture enhance the beauty of this small villa.Also they do have fast wifi, clean rooms, nice pool and many more facilities. We only had breakfast at this place and it was so good.it wasn't a big meal but was enough for all of us.it was tasty and clean. The staff also good and helpful.We enjoyed our stay at this amazing place and will definitely return.thanks for making our holiday remarkable.

Date of stay: May 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Sue1114
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Premalal, General Manager at Villa Modarawattha, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017


Ayubowan...!!!
It was indeed a pleasure in having you visit our Hotel and thank you very much for sharing in detail your experience on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you enjoyed our facility and services .Your appreciation of the same inspires us to work harder towards total customer satisfaction.
We sincerely look forward to host you during your future visit to us.
Warm Regards.
Premalal & Villa Modarawattha team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2016 via mobile

Situated on Koggala lake, this old colonial house and grounds are truly stunning. The property retains most of its original features and ridding yourself of technology (coupled with the frequent power outages) really puts you in another century. The wildlife is incredible. We witnessed a fight between a rabbit and monitor lizard while eating our breakfast and the fireflies at night are amazing.

The reason for rating is that the owner/management (who I believe own many hotels in the area) are totally reliant on the setting and seemingly not that worried about putting any effort into making it better. That said the staff present were very pleasant.

While dinner was advertised, we were told that this was in a neighbouring hotel. Not a major problem, but this should be clarified. This place is special and I would recommend it but with some additional effort and attention from the management it could be a first class experience.

Date of stay: December 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank ASu131m6n
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Premalal, General Manager at Villa Modarawattha, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017

Ayubowan...!!!
Thank you very much for your candid review of your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay. greatly appreciate your comments about aspects that need updating. It is a pleasure to announce that we will be implementing many of upgrades to the property within the next couple of months.. It would be such a pleasure to personally welcome you back to our new and improved hotel!once again, thank you for your comments.
Best regards,
Premalal & Villa Modarawattha Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2016

Only Two downsides on this property . 1 no a/c in rooms and 2 the pool was warm but................if you discard them what a find. This place is amazing . It has its own security and when your there your in a world of your own. It is very colonial. It only has 5 rooms or so . within the villa you have fish areas cooling the place down. The furniture is old and amazing and you can sit all day on the balcony drinking tea and reading your book. If you want to go out get a TUK TUK to one of the nearby hotels or restaurants. Its ideally located for Mirissa (whales) Turtles on way to Galle,Galle and Stilt fishermen. This is a really Relaxing Stop and comes well recommended

Room tip: Not Room 3 as air flow restricted by wall outside
Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank bowdenkeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Premalal, General Manager at Villa Modarawattha, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017

Ayubowan...!!!
It is heart-warming to read reviews of our satisfied guests. Thank you for taking time to share your experience of staying with us on line. We are so pleased your stay was enjoyable and that you found our services and facilities to your liking. Thank you again for a lovely review!
Hope to greet you again soon. Thank you very much for your patronage.
Best Regards,
Premalal & Villa Modarawattha Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews