We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (177)
Filter reviews
177 results
Traveller rating
120
32
7
4
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
120
32
7
4
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews quad biking honesty bar family run hotel continental breakfast night stay an excellent guide star service couldn t outdoor activities wine and beer lovely walk fine dining hill walking course evening meal tea coffee lovely pool la mariposa
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 177 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2017

Came here on good recommendations for one of their guided walk and lunch offerings, sat and had a coffee and placed our lunch order whilst the place filled up, and then a sudden exodus happened as everyone suddenly jumped in cars and started driving off ( no briefing from Tom on destination or safety etc. ). We'd been dropped off and had no car with us, thankfully one of the last cars stopped and a nice couple gave us a lift to the walking start point.

The walk ran by over an hour, when we got back we explained that we couldn't stay for lunch due to the walk running so late, however we were made to pay for lunch as it'd been ordered in apparently, and of course they wouldn't be able to sell it to anyone else would they!!? total joke and appalled that we had to pay full price.

Won't go back.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2017

We went with another couple who recommended it to us. What a great find it turned out to be. The drive up the hills from Alhama to Gebas is very scenic and the restaurant/hotel is set in lovely surroundings. The lunch was 9 euros for a 3 course meal - it was fantastic value. There was plenty of choice and each of us were impressed with our respective meals. Aside from the lunch there is an activity centre where you can find all sorts of adrenalin pumping fun. The accomodation is in small "cabins" each decorated differently - very nicely done.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickCarolHugo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2017

We visited here on Easter Saturday evening for a music night. The whole experience and value was incredible. The rooms were excellent,clean and comfortable. Food was superb. However the service given by Tom ( the son I believe) was second to none. Nothing was too much trouble. There were 21 guests in all and you would think you were the only ones there. from taking our suitcases to serving our drinks, breakfast the next morning and paying the bill he was there, always smiling! A great place, didn't do any activities but are booking our next visit in June and a buggy tour. It's a jewel in the crown which is not to be missed. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room 6 or 7.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank redmanpat60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2017

This holiday package at Hospederia la Mariposa, a 3-day all-inclusive outdoor adventure from Christmas Eve to Boxing Day 2016, was a Christmas present to me from my wonderful BFF, and my first visit to Spain.

Ashley met us at Alicante airport and we had a very comfortable drive to the hotel, about 1 hour 15 mins away. The hotel is so charming, from the lovely courtyard (flowers still in bloom in December!!!), to the guest rooms, the beautiful terrace and the communal lounge and dining room. Our room had 2 comfortable twin beds, a large wardrobe and dresser, TV and small fridge. The bathroom was large, with a sink, toilet and curtained shower area.

The hotel was fully booked for the 3 days and we shared all of the activities and social time with the other guests. There was lively chatter over several of Tom’s specialty G&Ts, and around the dinner table, after our day’s outings. The food was fabulous and plentiful, beautifully prepared and presented by the chef, Tom’s mum (I’m so sorry, I can’t think of your name!) The dinner menu included your choice of 4 starters and 4 entrees. After dinner on Boxing Day we were all in the dining room until well after midnight playing a rousing game of Heads Up.

The most amazing part of this trip was the outdoor activities in the Sierra Espuna! Quadding took us into a stunning landscape of stark white hoodoos, and terraces of lemon, orange and olive groves. We hiked to El Barro, a tiny hamlet in the mountains, where we had gone clay pigeon shooting on Christmas Day. I particularly loved this because, since the hotel is operated by a British family and all of the guests, excepting the two of us, were British, El Barro was an opportunity to experience the Spanish people. For the mountain bike descent, we drove up 1400m of mountain switchbacks that presented a breathtaking vista or terrifying drop-off at every turn. You can go at your own pace down the trail, stopping regularly to capture a picture of the surrounding scenery.

What a way to spend Christmas or any holiday! Mark, I am so grateful to you and your wonderful family for giving Siobhan and I such an incredible experience. I can’t wait to come visit again!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Colette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2017 via mobile

We visited la Mariposa adventure hotel for quad bike activity and laser disc shooting.
It was my birthday treat. 2 hours on a quad bike with a very nice quide Ashley, We had a splendid adventure taking in such beautiful scenery.
This was followed by a four course lunch at the hotel followed by tea coffee as you wish.
We then proceeded on a short distance to the laser shooting site.
This was fabulous fun and games made the whole experience so entertaining. This site will, in the near future combine archery plausibly April, So we will be returning.
All activities can be pre booked on line, and some special pre spring prices are worth taking advantage of. Good for couple's or groups or even meet new friends.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lesley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews