We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (87)
Filter reviews
87 results
Traveller rating
38
30
9
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
38
30
9
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews water taxi restaurant offers small bay few years coastal path both ways agatha christie return journey an easy minute walk crystal clear water libyan sea peace and quiet prices are very reasonable pork room rate small boat swordfish
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 87 reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2018

Fascinated by the island, its inhabitants, the quality of its welcome and its taverns, we were eager to spend a good time in Loutro. Chance brought us to Old Phoenix.
A very bad experience, incompatible with what Crete proposes.
In French I'd say: null to avoid.
Any guides who recommend it would do well to check their advice.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Jean57990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017

This is not for everyone, and I understand those who would rate it lower because the wi-fi - even the mobilenet - is unreliable and only available in the restaurant. Because the amenities are just fine but not luxurious. Because nothing is happening in the evenings, they don't even have music, and when it's dark you would have to go by boat to find another bar, or hike on a narrow path with headlights for 20-30 minutes ... So that's all that it isn't, and now all the good things it is. Beautifully, absolutely beautifully located with a very nice (pebble) beach. Quiet, slow atmosphere, very nice staff, simple but good greek food. Amazing view from your room and the restaurant. We learned to ask the headwaiter what he would recommed from the menu, and we had some amazing meals! Everything is easy and laid-back, the other guests are friendly, mostly families with younger children or adults who are the for the hiking, swimming and the quiet. Luotro is the closest village, but even there you won't find an ATM, so be sure to have some cash, the hotel accepts creditcard. The prices are very reasonable. We just added everything to one final bill for the whole week. Food, drinks, sunbeds and so on, and the total was very nice. We rented some canoes and went by sea to a beach nearby - Marmara. On the way back we stopped at another beach and had a lovely meal there, but we could also had eaten at the very nice restaurant at Marmara. We hiked to Luotro several times; a very easy hike with a wonderful view all the way. Takes you twice as long because you have to stop again and again just to savour the view. So Old Phonix gives you a bit of the old-fasioned resort feeling - like it could be in an Agatha Christie novel - but Poirot would definitely had arrived by boat and not walked from Luotro! I would recommed Old Phonix Hotel to anybody who just want to step out of time for a bit - but not too far, to find peace and quiet, and thinks the beautiful is scenery more important than internet-access and a varity of bars ...

Room Tip: There are stairs. Let the waiter recommend your choice of dinner!
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Anja I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017 via mobile

We walked there from Loutro last night with a full moon lighting the stoney path. Had tasty dolmades followed by delicious charcoal grilled swordfish steaks The swordfish had been caught by the owner that morning. Excellent and friendly service and an easy 15 minute walk from Loutro. Lovely setting overlooking the tiny harbour.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank kiwibev73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

Stopped here for lunch on the hike to Loutro. The setting is beautiful. Everything else: not so much. The food was bland and extremely overpriced and service was indifferent at best. Either stop for a meal earlier or wait until you reach Loutro to eat.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank E G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017

A faint air of conspiracy prevails, half-way between an Agatha Christie set and the Best Exotic Marigold Hotel. You find yourself exchanging complicit glances with everyone you meet: you are all in on the secret. This is a truly wonderful place to spend a week in September, on the shoulder of the season.
We had six days of hot uninterrupted sunshine, with not a cloud in the sky. The backdrop is bleak Cretan mountain scenery, but one inhabits a world of small bays and beaches with family-run, bougainvillea-clad tavernas and hotels, which are connected by a network of small ferries and water-taxis that zip ceaselessly to and fro. The sea is crystal-clear, turquoise, and mostly calm, with occasional surprising jets of cold water issuing forth from springs on the sea-bed.
The Old Phoenix itself is right on the water’s edge. There is no pool, but a small pebbly beach with plenty of sunbeds and a shower. Perhaps because of the absence of a pool, or the season (term-time), there were not many children in evidence, but plenty of Brits, Irish, French and Scandinavians, in their 50s and 60s. Some spent their days striding determinedly with ski poles along the coastal path between the villages, while others lounged contentedly in the sea or at the bar. Most of them seem to have been coming here for years and, on arrival, fall on the necks of the charming Albanian staff like the very oldest of friends.
No music or night-life. The food is good, though not sophisticated: you are either in the category which regards a properly-prepared Greek salad as basically unimprovable, or you are not. We loved it, with first prize going to a superb and delicately-flavoured plate of grilled mixed vegetables, followed closely by a delicious prawn saganaki. We generally found that 20 euros a head for dinner bought us all we could want to eat and drink. Breakfasts involved good Italian coffee, freshly squeezed orange juice, muesli, yoghurt, fruit and honey; omelettes for those who wanted.
The rooms are simply furnished. The upper storey (for a 5 euro premium) offers large, not-very-private balconies with sunbeds. The shower rooms and lavatories are clean, but recognisably Greek in inspiration. In 6 nights, without any form of prophylactic, the two of us each suffered a single mosquito bite. At less than 60 euros a night for a double room, we felt that we had got ourselves a bargain.
In the evening you can walk around the headland to Loutro: an easy path, but illumination (eg iPhone) is required for the return journey after dinner. The landscape is littered with small white churches; the one just behind the hotel is ancient and always open, with charming frescoes. The more adventurous can spend a couple of hours in the early morning walking up the hill to Liviniana and then down the Aradhena Gorge to the taverna and beach at Marmara (two available afternoon boats back from Marmara to Loutro, and then a lift from Loutro to the hotel). Highly recommended is “Walks around Loutro”, a thin but impressively detailed booklet, available for 7 euros from the sea-front supermarket in Loutro.
We can’t wait to return.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews