We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Backpackers establishment trying to emulate hotel conditions and prices”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blu' Beach Bungalows
Ranked #25 of 51 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Reviewed 21 January 2017

Arrived in the middle of a monsoon (not their fault) however the accommodation leaves a lot to be desired. The bungalows are NOT bungalows but beach cabins possibly past their sell by date. As a direct result of the horrendous weather the cabins emitted a disgusting smell coupled with damp spores that contaminated everything you wore including shoes. The accommodation is basic to say the least.....having been to India on a few occasions i thought and accepted (as a result of the costs) that Blu' Beach bungalows would have been substantially better, sadly this was not the case.
I wish Xavier all the best for his new business venture but he really has to turn his attention to the accommodation if he wants to make a success of it.
His staff are excellent Simon is a great ambassador and chef and works hard in running the establishment Zac, Nung , Pop and the ladies are a credit to the place. I can fully imagine that given the sunshine things might have been different however the weather is not guaranteed so alternative measures must be taken in order to build this as a viable business venture.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to suffer from age and neglect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank cheedarcheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon C, General Manager at Blu' Beach Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2017
Google Translation

Tout d'abord merci pour votre message je vais vous repondre en francais pour etre plus precis .
Vous etiez dans le backpackers bungalow qui est effectivement assez petit mais c'est normalement un bungalow ou les clients restent seulement 1 ou 2 jours . Mais je comprends que sur un sejour long terme ce n'est pas evident .
Pour ce qui est de la renovation des bungalows elle va se faire d'ici le mois de Mars . Nous avons deja renove tout les parties communes qui auparavant etait pour le moins catastrophique .
Nous avons ouvert seulement le 26 Decembre et nous faisons tout notre possible pour refaire les bungalows le plus rapidement possible . Mais en Thailande tout nest pas aussi simple et les choses prennent souvent plus de temps que prevu .
J espere quand meme que vous avez passe de bonne vacance . Pour moi ce fut un Plaisir de vous rencontrer et j espere vous revoir bientot pour vous montrer que l on tient nos promesses
Cordialement

Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 16 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2017

First time at Thailand . Picked here because of reviews . What a let down . Let me tell you my experience .
Arrived New Year's Eve . A nice welcome drink would have been a nice touch .nothing !,
Ok I can live with that . We arrived with my brother and his wife . Got shown to our bungalow. It was damp . Not a nice smell . More basic than basic . I couldn't put my clothes in the little cubord because it stunk . I had to live out my suitcase .but you know what I thought well this is Thailand so this is how it must be ,so again just tried to get on with the holiday . The restaurant was nice so was the bar it had been renovated .
But omg very very expensive. £2 small beer £4.20 for egg on toast . £7.50 a burger .e
Chip butty £4.20 . Don't get me wronge food was very nice but was price of 5 star hotel . Staff were lovely . View was lovely too. Food and drink lots lots cheaper outside of blu bungalows and town . £4.20!cocktails only £1.70!else where . The weather was awful blu bungalow had no control over this at all , it would have been nice of symon and owner to give us ideas of what to do on such awful days . Where to go ect . Communication is far better than a booklet . On y
The last day getting our stuff packed we moved our shoes and our shoes were full of mould . My bag and my husband hold-all bag full of mould . We showed the manager and he said it was because of all the rain . I would never ever stay there again . Why would you not sort the bungalows out before the bar and restaurant. Just doesn't make sense to me . The bar and restaurant was always empty. We had to stay due to bad weather to eat and drink . It really was expensive so couldn't afford to do it all the time . All in all very disappointed with blu bungalows .

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank faygan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon C, General Manager at Blu' Beach Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2017
Google Translation

Je vais vous repondre en francais pour etre plus precis et surtout pour bien me faire comprendre car j ai ete plus que surpris de voir votre commentaire .
Je n aurais jamais imagine un commentaire comme cela venant de votre part vu le sejour que nous avons passe ensemble !
Pour le verre de bienvenue je suis desole effectivement on aurait pu y penser mais normalement vous deviez arrive dans la journee et a cause des innondations qu'a connu Koh Samui vous avez eu plus de 8heure de retard et etes arrive a 23h et j'ai dit a mon staff de rester pour garder le bar et la cuisine ouverte seulement pour vous .
Pour ce qui est des bungalows a aucun moment vous m'avez fait part de votre mecontentement nous aurions pu trouver des solutions pour les rangements .
En ce qui concerne l'odeur les bungalows etant une partie en bois, les pluies torrentielles que nous avons connu ( jamais vu depuis 30 ans ) ont effectivement cause des problemes d'odeur dans les bungalows.
En ce qui concerne les prix pratique au restaurant et au bar sont exactement les memes que dans tout les etablissement sur la plage avec une vue mer . Effectivement vous pouvez trouver moins cher dans la rue mais avec une vue sur le 7/11 . Nous avons decide de travailler seulement avec des produits frais , de qualite et pour les cocktails avec de vrais marques nous ne servont pas de faux alcools ce qui est le cas lorsque vous paye un cocktail 1$70 ailleurs !!!!! Et pour le Chip Butty que j'ai fais specialement pour vous a votre demande , il etait fais avec des frites fraiches et du pain frais beaucoup plus cher en thailande qu'en Europe . J'aurais pu faire des prix moins chers effectivement mais ce n'est pas ma facon de voir les choses , j'aime les bonnes choses meme si c'est un peu plus cher qu'ailleurs ce n'est pas grave je prefere cela a quelque chose de pas cher mais pas bon!!!!! Mais pour cela il faut avoir du gout !!!!!!!
Et pour les activites , vous etes sur un ile ou les seules choses a faire sont les plages , profiter du soleil, faire des balades , visiter des temples et tout cela en exterieur alors effectivement lorsqu'il pleut il est difficile de proposer des activitees !!!!!!!!!
Si vous aviez etait un peu moins lache il aurait fallu me dire toute vos doleance et j'aurais tout fais pour y remedier !!!!!!
je ne vous dit pas a bientot !!!!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2016 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend booked two nights here, but sadly we didn't even stay one night.. When I was about to go to sleep, I saw a very very tiny bug on my pillow. I got a bit freaked out, thinking it might be bed bugs, so both me and my boyfriend decided to have a better look at our beds. And yes, we found lots of tiny eggs and small bugs in both of our beds. We could also see the same type of bugs on the walls. In panic, we decided to book another hotel for that night. And we were very lucky to even get a room since the clock was 9pm already.

Since we had booked two nights at the Weekender Villa/Blu Beach, and we obviously didn't want to stay there the second night either, we decided to go back there the morning after to talk to the manager. When we found him, we explained the problem to him and since he didn't seem to be aware of any bed bugs, we said that we could show him the beds so that he could see for himself. The only problem is, when we came to the room, it was totally cleaned up. There were no sheets on the matresses, no pillows, no curtains. No eggs/bugs left on the wall where we, the evening before, had seen them. So obviously they must have noticed that we didn't sleep there.

However, we explained to the manager that we hadn't slept there the first night, and that we didn't want to stay there the second night either. He was very understanding, and he even said that he knew the bungalows (including the matresses) weren't "that good", but that they are under renovation. He also said that he could lower the price if we wanted to stay there. When we asked for compensation, we only got money back for one night. That wasn't really okay since we didn't even sleep there one single night because of the bed bugs.

The location is very good though, it's right by the beach. The bar/beach area looks very nice and cozy, so at least that's good.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank emma479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2016 via mobile

It was a big mistake to book this hotel, it's too far from 4 stars for this hotel. Room 405 with a sea view. Bathroom was dirty, especially taps, in order to get hot water we waited for 15 minutes and shower tap worked badly. we had a strange smell inside a room.. walls had many cracks, linens with some spots and one more addiction is Frogs croaked whole night..
staff is friendly and food was not bad.. 3 stars, but no more.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank Irene Tal'ya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2016 via mobile

The facilities are still being renovated, kitchen is not open. The view is stunning by the pool but it's not suitable for young children.
There wasn't much to choose from food wise around there, so be prepared to spend at least 200฿ one way into Lamai Town for more options (or walk 15-20 minutes along the busy road).
Staff is super friendly and accommodating.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank Joakim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamai Beach
1.8 km away
Rich Resort Beachside Hotel
Rich Resort Beachside Hotel
#24 of 51 in Lamai Beach
449 reviews
2.1 km away
Samui Sense Beach Resort
Samui Sense Beach Resort
#28 of 51 in Lamai Beach
214 reviews
2.4 km away
Lamai Buri Resort
Lamai Buri Resort
#15 of 51 in Lamai Beach
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Sallamai Resort
Sallamai Resort
#1 of 51 in Lamai Beach
321 reviews
15 km away
Coco Palm Beach Resort
Coco Palm Beach Resort
#13 of 30 in Mae Nam
482 reviews
2.8 km away
Samui Beach Resort
Samui Beach Resort
#21 of 51 in Lamai Beach
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blu' Beach Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blu' Beach Bungalows

Address: 146/1 Moo 4, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand (Formerly Weekender VIlla Beach Resort)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Lamai Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range: €20 - €63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Blu' Beach Bungalows 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Of the breakfast in the dinner all equips him(it) with the BLU' BEACH welcomes you to take advantage of the swimming pool, the private beach lengthens(stretches out) on of comfortable Sun-Bed or still settle down quietly on a table in the shade to admire the vegetation of the places among which hundred-year-old four Banyans which throne in the garden in front of your bungalow.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Blu' Beach Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blu' Beach Bungalows Ko Samui/Lamai Beach, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing