We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view from the pension over Katapola”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Katapola
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pension The Big Blue
Ranked #5 of 14 Katapola B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Me and my family with two children - 9 and 6 are traveling around the Greek Island. We arrived in Santorini and will fly back from Rhodos. Inbetween we had no plans. We happend to stop i Amorgos and booked the Pension The Big Blue. It was in august so we were happy to get a room and it was a fourbeds room,

Phanis (the owner) met us at the ferry and took us up to the hotel up the stairs in the wonderful city of Katapola. It is a bit up a hill but not bad at all and the walk is very nice.

Simple but clean and had everything you needed. The showers in the Cyclades are often small and without showercurtains and it was also the same here but we were already used to it. The beds were nice and the airconditioning was working well. The room had a small smell when you entered into it but after a few seconds with the A/C on it dissapered. There was an oven in the room and some plates but we never cooked anything.

But the best part of it all was the wonderfun view of the harbour of Katapola. I loved to sit there in the eveing and listen to the sounds of the town and watch the boats and the harbour. Even breakfast out there was nice!

The room was very cheap and for the price you cant expect luxury but it was very nice and I would definitly like to come back.

Katapola has many nice restaurants and it is nice to walk around there in the eveing.
It also has some small nice beaches but the nicest ones are outside. We rented a car and drove around the island. Amorgos is a beatiful island with magnificent views of the ocean.

Ag Anna is really nice (where they filmed the big blue) and the water is so clear. Unfortunately it got crowded because it was in august. We also went to some other beaches - Muras etc. Very nice.

The monastery is also magnificent. We walked ut in the early day so it would not get to hot. Althoug it was hot and once you are done in the monastery the munchs givs you some candy and water - very nice.

I dont want to forget to mention the town of Chora - very nice to go there!

Amorgos is one of my favorite islands and The Big Blue is nice to stay in.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank patweis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2012

We were planning to stay at Big Blue Pension for 3 days, but extended to a week. Very clean rooms, fantastic view over the bay and good value for money. But the most amazing were the hosts Anna and Phanis, the most wonderful people! One day, Phanis brought us Greek honey, the other day a melon or tomatoes from his own garden or he told us about a greek-orthodox celebration, where we all met for dancing. We felt as part of the family. We can only recommend Big Blue and the hospitality of Anna and Phanis. Definitely we'll be back!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank gschwager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2011

This hotel is situated a bit up on a hill overlooking Katapola Bay, Rooms are basic but excelently clean and well kept, the only thing that was not so good were the kitchen appliences; there was no real kitchen/kitchenete instead there is a refigerator in one corner of the room and a stove balancing on a table in the other end of the room, washing dishes had to be done in the bathroom, but apart from that everything was excellent, Very hospitable host who picked me up from Egali at no extra charge when there was trouble with Scoplelitis. Very nice view of katapola from the room.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hahnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barassa64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ιφιγένεια Κ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Katapola hotels
0.5 km away
Villa Le Grand Bleu
Villa Le Grand Bleu
#1 of 14 in Katapola
365 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Minoa
Hotel Minoa
#1 of 1 in Katapola
159 reviews
0.2 km away
Barbara pension
Barbara pension
#6 of 14 in Katapola
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Amorgion Hotel
Amorgion Hotel
#3 of 14 in Katapola
117 reviews
0.2 km away
Amorgaia 2
Amorgaia 2
#13 of 16 in Katapola
4 reviews
0.2 km away
Villa Katapoliani III
Villa Katapoliani III
#7 of 16 in Katapola
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension The Big Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension The Big Blue

Address: Katapola | Katapola, Katapola 840 08, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Amorgos > Katapola
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Katapola
Price Range: €20 - €57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Pension The Big Blue Amorgos/Katapola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing