We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Chryssana Beach Hotel(Kolymbari)(Great Value!)
US$94
US$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$95/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Golden Rose(Kolymbari)(Great Value!)
US$135
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$138/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Palazzo Loupassi(Kolymbari)
US$170
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alonia Apartments(Kolymbari)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$381
US$342
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$305
Expedia.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aphea Village(Kolymbari)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (631)
Filter reviews
631 results
Traveller rating
342
189
68
19
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
342
189
68
19
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool baritalian restaurantmain restaurantall inclusive hotelguest relations managerdirect access to the poololive oil tastingshared poolbar managersister hotelhead waiteron a half board basisevening buffetgreat bathroompool viewreception staffthe bus
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 631 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

Me and my wife visited the hotel for short vacations and everything was perfect except Spa! We had halfboard dining and both breakfast and dinner were of excellent quality. The room was as if should be for a 5* hotel i.e. confy, clean well decorated and with a big bathroom. As far as concern the Spa just keep out! Very expensive for very average services and the spa premises were cold, old and far away from relaxing.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Digaletos A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiannoulisHotels, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2017

Dear Digaletos A,
Thank you very much for your review and for your kind words.
Regarding your comments about our spa area we would like to inform you that the management and the staff of our resort are already informed in order to proceed with all the necessary moves.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future for an extended stay.
Best regards,
The management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017

Very Comfortable Hotel; spacious room and good facilities including large pool, beach (a bit pebbly) and good spa. Large choice of excellant food. Great staff - always cheerful and helpful in the extreme. All made for a superb holiday.

Room Tip: Can only speak for our room which had a sea view and was quiet.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mail631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiannoulisHotels, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2017

Dear mail631,
Thank you so much for all of your kind words and compliments!
It was our honor to meet you in person during your stay and we hope that you will give us the chance to seeing you again in the near future.
Best regards,
The management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017

Probably the best all inclusive hotel we have experienced. We arrived late evening and our first impressions were good. Very imposing reception area and lounges. A very friendly young man showed us to our room which was on the ground floor overlooking the main pool and poolside bar. The area was floodlit and looked outstanding. The room was large and comfortable with an adjoining bathroom / shower and toilet finished to a high standard. Fresh fruit and food were there for us together with a bottle of wine. The room was located in a single story block and very well sound proofed. The pool was large, clean and safe. Self service Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner is available in The Arsenali Main Restaurant which is large but sometimes very noisy however there is a charming smaller dining area adjacent with outdoor seating overlooking the mountains. The food is of a high standard with plenty of choice to cater for most tastes. All the restaurant staff are friendly and efficient. All inclusive drinks are of good quality and wine is served at lunch and dinner. The hotel facilities are excellent as should be expected with this superb hotel. The rooms are cleaned to a very high standard and the sheets and pillow cases are changed daily together with all toiletries. There are ample sun loungers on an area leading to the pebbled beach. The interior lounges are spacious and comfortable. We were surprised that the dress code for lunch and dinner were not rigorously enforced which was disappointing as certainly in our room dress code instructions were contained therein. I was also surprised that I was served with a glass of red wine in the pool bar that was opaque and had a strange odour, not good from a "professional" barman. I got a replacement but no apology. The area surrounding the resort is "sparse" and with a lot of litter lying about with derelict and poorly maintained buildings reflecting the Greek economy which is tragic. However there is a good bus service linking Kolymbari to Chania every 20 mins. Kolymbari is worth a visit..5 mins on the bus or 35 mins walk to this delightful little fishing village. Don't bother to go to the Fisheries Museum...it is closed. To conclude, Lovely hotel, great food and good value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank a2mwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiannoulisHotels, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2017

Dear a2mwy,

Thank you very much for your preference shown in our Resort and for taking the time to share your experience of your stay with us.

We are happy to learn that you enjoy your stay and that you are totally satisfied with our available facilities and services.

Regarding your notice about the glass of the wine, please accept our apologies about this issue, but please be so kind to understand that during the service time our staff members doing their best in order to serve all of our guests on time.

Moreover, regarding the dress code at our main restaurant, we would like to inform you that the staff members of our restaurants always inform our guests about the rules; however it is impossible to enforce the dress code rule to all of the approximately 300 guests.

Thank you very much once again for your kind words and we hope that you will give us the chance to welcoming you again in the near future.

Best regards,
The management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

We came back from a blissful week spent at the wonderful Cavo Spada a few weeks ago feeling incredibly relaxed.

We booked through Secret Escapes and at first the reception staff had trouble finding our booking (This has happened before when using Secret Escapes so I don't think the hotel was at all at fault here. After 10 minutes of looking, we were asked to sit on a balcony and given sparkling wine and orange juice, they also offered for us to have some lunch in the buffet while they looked for the booking.

When it was found around 30 minutes after arriving at the hotel we were upgraded to a swim up room and given a bottle of wine and fruit in the room.

The room itself was a really decent size, with fabulous shower (so powerful it might take your skin off) and good sized bath. the mini bar was well stocked and the beds were pretty comfy (although ours were two singles pushed together which did result on one of us sleeping on a crack) By the end of the week i just stuck to my side of the bed and refused to cuddle.

The rooms were cleaned daily to a high standard, we did have a maid bring us an extra towel each afternoon at 5pm for the first few days which confused us a bit but it's always better to have too many!

The food was absolutely wonderful - Can't praise it highly enough, so much choice, all really fresh and so so tasty - three weeks after coming back I still cant fit into my jeans (or face my slimming world group!) The staff in the dining room worked tirelessly and it was the best all inclusive buffet i've ever had.

We also got a free night dining at the Italian restaurant onsite which I would highly recommend, three courses of deliciousness served with really excellent Cretean wine (who knew that was so good?!) The complimentary wine tasting was also held there - If you like a tipple I would recommend this too, really lovely wine and a very knowledgeable host (plus there's cheese - who doesn't like cheese!?)

The bar and staff made a great Mojito (this may have contributed to my expanded waistline) and a really good espresso martini (this might have too)

My fiance experienced his first ever professional massage (this did traumatise him a little, it was a good massage, i just think he was expecting someone more feminine than the body building bloke he was allocated!)

My only niggle (and it is a niggle) is that on the last day of the holiday, on of the steps leading to the pool bar collapsed. As we left the next day I can't tell you how long it took to fix but i'm sure it wasn't long, it just felt a little that handrails wobbled and decking was a bit spongy - all things that i'm sure are rectified between seasons.

It is pretty far away from any sort of attraction - which is great to relax and get away from it all but if you want a base to explore Crete, you might be better off closer to a town. The bus stop was a 5 minute walk from the hotel and it took 45 minutes to get into Chania - I hope your bus is air conditioned!

I've never gone back to a hotel, but I would be happy to revisit Cavo Spada just for the pure indulgence of it all.

Room Tip: 111 has a swim up pool!
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Rosie0112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiannoulisHotels, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Dear Rosie0112,
Thank you so much for your detailed review and for all of your kind words!!
As you mention we are always doing our best in order to provide a unique holiday experience to each of our guests and we are delighted to learn that you had such a pleasant stay here with us!
The management and the staff of our resort wishes you all the best and we are already looking forward to seeing you again in the near future!
Best regards.
The management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

Our experience was the most perfect one ever. We had a beautifull honeymoon there. The staff is perfect! Very nice, helpfull and funny. The food in the hotel was very, very good, for all tastes something. Rooms are beautiful, so is the hotel. Very clean and modern. We are going again for shore.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Rogi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiannoulisHotels, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Dear Rogi C,
Thank you very much for your lovely review and for all of your kind words!
We are happy to learn that you had a pleasant stay here with us and that you wish to visit us again.
We are already looking forward to welcoming you again!
Best regards.
The management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews