We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Golden Rose(Kolymbari)
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chryssana Beach Hotel(Kolymbari)(Great Value!)
US$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$186
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$267
US$223
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chrispy World(Kolymbari)
US$115
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Euphoria Resort(Kolymbari)
US$293
Expedia.com
View Deal
Pergamos Village(Kolymbari)(Great Value!)
US$35
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Selini Villas(Kolymbari)(Great Value!)
US$209
US$193
Booking.com
View Deal
Alonia Apartments(Kolymbari)(Great Value!)
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palazzo Loupassi(Kolymbari)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (604)
Filter reviews
604 results
Traveller rating
324
181
67
19
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
324
181
67
19
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool baritalian restaurantmain restaurantall inclusive hotelbar managerguest relations managerolive oil tastingshared poolsister hotelreception staffhead waitersemi private pooltennis courtson a half board basisgreat bathroomper daythe bus
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 604 reviews
Reviewed 1 January 2018 via mobile

We had pool access and it was amazing! The wine tasting, food cooking class and olive oil tasting was amazing! This hotel staff have a lot of knowledge of food and wine. A special thanks to our waiter who also hels the wine tasting, I cant remember the name.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Dalya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiannoulisHotels, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Dear Dalya K,
Thank you very much for your review and for all of your kind words and compliments.
We are glad to hear that you had a memorable stay here with us and we hope that you will give us the chance to welcoming you again in the near future.
Best regards.
The management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2017

We travelled as a family of five with one little one (under 2) and were welcomed to the beautiful resort by a friendly reception and concierge team. Throughout our ten day stay we enjoyed the ultimate relaxation; sunbathing, eating and not moving much at all from our beautiful large rooms, both benefiting from access to a private pool and terrace. Our rooms were next door to each other so had plenty of outdoor space to share and enjoy, and only the occasional hotel guest passing by – bliss!

The food throughout our stay was amazing, the Head Chef and his team put together a varied and delicious spread each morning, lunch and evening, with plenty of healthy dishes (probably a demand from the many sports/fitness teams also staying at the hotel).

On our Dad’s 60th Birthday, we dined in the a la carte restaurant and Antonio, Dining Room Manager made sure that this occasion would be celebrated. We sat down to a table covered in rose petals and flowers and a special cake was presented at the end of the meal – a truly special touch to finish a high-quality meal.

The a la carte restaurant made for a fine dining experience, incorporating fresh, seasonal ingredients and created in a visually appealing way. The restaurant also provided a nice break from the large dining room, where at times some of the large sporting groups were a little over-bearing and loud.

Overall, that was our only ‘complaint’, and not one that would deter us from returning. For those wishing to explore the area, a car is a must as there are not many walks/towns within a close vicinity, however if you want a healthy, relaxing and indulgent break all rolled in to one, then this is it.

A special thanks to Maria at Reception, Maria, Seraphim, Georgia and Antonio in the Dining Room, Konstantinos in the a la carte Azzurro restaurant and Mustapha, concierge for making us all feel very welcome and especially for making our little 1 year old feel very special! Also thanks to Popi and Panos in the bar for their delicious cocktails!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiannoulisHotels, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

Dear Debbie R,

We thank you kindly for all these compliments and for taking the time to share your experience of your stay with us!
We are delighted to learn that you and your family had a memorable stay at our resort and we are already looking forward to seeing all of you again in the near future!

The management and all of our staff members wishes you all the best!!
Best regards,
The management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017

room 208 down by the "garden room" not all you thought, least exciting of the rooms on the hotel resort.no view no comfy furniture and no privacy. but huge bed great bathroom TV tea coffee facilities etc., room service offering extra towels every night and got an iron almost instantly when requested. had problems with the safe and again sorted instantly. Excellent service.
it was the second last week of the hotels season whilst we were there and everything around us was shutting down. walked up to koylmbari and it was shut! but a good easy walk there and back as it was the end of season hotel not so busy, and loads of empty sunbeds etc, we asked if we could have two sunbeds at our room. Instead of wooden chairs but never happened for the standard of resort it was a bit disappointing that they wouldn't accommodate our request.
reception staff very knowledgeable and professionally friendly (and very beautiful) , what a pleasure talking to them.
but restaurant and bar staff wow what great smiles, work ethic and standards. I cant praise this body of staff enough, they looked after us so well I wanted to cuddle them all goodbye. they always ensured we had a seat where we requested and pampered us enough to make us feel special on a daily basis. thanks you all.
food ,mostly brilliant and plentiful if you couldn't find something to eat then you must be a real fuss pot, salads, fish chicken roast meats veg a plenty. my only concern with the food is that it could have been hotter I often felt my dinner was cold when I sat down and considering it was in the high 20s when we were there the food shouldn't be cold.
fresh bread ,pastries ,cakes etc etc every day ,oh quick note please fix the toaster it takes 5 turns to get your bread toasted. had eggs and bread most breakfast times as I couldn't be bothered waiting. if you like coffee at breakfast ask for a latte rather than coffee much better and hot!
all bar staff, (this means you popi) are a dream team. team work makes the dream work and these guys do. they watch your glass for a top up, they bring your order to you they pamper and attend to you, little bowls of crisps or peanuts if you wish plentiful; whilst you drink in the evening sunset on the decking. wear shoes on decking nails have popped and deadly on feet! I'm sure this is being looked at by manager as we saw suited chaps walking around with papers!
but the staff employed at this hotel are top notch. they made our week memorable for the right reasons.
had a wet day when we were here and went into the spa, free if your all inclusive ,fab fun relaxed on bended metal chairs and read my book whilst my husband shuffled himself from pool to sauna and pool again. spent a good couple of hours not talking to each other, surprised he didn't want to go every day. the lady on reception brought us in glasses of cool peach tea, how delightfully refreshing and thoughtful.
entertainment ok,low key. dancing on Wednesday night disco boogie stuff, and then we had a Greek dancing night great to see, other than that not much else if so we missed it!
we went with fleet way travel and were met at the airport with a lady with a sign and driven right to the hotel door, excellent service no hanging about and no picking anyone else up. flights ryan air !!!!! but at least we got there.
I would highly recommend this hotel to everyone. whilst we stayed here we saw mentally disabled guests, grannies, babies physically disabled guests, I comment on this as it is so well laid out for wheelchair, buggy access etc. there is grass around the pool easy to move on flat walkways ,but the beach access is rubbish, you are on the beach but the beach itself is pebbles .really awkward on wheels and feet alike, still feel the pain in my soles ,but it didn't stop us going snorkelling each day. great fun.
my husband asked me to comment on how hard our bed was ,and it was, but I,m like the princess and the pea at home and we ended up with 8 pillows to squish things up a bit. If we had gotten sunbeds outside id have slept in that honestly the bed was super firm. different folks etc. the hotel has swim up rooms I reckon to get one would be top notch, I would if I ever went back, also no mosquitos!
wee shop in the hotel sold most things no British cigarettes only American. weird eh?
pharmacy etc. near enough if needed,
exercise classes not compulsory but full on felt like all day everyday something was on.
something that popped into my head ,drone filming or flying happened twice in our week, I dislike drones I feel they are a total invasion of my personal privacy and to have this hovering above you whilst almost naked at a poolside is a bit standard lowering for this hotel. just thought id mention it.
standards of cleanliness in this resort are some of the highest I have ever seen. beautiful crisp sheets and towels, immaculate lawn and gardens etc. shine on glass wear and fragrant toilets all just perfect. big well done to the super discreet cleaners, who must busy about almost invisible.
when we came to check out we were handed a wee brown bag with sweets green tea and olive soap. what a lovley touch and a thoughtful gesture to plant a thought in my head of that lovely hotel that did that bit extra. I will not forget you cavo spada. until we meet again cuddles and best wishes to all of your staff. with many thanks for a grate week.

Room Tip: gardenroom not the most exciting. but super quite from everything.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shoneblether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiannoulisHotels, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

Dear shoneblether,
Thank you so much for all of your kind words and for this lovely review!!
As you mention, we are always doing our best following the needs of each of our guests, in order to provide the best holiday experience!
The management and the staff of our resort are already informed about all of your comments.
It was our honor meeting you in person during your stay and we are already looking forward to your next visit!
Best regards,
The management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017 via mobile

Perfect time and place to escape-wide beach, quiet

Very nice and attentive stuff
Food during the week was very tasty , fresh juice in the morning
But....5* luxury hotel and poor/shabby towels in room?..

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank _solveiga_snioliene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiannoulisHotels, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

Dear _solveiga_snioliene,
Thank you very much for your review and for the excellent scoring.
The management and the staff of our resort are already informed about your notices regarding the in room towels in order to proceed with all necessary moves.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Best regards,
The management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile

We have never been 'all inclusive' before, but Cavo may have converted us!
Spotlessly clean everywhere, super staff and wonderful food.

It's very impressive as you drive up and walk through the hotel, we had a fabulous room - very big and with our own large balcony with sun loungers and chairs. (The only negative about the room is the bed - two twin beds pushed together, so one of you has to sleep in the crack!)

The buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner is fab! So much to choose from, not repetitive and always tasty. We did eat at the Italian a la carte and it was lovely, it made a nice change. The food here is of a very high standard, the portions seem small after a few days at the buffet!

I would recommend hiring a car as we did, then you can explore more of the island - just be aware that there seems to be little or no road rules!
Kolymbari is the nearest little town and worth a little look round.
The hotel was very popular with fitness groups when we were there and seems to have lots of organised activities and classes for these groups.
Would recommend visiting - terra creta, ellafonisi beach and chania.


Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ruth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiannoulisHotels, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2017

Dear Ruth H,

Thank you very much for choosing to spend your summer holidays here with us and for taking the time to share your experience of your stay!
We are happy to learn that you enjoy our available facilities and services so much and especially the served food.

As you notice our resort is ideal for those who are looking for relaxing holidays in front of the beach and also for those who are looking to combine their vacations with practice and sports activates.

We hope that you will give us the chance to welcoming you again in the near future.
Best regards,
The management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews