We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning view fantastic hosts”
other travellers have booked this property
sunset
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
sunset
another stunning view of Rethymnon port main bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
sunset
another stunning view of Rethymnon port
main bedroom
main bedroom
two sofa beds
kitchenette with family fridge
Kitchen utensils
view from kitchen
bathroom
the sofa in the yard
the gorge...
Rethymnon as you can see it from the terrace
sunset...
...another romantic sunset
our pool
our little chapel
apt yard
sunset at the pool
enjoying your cocktail at pool
beautiful wild flowers all around our place
pool, cocktail, view..
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Maroulas, Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
squaresau...
paris
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning view fantastic hosts”
Reviewed 4 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

First thing that impressed us was the welcome from Maria and her family. The apartment was a good size for the three of us . The first night we ate at their restaurant and Maria told us that we should treat the place as our own. The breakfast which was included in the the price of the apartment was huge and to be honest I felt a little bit ashamed because the price of the apartment was not not very expensive , it also included air conditioning , a pool in a small private garden , a small kitchen ( which we didn't use as we ate in their restaurant most nights) and a stunning veiw of Rethymon on one side and of the mountains on the other side. Thankyou so much Maria and family you made a great holiday truly fantastic. See you again one day .

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John A
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“April 2016 Stay At THAVMA”
Reviewed 11 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Trip advisor reviews can be misleading but in this case ithey proved to be accurate and more. The roads out of Rethymno can be confusing with the motorway and old road running parallel with Thavma well signed off the old road. If travelling on old road you exit at Rathmyno/Amari and go under the motorway and follow sign for monastery passing Lidl which we used for stay. Stay includes breakfast and appartment has limited cooking facilities but the convenience, quality and price of Taverna means we ate there every evening. Taverna is a family affair run by young Maria and others and we were adopted into Maria's family for a week enjoying Cretan specialities and also banter. The appartment is compact but well finished with a main double bedroom and showeroom leading off the kitchen/sofa bed (2) area which leads out to a private area with cold tub/pool overlooking the gorge. Nothing can prepare you for the final directional sign of "up the hill" which is 1st gear followed by topping out at the edge of the gorge. Whilst 4th to 11th weather was still in low 20's with some wind funnelling down gorge. Distances in Crete are longer than you expect due to twist mountainous roads when going N to S. Recommend Amari Valley, Chania, Axos but be aware museums and sites typically shut at 3pm. Sunsets, starry nights are spectacular views are guaranteed.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelstu...
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“"Room with a view" the best view”
Reviewed 7 March 2015 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We found this secret retreat last year whilst enjoying the perfect sundowner at the Thavma taverna.
Tucked to the rear of the taverna but with panoramic views of the snow capped mountains the facility's are modern, very clean and well equipped.
The mini kitchen we did not use as the taverna produces some of the best traditional food in the area.
Also breakfast can be served outside your room which is a non stop supply of fresh fruit, eggs, meats and breads topped off with local honey on toast.
This family really care about your needs and cannot do enough for you !
The only negative was the journey to the beach to cool down in the sea but I believe this problem is now sorted with a 16m2 pool which has just been installed.

Looking forward to returning this season and enjoying a night cap in the pool whilst stargazing the shooting stars in this light pollution free hillside.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Mar 2015
Hello! Thank you for taking the time to write this review! It's very kind of you. Hope to see you again this summer to offer you a perfect stay enjoying our breakfast and our brand new swimming pool!
Take care. ..Maria
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bujal78
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Perfect place for couple/family getaway. If you like noise, dirty swimming pools and hostile service...well its not place for you. But if you like peace and silence, you enjoy great views REAL Crete food, you want to feel like a part of the family where every day Maria or her Mom welcomes you with smile and you feel like at home...well you have to stay there
We stayed 10 days, had rental car so all good stuff located in Chania or Heraklion are only like 1-1,5h away so not bad....we will be back...We miss you

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: attitude of owner they made me feel like a part of the familly
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Nov 2014
Hi! Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review! We miss you very much! It was a great pleasure to have you with us! Hope to see you soon! Take care...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alaana
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“There are no words to describe this wonderful paradise ...”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

It's been a year since I was here ..I just never want to leave !!
Delicious food..lovely room so comfortable and welcoming ..and above all the most beautiful family I've ever met in all my 36 years in Greece ..it's just for me like coming home!!!
Breathtaking scenery ..stunning sunsets ..in all the years traveling in Greece and that's over 65 Islands,I've never experienced such a warm welcome and stayed in a more beautiful place.
It's a must if your in Crete !!!.....your thank me so much and for sure feel as I do..
I had to take time to write another review this year again, because I feel anyone coming to Crete needs to know about Thavma !!!.....tomorrow I leave to continue my travels a but only to return for sure next year,..

Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2014
Hi my beloved ! Thank you for coming "home" this year again! We feel like having a member of our family living abroad and coming back home once a year...We do love you and we expect you to come again next year! Take care...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing