We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$130
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
US$146
View deal
eDreams
Booking.comUS$130
TravelocityUS$146
View all 11 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (64)
Filter reviews
64 results
Traveller rating
32
22
4
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
32
22
4
4
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 64 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2018

We came here for lunch and the rice and curry was very wholesome. Cant comment about the accommodation. We left happy and satisfied.

The service was spot on and we would come back for the good interior design.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TylorD18
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 July 2017 via mobile

I belive not all the villa are the same! I was in the last villa at the bottom and was a real paradise i love the fact that i can have breakfast at the villa lunch outside and i can cook my own food in the evening! Great location great staff, beautiful and clean just make sure you pay a little more and you get the top villa!

Date of stay: July 2017
1  Thank 471martar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 April 2016

Having stayed here last week for 5 nights..find below some of the pros and more importantly the cons of Tisara villas!

Pros:
Pleasant surroundings
Room / breakfast service boys - helpful and attentive

Cons:
As the pictures show, little care is taken by the management in the maintenance of the villas. Given the problems with mosquitos, providing nets with holes in really is going too far. Surely they can replace them!!

Generally very little has been done over the years which is now very evident both in the decor, furnishings (2x pool loungers broke during our stay)

They should also take care at breakfast if you have young children. The hot water urn for DOT coffee (not seen for years) was just at touching height for a 2 year old..

Would also echo earlier reviews that the service boys are very good but the management disinterested, however very quick to show where the tip Box was....!!

As I say, proceed with caution..

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Jefferys_C2976
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 January 2016

We stayed at Tisara Villas for 10 days in November. We were a couple and we had a whole 2 bedroom villa four ourselves, which was amazing. Each villa has also nice living room, kitchen, 2 bathrooms and a little garden.
We have read about lots of mosquitos - that is true. But- you have many mosquito smoke repellers prepared and if you also bring some spray, it is quite ok I think. The resort is situated near a huge lake, in a big jungle like garden, sou you can expect mosquitos being there. The hotel garden is really beautiful, you can see monkeys jumping in the trees, iguanas walking by, cute squirrels and so on. There is a nice swimming pool in the centre of the resort.
Concerning the food, that is something the resort needs to work on. Breakfast ( being served by the pool) consist of toast bread, some butter and jelly, eggs and sometimes some fruit... so the choice is kinda poor. The dinner - you always preorder in the afternoon and you can have it served by the pool or brought to you room. I must say that the food wasn't great either.. so we rather went to local restaurants ( which are not many at the area, so its better to rent a motorbike and go to Unawatuna, Galle etc).
The staff at the hotel is very kind and helpful.
There are bikes for free at the resort so you can travel around if you don't want to drive a motorbike, because the hotel is not close to the beach.
Despite the food, we liked our stay at Tisara Villas a lot.

Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank itsglacevanille
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 January 2016

These villas have 2 large bedrooms, complete with king size beds and huge outdoor bathrooms. Bedding is clean, but a bit tired. Mosquito nets could do with replacing. The living area is also very spacious, as is the kitchen (although we didn't use it much). The villa is very dark inside, that's just the style, but we ended up using a torch to see what was in the wardrobe! The surroundings are verdant, with monitor lizards skulking through the undergrowth, monkeys swinging through the trees and an array of birdlife. However, it is quite buggy and we never seemed to be able to escape the mosquitos. This isn't necessarily a criticism, but something you should be aware of - it is quite jungly.
The shared outdoor pool is nice and shady, which is good if, like us, you are travelling with very young children. Breakfast is fine: some cereal, fruit, eggs - fairly standard Sri Lanka fare. Evening meals are not so great - they haven't quite cracked this, but there are plenty of excellent places to eat in the area. The staff are very friendly, but the management comes across as a bit lazy - not much effort to help us with organising transfers etc, but quick to show us where the tips box was. Try to hook up with a tuk-tuk driver named Sunil - he is excellent and will show you around some of the local treasures (the nearby Koggala lake is beautiful) Overall, it is a very pleasant, quite sleepy little cluster of villas from which to base a holiday in Southern Sri Lanka.

Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank HanCol2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews