We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
Booking.com
eDreams
View all 9 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (295)
Filter reviews
295 results
Traveller rating
86
91
59
35
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
86
91
59
35
24
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 295 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

We came to this resort second time and booked first line sea view deluxe room and AllInclusive. Its great to sleep and wake up near great Indian ocean! Food in restaurant is good but sometime spicy. Be aware about local holidays when full moon, shops and caffees are closed outside of resort and alcohol drinks are prohibited. Because of big waves here, wr drive in local bus to Unavatuna, its a great place for swiming,diving.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Igor N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kushan N, Resident Manager at Club Koggala Village, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Ayubowan,

Thank you for share your recent holiday experience with Trip advisor & we are glad to hear that you were fully comfortable with your holiday at Koggala Beach Hotel.

It was a prestige to have a valuable guest as you & looking forward to welcoming to next holiday.

Best regards,

Kushan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018

Stayed for a week at the end of February. We chose this hotel as we wanted to be not too far for whale watching in Mirissa. The rooms are old and outdated. The food is very mediocre, for Sri lanka this was surprising. We have been 7 times to this wonderful country and can honestly say this is the worse hotel that we had to stay in. The staff are left to their own devices, with no supervision. We had to wait in average 15-20 minutes at the pool bar to get a drink as the barman regularly went walk about. As an ex hotelier, my fingers were very itchy to get hold of this establishment because it has a lot of potential and it is such a shame that it is left unattended most of the time. During our week stay, never seen one member of management of any kind which i find very surprising.
The beach is good, but sea a little wild, but the swimming pool very nice. Apart from that, rooms are out dated and very old.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank marknicolebowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kushan N, Resident Manager at Club Koggala Village, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Ayubowan,

Thank you for review on trip advisor & We regret the unexpected experience during your stay with us. All your comments have been addressed & rectified. we will continue work on improving the quality of our product & services.

Please accept our sincere apologies & we hope that you will allow us to welcome back to Club Koggala Village for experienced enhanced services and product during your next visit.

Best regards,

Kushan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2018

We booked 28 days at this hotel from 11th January 2018 and although we enjoyed our holiday it was not without problems.

Firstly, We did not use the Resuarant at this hotel but would like to say that all the other staff were excellent, they were always pleasant and helpful. The hotel was in a good location with lovely views but in need of a major refurbishment. We liked it nontheless.
Close by or for 200 Ruppees (about 91p) return in a tuk tuk there was a main line railway staion and local shops. Outside the hotel you could get a bus to virtually anywhere every few minutes or get a tuk tuk, they were usually parked up. We used the train to Colombo paying 200 Ruppees (2nd Class) each, each way (about 3 hours) where we had a few days away, 3rd class was 110 Ruppees (about 50p) each, each way. We used the bus to Galle 35 Ruppees (about 16p) each, each way.

On our first full day we went to lunch 30 minutes into service and the chef informed us "There is no food left, the R******'s have eaten it all, I can give you a plate of French Fries" which we accepted but did not eat as when they were ready the chef threw them onto somebody else's table. There were other guests waiting for food that never arrived and they were eventually told to eat the fish as there was no chicken left at this lunchtime meal. After a large meeting with the Rep and others we were allowed to eat and drink at meal times at The Koggala Beach Hotel where the food and staff were excellent. After Several days we were informed that the food situation had been resolved at the Club Koggala Village so we tried the Hotel Restaurant again, but, again there was little food and they had scraped the food in to the centre of the servers making it immediately inedible. We left this restaurant to eat at The Koggala Hotel for the rest of our holiday.

The hotel is in need of a big refurbishment there are some uneven paving stones in parts of the bar/pool patio area, ceiling paint falling of the ceiling as we slept, which came as a shock in the middle of the night, a dangerious beach stairway that had danger tape nearly all the way along the beach fence, not enough sunbeds as most have towels on them early although the Pool Man did always try to find us some, usually doing on the spot repairs to them as we waited.
We were All Inclusive but it came as a shock to find that you had to pay for wine, champagne, bottled drinks and some cocktails and outside of Restuarant times you also had to pay for tea and coffee although they did supply 2 tea bags and 2 sachets of coffee in the room along with a kettle. One litre of bottled water was placed in our room daily and they would also fill bottles at the bar.

Room tip: We has a bungalow and liked our dated room (You could hear the sea at night)
Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Trevor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kushan N, Resident Manager at Club Koggala Village, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Ayubowan

Thanking for your feedback made on trip advisor & all your comments are important us to improve the services, standard in our product.We appreciated the comment made on to our team & its make an encouragement to their services.

We apologize for the inconvenience & we offer you to use the facilities at our sister hotel too. We are regret to inform you that wine, champagne are do not included in All inclusive package & those are at an extra cost. Hotel is providing local alcoholic spirits, 07 varieties of soft drinks, 05 varieties of mocktails, 07 varieties of cocktails, beer, evening tea with snacks, 02 bottle of water to the room daily basis. That all about the All-inclusive package & anything out of this are to be paid. we never placed refilled water bottles to a room.

We have well noted concern area by you & necessary steps are implemented. Thaks again for being with us & lookforward to welcome you for the next holiday at Club Koggala Village.

Best regards,

Kushan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2018

We loved our stay here, lovely sea view from our bungalow style room. The room was spacious, bed comfy & ample tea/coffee making facilities. Superb views from the bungalow with the sound of the sea constant.
The hotel is in a great location and well planned out, there are sunbeds on the beach and both on the sea side and pool side of the bungalows, so it never feels busy - add in a lovely large pool.
Personally we loved the food, our 4th visit to Sri Lanka (other hotels) and we knew what to expect. Fish dishes were always available and the local tempered dishes were superb, fresh salad was also available with every meal.
We found the staff very friendly throughout our stay and the whole hotel could be superb with a little bit more attention to detail (broken sunbeds, properly setting tables).
Overall we were more than happy, great value for money and would definitely return.

Room tip: Room 615, and next door 616 are possibly the best two rooms view wise overlooking the fisherman stilts.
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kushan N, Resident Manager at Club Koggala Village, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2018

Ayubowan,

Appreciated your generous recommendation to the hotel & it was a pleasure that you had a great holiday at Club Koggala Village.

Our team always strives to provide the best services to guests & leave the resort with a memorable story. All your compliments of our product, services have been shared with a team & it makes encouragement to entire staff.

We look forward to welcoming you soon to our paradise.

Warm regards,

Kushan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2018 via mobile

Food getting better rooms clean views excellent no nigh time entertainment a very relaxing place for shops and super market 2 miles in tut tut 100rupe each way 50 pence hotel friendly first week food cold And kept running out of food restaurants very dated Big meeting with representative things A little better

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank steve t
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kushan N, Resident Manager at Club Koggala Village, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2018

Ayubowan,

Thank you for review on Trip advisor end of your vacation at Club Koggala Village & we apologize for the inconvenience you had during the stay.

We have already improved services & facilities at the hotel & appreciated your positive comment made in foods & a room. We have scheduled entrainment program to enjoy the evening.

We look forward to welocme you again at Club Koggala Village in future.

Regards,
Kushan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews