We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,232)
Filter reviews
2,232 results
Traveller rating
1,800
322
75
27
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,800
322
75
27
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden poolsun hatsthai nightwedding plannerfruit kebabsour honeymoonkoh samuion the rocksboutique resortfresh flowersbeach frontfire dancersbbq nightthai dancerscocktail partybeach bagthai buffet
Filter
Updating list...
134 - 139 of 2,232 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

It has been 3 years and we have returned. Greeted by a welcome display in our room and a lovely note from Martin. The bottle of local bubbly was very appreciated and not a bad drop either!

The best way that I can describe this resort is welcoming. It is small enough that you do not get the bus loads coming every day. The staff are very welcoming and really want to know where you are from and what is it like. If you find someone that does not engage you, they are usually very shy and most likely in a background service role. Try greeting them in Thai, and you will have a smiling friendly face.

There are 2 pools at the resort. The smaller pool is down at the beach, while the larger pool is up the hill. The lager pool is split into 2 having a deeper section and a seperate shallower section that is suitable for children.

The 2 restaurants on site serve really good food. I enjoyed celebrating my birthday and was again surprised when a cake was brought out and the staff singing happy birthday.

Also don’t miss the Wednesday night cocktail party. An hour of complimentary cocktails and nibbles. The management are all there and it is wonderful to meet the people that make this place run.

If you are looking for kilometres of soft white sand, hundreds of hotel rooms on a flat piece of land and cheap Pad Thai just outside the front gate, this resort is not for you. If you are looking for Local flavour and hospitality, a relaxing place to get away from the grind of daily life, you will enjoy this resort. Suitable for the romantic getaway and families too.

Many thanks from Milan, Sonia, Ryan and Lachlan.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Milan1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockys_Boutique, Guest Relations Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear Milan1111,

Greetings from Rocky's Boutique Resort!.

Thank you for choosing us again for your holiday destination with your family and for sharing your wonderful experience about your recent stay with us.

It's really a pleasure to welcome our returning guests with a warm big smile and superb service that we offer to all our guests.

We are all thrilled that you had another amazing holiday at Rocky's.

The entire team will be very happy to see your positive review about us and will work harder to receive more positive feedback.

Thank you once again for staying with us for the second time and we look forward to welcoming you back here again. I hope next year.

Best Personal Regards,

Ariane Evangelista
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

This is one of the best places I’ve ever stayed. Wonderful setting, staff are so friendly and attentive, rooms are brilliant and the food is amazing. Lots of activity’s in the evenings too including a few cocktail evening and a beach bbq with fire dancers who were incredible. Great atmosphere and the private beach is just ideal. There are two pools and two restaurants so there is choice for when you don’t want to venture out. Can’t recommend highly enough.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rebecca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockys_Boutique, Guest Relations Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Dear Rebecca P,

Greetings from Rocky's Boutique Resort!.

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your wonderful experience to all travelers and trip advisor readers.

I am thrilled to know that you were satisfied with Rocky's setting, friendly and attentive staff, rooms and amazing food and everything that Rocky's has to offer.

Thank you for sharing you kind review with us.

Will give you another fantastic holiday on your next stay with us, I hope soon.
Email us anytime or visit our Facebook or Instagram page for more Rocky's updates.

Thank you once again for choosing Rocky's Boutique Resort to spend your precious holiday.

Best Personal Regards,

Ariane Evangelista
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

'At Rocky's, you're family' is their moto but the reality is that you are treated more like royalty. We have never had such amazing service in all of the countries and hotels we have visited. This one being our 5 holiday this year it outshone the other hotels by a mile. The accommodation is impeccable and the staff were attentive, friendly and their attention to detail was second to none. My husband and I travelled with our 4 children aged 1, 3, 9 and 14 and also with my parents aged 65 and all of us agree that this is by far the best holiday we have ever been on. We were collected from the airport (which I highly recommend) as the people carrier that collected us was luxurious, cool and had cold bottles of water and cool/damp face towels which was exactly what we needed after our 17hour flight. This was one of the many attention to detail thing we found at rockys. Our pool view rooms were set in the middle of a tropical paradise. Every night had a theme and we were especially amazed by the BBQ on the beach with the fire jugglers. We hired jet skis one day and went out on the Resorts Fishing boat the Josephine another. I would highly recommend this too as after the fishing we went snorkelling and then to the most beautiful island for a drink and a paddle in the turquoise sea. The bedrooms are immaculate and the kids club was fantastic! We were delighted with how safe we felt leaving our kids in the capable hands of OH in the kids club and she also babysat for us a few times while we went out to the night markets. What an amazing resort!! Special thank you to Martin, Ariane, & Oh xxxxx

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Ascot146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockys_Boutique, Guest Relations Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Dear Ascot146,

Greetings from Rocky's Boutique Resort!.

Thank you for choosing our resort and for taking the time to share your comments with us and other travelers planning their holiday to the beautiful Koh Samui.

Our main goal here is to exceed guests expectation and to make sure that all our guests are having a great time. And we always make sure that we deliver the service with a smile.

It is wonderful that you felt our team's commitment toward creating a lovely stay for you and our other guests. Attention to details is really important to us, this is our way of delivering high standard service and yes we treat all our guests like family.

Thank you for mentioning our theme nights like BBQ on the beach, facilities like kids club. Khun O who is very bubbly to all the kids will be delighted to read your comment.

I'm happy to see my name mentioned here and Martin for sure will be thrilled to read this. I can't wait to share it to everyone.

It would be a delight to welcome you back here in the future.

Thank you once again for making our resort your preferred choice to spend you family holiday.

Best Personal Regards,

Ariane Evangelista
Guest Relation Manager




Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

This is our 8th day of 10. Cannot fault Rocky's. Staff, accommodation, food & booze a bit expensive, but that's endemic of a resort.
We have a sea facing suite 306, lovely.
The GM Martin, is always on hand, watching and adding his considerable experience to making it special, makes you feel just for you.
Yes! Stay, you'll love it.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank CliffH287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockys_Boutique, Guest Relations Manager at Rocky's Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Dear Cliff H,

Greetings from Rocky's Boutique Resort!.

Thank you for such a wonderful comment you've shard to all trip advisor readers and travelers.

It feels so good to read such perfect review and knowing that you made this review whilst relaxing by the beachfront pool.

I will pass this to the entire team and Martin will be thrilled to read it for sure.

We look forward to your next visit to Rocky's.

Thank you once again for choosing us for your precious holiday.

Best Personal Regards,

Ariane Evangelista
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017

Let me say first up that all the staff were great - nothing at all was too much trouble.

This was illustrated upon our arrival. We had booked a Junior Beachfront room with a request that it be in a quiet area with a great view. The website picture and description suggest a larger than average room with a fab view. The room was not as big as the website suggests, had a tiny balcony area and a view that looked straight into a double massage tent. After travelling half way across the world this was unacceptable. Whomever was in charge understood the issues and arranged for us to stay 2 nights in this room and then moved us to the DeLuxe Beachfront Suite which was a great improvement. Great service.

We had dinner at the less expensive Bistro which served very good food. The other restaurant was more expensive.

A couple of things struck us about Rockys. The first was the rooms - they are dated. A combination of cream, off white, beige bathroom tiles, brown wood and splashes of red. The furniture is also dated. And before anyone from Rockys throws a wobbly this is obviously our opinion but interestingly was echoed by other residents. Even one of the staff said words to effect that since the new owners had taken over more than 10 years ago little had been done to rejuvinate the place. This is a shame.

The other point was that when looking to either side of Rockys there is on one side what looks like a rather tatty government building and on the other what can only be described as a throw back to Butlins cheap holiday camp architecture of the 60's - bright blue and white tacky rooms and beach area. This detracts from the overall perception of the resort.

The website of course does not show this. And talking of websites take Rockys' with a pinch of salt. As per all hotel sites wide angle lenses are used thereby distorting the size of rooms.

Don't miss out on the brilliant Sunday Lamai market. This is a must for visitors. As are the Rockys massages - really good.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank lynton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews