We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (12)
Filter reviews
12 results
Traveller rating
11
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
11
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews raj singh kanha national park jeep safari close to nature food served sarai jungle visit hosts bonfire property tiger birds walk stories knowledge country
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 12 reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2017 via mobile

"Awesome" is the word to describe our visit to Sarai Kothi and Kanha Tiger Reserve.
We were a family of 7 who visited during Christmas weekend, with a kid on board.

Pluses

1. It's a homestay, in midst of a large farm, away from all the cacophony of a town.
2. Hosts Sandeep & Nandini are one of the best you can ever find, the food the hospitality the bonfire the room service you name it and they have it in best of its form. Sandeep even managed to get us park tickets in such heavy season.
3. The staff is very well trained, especially mohan, who is head chef. Our kid loved the food and snacks made by their team.
4. The villa has all modern amenities with ample space.
5. All the food they serve is organically grown in their farm itself.
6. It's right inside in the tiger reserve buffer zone, so one can hear interesting animal sounds in night.
7. Visit to the 100 yr old mud house with modern interiors in which the host resides will make your jaw drop in awe.

Minuses
1. Any airport is 5 hrs away, now it's in middle of jungle buffer zone so it's understandable.
2. Even though Airtel claims they have signal in Indian jungles, I can't find any. So if you can't survive without internet, then download all before your visit.
3. Approach road near the farm is not tarred so it has some bumps....but it's fun as it gives close to nature feeling

Overall it was a fun filled trip.... and now comes the biggie.... we sighted the beast...yes the king itself...TIGER ...umarpani(his name) walked with our jeep for good 15 mins during our visit to the core zone in kanha and it was our first visit there...

I am sure a lot more are still to come... and we will be back to Sarai kothi.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Shobhit K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nandini P, Owner at Sarai Kothi, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2017

It was an absolute pleasure hosting your family and you at the property. Thanks for your extensive review and your kind words. It will be a spur for us to keep doing a good job. Look forward to hosting you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017

Well We visit Kanha On An Average Twice A Year. But The Stay & Experiences We had at Sarai Kothi were Really Remarkable. The hospitality is Brilliant. Both Sandeep & Nandini Owners/Hosts make it sure every thing is Perfect. They are Genuinely warm people. The Property , Rooms Surrouindings the Entire Ambience of this Property is Brilliant. The Food Served is Really Organic, home cooked style, really fresh.The Hosts are always their for any assistance and always their to cater to ones needs. The property has its own Bonfire area and a tented Tea Area both are Awesum. We thank Them for A Wonderful Stay and Experience.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amit H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nandini P, Owner at Sarai Kothi, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2017

Hi Amit, thanks for taking the time out to review Sarai Kothi. It was a pleasure hosting your group at the property. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay in Sarai Kothi. We look forward to hosting you for your next stay in Kanha.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2017

We booked the 2 bedroom suite which had one bathroom. Every item in the room was carefully selected to add a hint of comfort and luxury. We were very impressed with the service. The dining area was comfortable and it was a bliss to be served hot chapattis which made us feel like home. The hosts were welcoming and warm. Every thing about the stay had a personal touch. We went on a walking safari in the evening inside the property which was adventurous. The evening bonfire was an added experience. The food was absolutely amazing.
The breakfast packed for us for the Jungle safari was immaculately done. Every minor detail was taken care of.
This is a place I can visit over and over on every stay. Must visit :)

Room Tip: If you have 4 guests travelling- choose the suite on the terrace which gives one an exclusive floor which is all by urself.
Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank poojasomaiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nandini P, Owner at Sarai Kothi, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Hi Pooja,
Thank a lot for taking the time out to review your stay. Your positive words are very encouraging. We have put in a lot of effort to ensure that our property has all the luxury of a resort with the comfort of being at home. It is very heartening for our staff and us when our guests appreciate the same.
It was lovely to host your family and friends. Would love to welcome you back for a longer stay any time.
Warm regards,
Nandini.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017

First of all - The hosts are great!. They welcome you with all the warmth. We had a 2 day stay at sarai kothi, set right next to Kanha Kisli. One of their staff took us on a foot safari which was again a very different experiance and we enjoyed tracing pug marks. The food is great and so is their hospitality. The first floor rooms offer great view - Enjoy star gazing and if lucky u may spot shooting stars too!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PriyaA491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nandini P, Owner at Sarai Kothi, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Hi Priyanka,
Thanks a lot for posting your review! We are so glad that your family and you had a nice experience with us and do come back to us for your next tryst with Kanha National Park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017

By far Best Homestay experience ever

One can’t expect better than this homestay around Kanha Kisli. Had stayed on numerous home stay's around Coorg, Nagarahole, Bandipur and other parts of Karnataka, but I must admit, stay @Sarai was by far the best homestay experience so far. Although stayed here for 2 nights only,,, could not extend because of other commitments, having said that hospitality received in 2 days is unmatchable to any in my list so far.

Booked this stay via a middle east hotel aggregator portal. There was an initial hiccup on booking confirmation and rate card which got sorted out in quick time over phone call with homestay and portal. This is something Sarai executive should workout with their channel partners to be crystal clear on same.

To reach this property by road you first need to reach Kareli village... then negotiate a bit of kachha rasta that will give a bit off-roading experience at the last stretch. Once you reach the main gate of estate you might get a bit worried, where the heck am I. But once you are in and reach second main gate you are greeted by lash green aisle of lemon grass bushes followed by wonderful property Sarai.

Property is very well designed and decorated to give an old sarai like feel and loaded with all modern amenities to make you feel home. We selected 2 bedroom suit on terrace. The room was very neat, clean and airy. Very well decorated with comfortable bed and furniture’s. Terrace has a lovely view in morning and evening over the estate and jungle on the far end. They have a tented sitting area and a bonfire in the garden where we loved to spend time in evening.

A walk in the estate and nearby fields was a great experience.

On arrival we were greeted by property owner/host Nandini and Sandeep. It was a pleasure to have their company during evening bone fire session. They also arranged an evening walk around nearby Banjar river and helped us spotting tiger pugmarks near the bank of river.

Food served on all meals where very delicious and homemade. Their 2 man team accompanied by host in kitchen where making sure to delight us with their culinary skills. We loved the desert specially banana cake made by host. They also arranged packed breakfast for our morning safari in national park.

Overall it was a very refreshing stay @Sarai. Definitely looking forward to revisit again and would highly recommend this property near Kanha.

Room Tip: Go for 2 bedroom suit, that gives a good view.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank AbhimanK3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nandini P, Owner at Sarai Kothi, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Hi Abhiman,
Thanks for posting your detailed review. I am sure your insights will be helpful for other travellers. It was a pleasure hosting your family and yourself at the property with a special mention for little Tanishka. Your encouraging words about our decor and food will motivate us do keep excelling.
We are working very hard to sort out the incorrect rate issue with the concerned OTA.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews