We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (78)
Filter reviews
78 results
Traveller rating
41
18
11
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
41
18
11
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews walk minutes air con pool area nightlife facilities sunbeds beach
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 78 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2017 via mobile

We had a lovely time here, we booked only one night and then ended up extending our stay for 2 more nights because it was great. Stuff are very friendly and nice, prices of food and drinks are expencive but you can always go in town to drink a coctail for 70 baht or beer 50 baht :)
bungalows are small but cozy :)

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ana_croatia91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2017


I cannot begin to say enough good things about this place... RIGHT on the beach, clean and well maintained. The pool is not over-chlorinated and is constantly skimmed for bugs by the staff. The accommodations are comfortable, no-frills and kept clean. Fridge and zircon worked well. The shower was awesome, with excellent water-pressure and on-demand hot water that was as hot as I needed it to be. Everything suited me and my girl just fine! Meal choices are reasonable priced and superbly prepared with a European panache. Go for the Breakfast Baguette!

If you are wanting more luxurious digs, stay across the road at Manathai for 5x or at Banyan for 10x the price and get.... nothing special for your money. If you know... You KNOW!

Located right on main road, with some food and drink options within walking distance, but renting a motorbike (which they also do at 250 THB per day) is advised if you want to get more of the island experience. Amazingly, even though the road is fairly close, the road sound is non-existant. Sleep was never a problem, day or night.

Blu Beach is kept clean and neat by friendly, competent staff. And they are what truly makes this place special... The Staff. Zach, Simon, Xavier and all the rest were so accommodating and patient with the guests. In particular, I had an issue with a lost credit card, and they sorted me out straight away. Just the best! Stayed for a week, and would have stayed longer if I didn't have to be back home in Bangkok.

One last attraction... No hordes of Chinese tour groups shoving and pushing, needlessly, for room at breakfast! No kids running and screaming around the pool. I could go on and on..... A winner!

Stayed: February 2017
4  Thank SonOfClovis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2017

We just LOVED our experience here!!!!!! I cant say enough! Safe and quiet...great location of the Bungalows... more private yet close to the hustle and bustle of Lamai's Nightlife and shops... and restaurants and markets... so close you can just walk. The bungalows are great and very simple.... small tv and fridge are perfect for a beach getaway for 2! We used the AC a few times but tried to acclimate to the climate mostly. This is one of my most favorite places I have ever stayed... the pool is on the soft, white sand beach and there are less tourists here than most resorts near the main Lamai town. The food is excellent, the popcorn shrimp are huge and the breakfast baguette was great in the am on the ocean with our coffee. Large dining area and lots of privacy if needed... quite and peaceful.. even family friendly. I adored the staff too... they were great and professional (and fun!) they even had laundry services on site and info about anything you needed to know about certain parts of the island. They will be there to help if you ask and leave you be if you want to be left alone as well. We absolutely loved our experience here.... you guys are THE BEST!!!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2017

Arrived in the middle of a monsoon (not their fault) however the accommodation leaves a lot to be desired. The bungalows are NOT bungalows but beach cabins possibly past their sell by date. As a direct result of the horrendous weather the cabins emitted a disgusting smell coupled with damp spores that contaminated everything you wore including shoes. The accommodation is basic to say the least.....having been to India on a few occasions i thought and accepted (as a result of the costs) that Blu' Beach bungalows would have been substantially better, sadly this was not the case.
I wish Xavier all the best for his new business venture but he really has to turn his attention to the accommodation if he wants to make a success of it.
His staff are excellent Simon is a great ambassador and chef and works hard in running the establishment Zac, Nung , Pop and the ladies are a credit to the place. I can fully imagine that given the sunshine things might have been different however the weather is not guaranteed so alternative measures must be taken in order to build this as a viable business venture.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to suffer from age and neglect
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank cheedarcheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon C, General Manager at Blu' Beach Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2017
Google Translation

Tout d'abord merci pour votre message je vais vous repondre en francais pour etre plus precis .
Vous etiez dans le backpackers bungalow qui est effectivement assez petit mais c'est normalement un bungalow ou les clients restent seulement 1 ou 2 jours . Mais je comprends que sur un sejour long terme ce n'est pas evident .
Pour ce qui est de la renovation des bungalows elle va se faire d'ici le mois de Mars . Nous avons deja renove tout les parties communes qui auparavant etait pour le moins catastrophique .
Nous avons ouvert seulement le 26 Decembre et nous faisons tout notre possible pour refaire les bungalows le plus rapidement possible . Mais en Thailande tout nest pas aussi simple et les choses prennent souvent plus de temps que prevu .
J espere quand meme que vous avez passe de bonne vacance . Pour moi ce fut un Plaisir de vous rencontrer et j espere vous revoir bientot pour vous montrer que l on tient nos promesses
Cordialement

Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2017

First time at Thailand . Picked here because of reviews . What a let down . Let me tell you my experience .
Arrived New Year's Eve . A nice welcome drink would have been a nice touch .nothing !,
Ok I can live with that . We arrived with my brother and his wife . Got shown to our bungalow. It was damp . Not a nice smell . More basic than basic . I couldn't put my clothes in the little cubord because it stunk . I had to live out my suitcase .but you know what I thought well this is Thailand so this is how it must be ,so again just tried to get on with the holiday . The restaurant was nice so was the bar it had been renovated .
But omg very very expensive. £2 small beer £4.20 for egg on toast . £7.50 a burger .e
Chip butty £4.20 . Don't get me wronge food was very nice but was price of 5 star hotel . Staff were lovely . View was lovely too. Food and drink lots lots cheaper outside of blu bungalows and town . £4.20!cocktails only £1.70!else where . The weather was awful blu bungalow had no control over this at all , it would have been nice of symon and owner to give us ideas of what to do on such awful days . Where to go ect . Communication is far better than a booklet . On y
The last day getting our stuff packed we moved our shoes and our shoes were full of mould . My bag and my husband hold-all bag full of mould . We showed the manager and he said it was because of all the rain . I would never ever stay there again . Why would you not sort the bungalows out before the bar and restaurant. Just doesn't make sense to me . The bar and restaurant was always empty. We had to stay due to bad weather to eat and drink . It really was expensive so couldn't afford to do it all the time . All in all very disappointed with blu bungalows .

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank faygan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon C, General Manager at Blu' Beach Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2017
Google Translation

Je vais vous repondre en francais pour etre plus precis et surtout pour bien me faire comprendre car j ai ete plus que surpris de voir votre commentaire .
Je n aurais jamais imagine un commentaire comme cela venant de votre part vu le sejour que nous avons passe ensemble !
Pour le verre de bienvenue je suis desole effectivement on aurait pu y penser mais normalement vous deviez arrive dans la journee et a cause des innondations qu'a connu Koh Samui vous avez eu plus de 8heure de retard et etes arrive a 23h et j'ai dit a mon staff de rester pour garder le bar et la cuisine ouverte seulement pour vous .
Pour ce qui est des bungalows a aucun moment vous m'avez fait part de votre mecontentement nous aurions pu trouver des solutions pour les rangements .
En ce qui concerne l'odeur les bungalows etant une partie en bois, les pluies torrentielles que nous avons connu ( jamais vu depuis 30 ans ) ont effectivement cause des problemes d'odeur dans les bungalows.
En ce qui concerne les prix pratique au restaurant et au bar sont exactement les memes que dans tout les etablissement sur la plage avec une vue mer . Effectivement vous pouvez trouver moins cher dans la rue mais avec une vue sur le 7/11 . Nous avons decide de travailler seulement avec des produits frais , de qualite et pour les cocktails avec de vrais marques nous ne servont pas de faux alcools ce qui est le cas lorsque vous paye un cocktail 1$70 ailleurs !!!!! Et pour le Chip Butty que j'ai fais specialement pour vous a votre demande , il etait fais avec des frites fraiches et du pain frais beaucoup plus cher en thailande qu'en Europe . J'aurais pu faire des prix moins chers effectivement mais ce n'est pas ma facon de voir les choses , j'aime les bonnes choses meme si c'est un peu plus cher qu'ailleurs ce n'est pas grave je prefere cela a quelque chose de pas cher mais pas bon!!!!! Mais pour cela il faut avoir du gout !!!!!!!
Et pour les activites , vous etes sur un ile ou les seules choses a faire sont les plages , profiter du soleil, faire des balades , visiter des temples et tout cela en exterieur alors effectivement lorsqu'il pleut il est difficile de proposer des activitees !!!!!!!!!
Si vous aviez etait un peu moins lache il aurait fallu me dire toute vos doleance et j'aurais tout fais pour y remedier !!!!!!
je ne vous dit pas a bientot !!!!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews