We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“luxury and nice value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Samaya Bura

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Samaya Bura
Ranked #32 of 51 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“luxury and nice value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2011

beautiful room, nice and friendly staff for reasonable price, i definitely recommend this hotel for those people who stay in koh samui island.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magiccarpet2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    116
    43
    17
    16
See reviews for
21
90
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
inbaly
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2011

Samaya Bura was a nice hotel. We stayed there early January 2011 and they made our room special for us during our honeymoon. Lamai Beach is away from the craziness of Chaweng Beach, but still close enough to get to. The hotel is clean and beautiful. The breakfast was nice as well. They don' t have much of a beach, but there pool is very clean. It was a nice stay for a short while.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank inbaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2010

bad service - they try to cheat you when u book stuff / call for a cab -- you get different quotations depending on who is behind the counter!

room felt like a no-frills hotel. upon check out they even tried to charge us for mini-bar usage that we didn't use! after some arguing they realized it was a mistake.

overall poor value for money, would rather stay somewhere else. (not coming back to this one!)

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mannybrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2010

I have stayed there for 2 times in 2 years in a row!Despite the fact that the beach front is not what we imagine when we think about such an island the whole service and infrastructure in the hotel was very good!Good staff,clean rooms!Nice view!

This year If i will visit Samui again(possible :) ) I wont think to stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 0dyseus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coogee, NSW
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2010

This was the worst hotel experience of my life and I travel a lot. On checking in a man was shouting with frustration at the manager. He immediately tried to give us a lesser room than we paid for and was unpleasant when we didn't upgrade. The room had not been fully cleaned and we had to call down. Then there was no hot water for a shower, this was a repeated problem over the 5 days we stayed here. A friend who did not pre book like us, walked in and was given a much better room for $15 less per night than we had paid online. This was a common theme with all the guests we met. We didn't receive the complimentary water so asked why. "You have to ask for it every day" was the manager's rude reply. Yes, nice pool, nice location, but being made to feel like an ant rather than a quest is not nice. Also as per other reviews the mattress was SO slim it was hard to sleep, lucky great massage could be had at the Spa Samui next door or we would have had sore backs the whole time. The bar staff and breakfast and pool staff were lovely, the front desk staff are the most impolite people I have ever experienced in a service industry. On check out they asked us to wait so they could "Check to see you have not taken anything". Are you serious? Really, enough is enough. I would recommend Buddy Hotel across the rd WAY over this place, they even have a beach front pool club with free wifi for same price. We never saw a single person eat in the restaurant at night so we didn't either so not sure the food is good or not, breakfast was fine and basic. Spa Samui next door has great food so we ate there instead.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fiam73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lamai Beach hotels
0.4 km away
Lamai Wanta
Lamai Wanta
#18 of 51 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
0.6 km away
Samui Sense Beach Resort
Samui Sense Beach Resort
#29 of 51 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
1.6 km away
Thai Ayodhya Villas & Spa
Thai Ayodhya Villas & Spa
#34 of 51 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Mercure Koh Samui Beach Resort
Mercure Koh Samui Beach Resort
#24 of 51 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
0.8 km away
Aloha Resort
Aloha Resort
#43 of 51 in Lamai Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.3 km away
Am Samui Palace
Am Samui Palace
#23 of 51 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samaya Bura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samaya Bura

Property: Samaya Bura
Address: 171 / 4 - 9 Moo 4, T. Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand (Formerly MyQ Samui)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Lamai Beach
#15 Spa Hotel in Lamai Beach
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Samaya Bura 3.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Samaya Bura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samaya Bura Hotel Lamai Beach
Samaya Bura Ko Samui/Lamai Beach, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing